We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Chi Minh Family Holiday - Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #23 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Mudjimba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ho Chi Minh Family Holiday - Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My mother, my 14 year old son & myself recently spent 7 nights at the Somerset Ho Chi Minh City apartments. As were staying for 7 nights I was wanting to have a serviced apartment that felt like a home away from home. Having a 3 bedroom apartment with the 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets and the washing machine a real bonus as we had already been in Vietnam a week prior to coming to Ho Chi Minh City. The location is only a short taxi ride from the heart of town but far enough out of the traffic to avoid the noise. The new McDonald's Store is only a short walk down the road with other fast food outlets close by if you have the fussy child who does not like the local food.
Breakfast included in our package - variety okay but different types daily would add value for money.
The apartment was serviced daily & reception staff were very helpful. We had an issue with one of the airconditioners in our apartment which was fixed very quickly.
The beds sooooooo soft and comfortable (wish I could take mine home to Australia with me).
Having kitchen facilities a bonus as well.
The small convenience store downstairs stocked with basics at reasonable prices.
Will definitely consider staying in Somerset Apartments again when travelling as a group.
Thanks for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: The only downside is that there is a new high rise being built next door and the work noise is const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear sandyarchie

We are blissful to learn that we were able to provide you and your loved ones a memorable stay at your “home away from home” in Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

Thank you very much for the compliments and the heartfelt words which indeed motivate us to further improve our commitment to delivering excellent experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you home.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    211
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
306
31
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel for big families. I was traveling with 5 children. Hence, the 3 bedroom apartments fully equipped with a kitchen and laundry became very useful. The gym and pool are open early which is great for me to get a work out before the kids are up. Location is good with coffee shop opposite the hotel and street eats and restaurant all round. The zoo and water puppet show are a short walk away. The service all round was excellent. I will stay here again when I come back to Ho Chi Minh.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vigswaminathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Vigswaminathan

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience that you had with us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We are overjoyed to learn that you found Somerset a great place for your family. We are glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the rooms, the well equipped apartments, and the well designed facilities which provide a pleasant experience to not only the children, but also the parents. We are also pleased that you found the convenient location a plus point to the property.

We can’t wait to provide you yet another wonderful stay in near future.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

my experience at somerset ho chi minh city was absolutely great . very well maintaines apartment , we had wonderful time . we stayed from 24th to 28th feb 2014 . central location , excellent staff , neat and clean . nice store inside . very good swimming pool .

Room Tip: blindly can book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinesh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Dinesh64

Thank you very much for the short and sound review.

We are pleased to know that you had an absolutely great experience with us. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

We look forward to being at your service again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband, son (7) and I stayed at Somerset for two nights in the beginning of March 2014, after two and a half week in Mui Ne previous to our stay. When looking for a place to stay in Ho Chi Minh a couple of days at the end of our vacation and before our long return home, our prior concern was to find a place to stay with a nice pool, and preferably 2 bedrooms. And Somerset have both! Nice, spacious and well cleaned apartments, with a small balcony and a playground for kids. Friendly and helpful staff, and a comfortable SOFT bed! That's hard to come by in Asia! The location was perfect for us - in district 1 and close to several places worth to see. Allthough - "close" in the sence that taxi is highly affordable - Ho Chi Minh is a big city with crazy traffic where pedestrians have the lowest priority, so be advised - taxi is the best option if the distance is more then 15-20 minutes by foot. The breakfast was a little bit booring, but good. I would stay at Somerset again if I go to HCM again. Good value for money!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LivR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear LivR67

I am glad that you have chosen Somerset Ho Chi Minh City for your vacation in Ho Chi Minh City and I am pleased to know that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Thank you for taking the time to write the very encouraging review on TripAdvisor.

Your countless complimentary words such as nice, spacious, clean, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable soft bed, perfect location, good value etc. have indeed touched us and brighten our day.

Thank you once again for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to your “home away from home”.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 2014 and were very happy. Our initial check in had us placed overlooking the very noisy building works next door (which take place all night and day), and with a sliding door that would not lock. We requested a move and were accommodated immediately to a room in a block that was not so close. No building noise could be heard. Rooms very spacious (deor a bit dated) and the washing machine was very handy. All sights easily reached by taxi (super cheap), and the zoo is located a 2 minute walk down the road. I found all the hotel staff extremely accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is basic but as it was included in the rate, thought it was reasonable. Loved the chicken and lemongrass!

Only downside was the spa was broken and it did not appear there was any rush to get it fixed.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back block - Cassia I think it was called.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Teri J

Thank you for posting a complimentary review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that our associates promptly attended to your request and made your stay with us a pleasant one.

It is indeed a nice pleasure to know that you enjoy the location of the property, the spaciousness of the apartments, and the extremely accommodating and friendly service from our staff.

Please be updated that the spa (Jacuzzi) was properly fixed and is under its service.

Once again, thank you for the nice review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Reasonable location, you can walk to all the sights. We had a 3 bed appartments for 4 nights. I was not impressed to be right next to a massive building site, which has a crane that literally swings over the pool. It was noisy from dawn to dusk, and then when that stopped the karaoke bar over the street started. Our appartment was reasonable, with the exception of the out of date bathrooms, with shower heads that would not stay still and limited hot water. The pool area was very nice. Don't have the breakfasts here, the ladies in the little restaurant were very unfriendly, hardly acknowledged us, and the food was of limited choice, poorly presented and not very good, unless you like coco pops. However it was relatively cheap and you get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aucklander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Aucklander68

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness during your recent stay with us. Please be updated that the next door construction is near completion and should no longer be a source of dust or noise pollution.

We noted your comment about the service at the restaurant. Rest assured that I will address your concerns with the management of the restaurant for their improvement.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the front desk was very friendly and attentive during our check in process, however out of everything he could of told me about the hotels service all he mentioned was that there are NO local overnight female guests allowed past 10pm? Kind of inconvenient being that my girlfriend is from Saigon and I originally booked this hotel for us to stay 1 night before our departure to Nha Trang, and mind you I have stayed at 20 other hotels in Ho Chi Minh City where this was never an issue, I almost felt like a kid being told by my parents that I can't see girls, im also a worker off the Internet and the connection on the wifi was very poor, the hotel is very outdated and felt like something from the 70s, I would never guess this is a 5 star hotel, An Phu Plaza and vincom are much more accommodating for your money

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Btappia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Btappia

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you find our staff friendly and attentive.

We would like to clarify that according to the decree issued by the Vietnamese Government (08/2001/ND-CP), all local Vietnamese visitors are not allowed to visit after 10.00pm or stay overnight in the apartment unless he/she is proven to be the spouse (with a valid Marital Certificate) of the resident. We therefore need to abide by the laws. We apologize if this was not clearly made known to you before your arrival.

Since we are constantly looking at ways to improve our services and product, I am pleased to share that Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is to undergo a full refurbishment to apartments in April this year to upkeep the standard of our product.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#9 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#61 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
302 reviews
3.5 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#91 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#37 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,493 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#73 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing