We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location”
Review of Orient Hotel

Orient Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orient Hotel
Ranked #331 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Stayed for one night in a windowless room with breakfast for one person for only $17 a night direcly to the hotel (i should've bargained, but i forgot.. well 17 bucks was cheap anyway).

the room was very clean, towels (inlcuding the small ones) were clean, aircon was cool and tv has good channel selections. The bed was a double bed, bit hard but still comfy.
I am glad i chose the windowless room, cos it was practically insulated from all the chaos, and completely noiseless!!. so i slept like a baby, completely uninterupted, unlike my friend who stayed in a grander room facing the yard (and had to wake up everytime drivers honk). The other upside of staying in windowless room, they put plenty of room freshener, so my room smelt great. Though bit depressing not to be able to see anything but your room's wall.

What i love the most about this hotel is its location, 10 mins walk to benthanh market, 20 mins to water puppet show/notredame. If you plan to book tours through sinh cafe (cheapest), the travel agent is less than 1 min walk. plenty restaurants, internet cafes nearby. Highland Coffee cafe (with pc for surfing internet) is next door, vinasun taxi stop (the best taxi service in HCMC) is opposite of highland coffee. i

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank safircraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    10
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
7
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burleigh heads
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We only had a night stay at this hotel, otherwise I would of checked out, our flights took us home the following day. The hotel is clean and well positioned for all you need in HCMC, but if you need sleep I suggest another hotel. We had a large room for the 4 of us ( family ) which was good, clean and cheap. Their is a Cafe across the road which seems inocent enough until 9-10pm when they AMP up the music and it turns into a nightclub. At one stage the room seemed to vibrate! This continued until about 2am. We asked if we could move into another room, but as their was 4 of us there was no other room large enough except near the windows, and as the higher floors did not get any better we just had to put up with our mistake. O'well, we just turned on the TV really loud and watched that until we all dropped off in exhaustion. It appears they have done a recent reno to the facade of the building not sure why they did not consider double glazed windows. So dont be put off by appearances - it does look good from the outside.

  • Liked — location in the backpacker district
  • Disliked — near a (loud) nightclub
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank walkersBurleighHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We stayed one night in the Orient Hotel as it was directly across the street from Delta Adventure Tours and we had an early morning start with them.

This is a basic hotel with aircon and cable TV. It was not the most comfortable place in the world but it was clean and convenient. If you want no frills accommodation this is the place for you.

The staff were always helpful and polite but strangely one of them did not know what the international dialing code for Cambodia was!!!

We did not try breakfast so I cannot comment.

I would recommend this place for someone who just needed a place to sleep while spending most of the rest of their time exploring HCMC.

As an aside, do not use Delta Adventure Tours, they are unprofessional, badly organized, terrible value for money and in my opinion misrepresent the tours they provide.

  • Liked — It's central location
  • Disliked — There was a bit of a smell in the bathroom, I had noticed this with other hotels in Vietnam, it maybe a general drainage issue.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We stayed at Orient Hotel for two nights.We paid 60 dollars(inclusive of breakfast) and that's for two persons already.Our room was very clean and well-kept.Aircon units are split-type.All bathrooms have bath tub with shower and heater.Beds and cabinets are chinese style.The hotel is located near many restaurants and bars which makes it very ideal for travellers who don't have enough time to go around the city.

  • Liked — cheap price
  • Disliked — breakfast menu
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bebs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2007

I stayed in a room with a separate sitting room, leather couch, satellite TV etc. Bedroom had clean, teak-like wood furniture. Bed was comfortable. Mr. Jim at the front desk was very kind man. [He had worked for Boeing during the Vietnam War. He lived in Nevada for a while and when he returned to Vietnam, he went to jail for being on the American side. But after that, he was released and he's just a sweet, hardworking guy.]
The bathroom was a French/Euro style tub, with difficult [for an American] to use shower attachment.
I didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but I found that for $18 a night, in a hotel that's outside of District 1, it was fine.
The bar at the hotel serves a great omellette in the morning and coffee. The best I've tasted - no joke. I was there two nights. The first night, i went to the bar and they were having karaoke. If you haven't experienced Vietnamese karaoke, I highly recommend it. Very fun. Very sweet. a good time.
The little kitchen in the lobby made really great cashew chicken.
The Internet was not working when I was there. It was 2 cents for 15 minutes. I found a place around the corner that was 2 cents for an hour.
I would not go to restaurant next door that has out door seating. They serve animals that are killed on the scene and living in inhumane shabby conditions prior to their death. A few of the animals they had were ones listed as protected species.

Down the street from the hotel is a museum that used to be a hospital. It looks like an embassy, French architecture, very beautiful with two tanks outside. It is a museum about the Ho Chi Minh Trail and features a life-size indoor portion of the trail that you can explore. Very fun.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the Orient.

  • Liked — The free breakfast
  • Disliked — The leaky water in the hallway that created a mildew smell. but that was four years ago.
  • Stayed June 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gidgetgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

This was the first of the many hotels we stayed in in Vietnam. There were 6 of us travelling.

We were given triple rooms, a double bed and a single. Staff were ok. But have been known to ask for tips from guests in quite a forceful and unpolite voice. But after a local friend complained for us, they stopped.

Before entering the hotel, there is a quite steep set of steps before you reach the entrance. The reception staff were ok. Lift is small, difficult to fit lots of luggage in at the same time.

There's no air con in the hall ways, so it gets very hot in the mornings!

The room is quite a good size. The bathroom was very dim, with worn facilities. There seemed to be water leaking from the bath tub (or so I hoped) whenever the shower was being used. The bath tub didnt look very clean, may have came out of the shower even more dirtier!

There was blood stain on my pillow, didnt bother asking for them to change it as i was there only for one night. so just turned it round. The bed was not very comfortable, as it was quite hard.

Location of this hotel is good. Near to lots of bars. There's a good bar with reasonable price drinks round the corner. Be ware of the dodgy taxis outside the bar tho, the meters had been tampered with and jumps like crazy! If possible, go into the hotel and ask them to order you a taxi, or you'll definately get ripped off!

  • Liked — the vietnamese breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank idyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Phung Long Hotel
#372 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Modern Saigon Hotel 2
#323 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Airport
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Airport
#212 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sai Gon's Book Hotel
Sai Gon's Book Hotel
#166 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#74 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Saigon
PARKROYAL Saigon
#41 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hotel

Property: Orient Hotel
Address: 261 Hoang Van Thu Street, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 272

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing