We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #373 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I found this hotel a very nice, clean and Staff were very friendly. No there was not a city picturesque view, but there was a view off the balcony of the real city. Beds were lovely and bathroom also, air con was fantastic .. after a hot day out !..... Breakfast was less than basic and did not like at all....

The staff were wonderful and helpful for any needs. Close to some shopping and only a 10 min walk to the Ben Than Market, 5 min walk to some nice food places and Starbucks for my morning coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qt2boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    46
    16
    26
See reviews for
26
54
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
392 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Vietnam for a short (3 day) visit. I booked 1 night stay at Blue River Hotel, one night home stay at the Mekong Delta, and another (last) night with Sabah Saigon Hotel, specifically requesting for a City View Triple Room accommodation. I chose this hotel - which looked impressive in pictures - instead of going back to the Blue River Hotel because of the 'city view' in their ad plus availability of swimming pool. Most hotels at the pack-backers area don't have these amenities, those facilities there being built side-by-side within small alleys. At Sabah Saigon Hotel,City View Room is more expensive than either Superior or Deluxe Rooms with Window. Upon arrival at the hotel I reiterated that we booked for a 'city view' room. To my surprise and disappointment, Room 607 has a very small window and limited view - not of the city but - of the gas station and street across the hotel.There was crack on the glass of the window. The room was big enough for two (2) medium-sized beds plus extra single bed. It has coffee table and chairs, dresser, cabinet, wide-screen tv,and personal refrigerator. The bathroom is inferior than the one in our room at Blue River Hotel, Wi-fi signal was very poor. Generally though, the hotel is clean and comfortable to stay at. The lobby is spacious and cool. There is elevator service. Buffet breakfast is provided by the restaurant located at the 9th floor beside the swimming pool. One thing I like about Sabah Saigon Hotel was the service provided by courteous and attentive staff, most of whom can hardly speak good English but were trying their best to meet guests satisfaction.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we (a group of 26 friends) were on a package tour organised by a travel agent friend ,who accompanied us on the tour.Since the unanimous choice was for a budget hotel,the Vietnamese agent booked us this place.The Tripadvisor reviews were quite encouraging.Therefore,we all decided on it.But,it was much below our expectations.The room that we got upon checking in,had a miniscule bathtub with no shower curtain or glass partition.As a result,the WC right next to the tub ,got water splashed all over it.Hot water in the tub was also not available.Upon our request,the room was changed .This time we were lucky to get a fairly big room & a decent bathroom with a shower cubicle.But,this walls of the room had water seepage all over ,thus resulting in a damp & musty smell in the room.The locker refused to function despite the staff 's effort to get it working.One of the twin beds which my husband was using,collapsed when he sat on it.We had to complain to get that fixed.But,it started giving way again when my husband tried to lie down on it.There was no soap dish provided in the shower cubicle & neither was any bath soap provided. And, again we had to complain because water was not getting properly drained in the cubicle.
The last straw was on a Saturday ,when we had to go literally without any breakfast despite reaching the restaurant at 7.45 am for a buffet breakfast whose timings are from 6.30 -10.00am.When we threw a fuss, the hotel ( very poorly staffed) receptionist tells us that it happened because they were full & promised to serve us better the next day.During our 3 day stay there,we saw 2 receptionists,one manager,one male staff(acting as waiter,electrician,plumber,carpenter,)one waitress,one cleaner in the restaurant & a male staff to do the housekeeping.But,the staff was very polite & acted immediately on our complaints.
In short,very poorly staffed & badly maintained place.Only advantage is its location-walking distance to Ben Thanh market & massage parlours in the vicinity.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nirmala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Me with a group stayed for 3 nights from 21 Nov. Hotel is clean and rooms are ok
even if very small. Wash room is disaster with tiny round tub ,where you cant even turn around. This could be a good washroom if tubs are removed and only shower is kept.
Hot water stop coming after 0700AM. Explanation given was ,lot of people used hot water.
On day 2 breakfast service was over by 0800. They say you should have taken it atleast
by 0700 as again lot of people ate breakfast. Looks like they have outsourced breakfast and they bring only limited food. In 3 days thrice room door got stuck.Waited for 20 minutes to get it open.
No bell boy , no room service, no restaurant, no bar. This could be a good hotel in right hands.
As rates are good stay here only to sleep dont think of any other services.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGeorge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel was cute enough but the wifi didn't work and the power kept going out (in the whole hotel), like 5 times an afternoon for 1 minute at a time. Not that the power glitches put us out at all, but it didn't inspire confidence. The staff wasn't great; one of the two on duty spent the whole day watching movies on the lobby computer that's meant for guests. It wasn't wretched, but most places at similar prices will be better. Plus seriously, wifi is like the only thing a traveller at a $35 hotel cares about. Just saying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This place was by far the best hotel we stayed at outside of Sheraton or Hyatt or any of the other 4-5 star hotels in Saigon. The price was amazing, and quite frankly put downright a steal compared to all other hotels in the area.

The staff treats you with great respect, and care. They love to get to know you and make you feel at home even when you're so far away. I loved the hotel lobby, and the beautiful ceiling that it has. It is close to everything from Banh Thanh to Saigon central. Plus it has great street vendors close by, with such delicious food. Another plus is the K Mart(think 7-11) thats right outside of the hotel, making it easy to pick up a pack of cigarette, snack, or anything else you might need at 2am - 7am ;)

The taxi station is also right outside, making it very easy for you to pick up a taxi and go wherever you need. So in summary, amazing place, great service, super clean rooms, and the best shower head in all of Saigon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlou1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Firstly do not be fooled by the photo of the hotel stood alone with palm trees around it, this has got to have been photoshopped as it is in a terrace of buildings opposite a petrol station!
The hotel is quite new and the management and staff seem to be on a learning curve.
The rooms are good and comfy and quiet and the aircon works well, shower room and WC are fine.
There seems to be zero policy on mosquito repellent and everytime I was at reception for more than 2 mins I got bites! they have aircon in reception which would deter this but it is not used and the doors seem to be open most of the time letting the dear little mossies in!
The staff are very helpful and obliging and do go beyond the call to help you.
The major downside is the very poor breakfast and breakfast service, it is terrible. We gave up and ate elswhere, this was not helped by the same business man awaiting a meeting with the hotel management 3 mornings running and sitting in the retaurant area chainsmoking.
Value for money but the breakfast needs sorting, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obiwanwasabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
5.9 mi away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#292 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thien Tung Hotel
Thien Tung Hotel
#248 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#62 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#357 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
289 reviews
27.8 mi away
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
#115 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Duy Grand Hotel
Le Duy Grand Hotel
#136 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel

Property: Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel
Address: 145 Le Thi Rieng, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Sabah Saigon Boutique Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SABAH SAIGON Hotel is three star hotel with total 68 guest rooms and suites are contemporary design featuring the signature floor with express check-in and check-out services. Located at a finest location in the city center, our guests can enjoy superlative views of Le Thi Rieng Street, and Ben Thanh Market is only 10 minutes away. The Executive Floor has been especially designed for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing