We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near Tan Son Nhat Airport”
Review of Tan Son Nhat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tan Son Nhat Hotel
Ranked #208 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This very nice hotel has a rate which is hard to beat. It is very close to Tan Son Nhat Airport and is not too far from the Center (a 10-15 minute taxi ride) either. It still has the old charm of the pre-75 architecture, being a working and resting place of the former Saigon government. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charl0ttesvillepr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

We booked two Superior room via Agoda (linked from trip advisor) for one night. We wanted a hotel that was close to the airport as we were getting in at 1am and had to leave the hotel again at 6am. We arrived at the hotel to check in and were advised that the room was for only 1 person per room for $45(AUS). When booking the room it said two people per room under the title max with a two person icon. The man at the desk continued to argue that these rooms were only for 1 person and if you wanted more in the room it would be at an additional charge. The hotel is not the cheapest option around but very close to the airport (hence why we chose the hotel in the first place. After a 30 min argument with the man at the desk he was unable to prove that the price was for 1 person and we were not able to prove two people as the print out only has max occupancy 2 people (not 2 people per room). I asked to speak to the manager although there was no manager on duty due to the time. He finally rang the manager and agreed that we could have the room but were not allowed to included breakfast and must be out by 6am.

When we got to the room it was 2am. In one room we found a double bed and a king single and 3 towels. In the other room we found 2 king singles and 2 towels. These rooms were not set up for one person.

When returning home I have since revisited the trip advisor website to find that I was correct and the superior rooms that i purchased were infact for 2 people per room!!!!!!!!!!

VERY DISAPPOINTED....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The room was clean, but smelt of stale smoke and was purely utilitarian in nature and decor.

I stayed on a Sunday night and there were a number of weddings taking place, so there was loud music and speeches until 11pm. I had an early flight the following morning, which is why I chose this hotel in the first place (it is close to the airport).

The water pressure is very average, and staff not particurlarly helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel may be a bit pricey by Vietnamese standards, but it is super convenient to the airport and was full of Vietnamese families (who probably didn't pay what we did). The room was fine and had fast wifi, good shower, and so on. The property is very nice in general. Also, the staff was fantastically supportive during a passport crisis I had (Immigration mixed up my passport with someone else's-don't ask).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abmindprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Excellent value choice for a transit overnight in HCMC. Stayed there for one night. The hotel is a mere 5 minutes drive from the airport - bet this is THE closest economy option ($35 / single). Historical building, clean rooms, good but impersonalized service - but what did you want from a big hotel? My window was facing a noisy street but I was so tired that could not hear anything from the outside. Restaurant - the food was excellent, but I was asked from the restaurant before I could have my dessert because they were closing - I would expect the staff could wait me finish my meal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polynesian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

If you need to be close to the airport and you don't want to pay over a hundreds of dollars.This hotel met the criteria.

The triple room was big enough for our family. The restaurant on site met our needs.

Unfortunately, the hotel allows smoking in the rooms. :(

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tompat923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The Hotel is very near to the airport which attracts many tourists to this hotel. I stayed twice in this hotel. The rooms are neat and clean and the pricing is economical. For buffet breakfast, variety of food served. The room is connected with wired internet and good connectivity is available. The staffs are friendly.

Only thing you prefer to stay at the farther end of the hotel to avoid the traffic sound. Be cautious few staff may charge you for extra tips.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aquaguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.7 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#123 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Airport Hotel
The Airport Hotel
#77 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
139 reviews
0 mi away
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Airport
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Airport
#337 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sai Gon's Book Hotel
Sai Gon's Book Hotel
#165 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
121 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#28 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#115 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Son Nhat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Son Nhat Hotel

Address: 198 - 200 Hoang Van Thu Street | Ward 9, Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £33 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan Son Nhat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tan Son Nhat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing