We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Sun Hotel”
Review of Red Sun Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Sun Hotel
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
1 review
“Red Sun Hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

2 buildings ... 1. with reception 2. without reception Very good location, clean, very friendly staff, quiet, not hot rooms, not noisy, ... I was there at the beginning of april 2011 about 5 days. Mistakes: 1. Hotel was locked dawn at 11 P.M 2. My room can't lock dawn when i was inside and when i reported that on reception nothing was happened. But would come again !!! Rate = 88%

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komandant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at the Red Sun for 5 nights in Nov 2012. Good value. US$1 breakfast. You can negotiate breakfast into the price of your room. I was usually up and gone before kitchen opened - 0700 hours (if I remember right). The Red Sun is in a quiet ally off Pham Ngu Lao St. in the "backpacker" area in District 1. 283/17 Pham Ngu Lao is about 200 meters west of De Tham St. You have to look for the blue "alley" sign over the entrance to the alley. The single room was small, clean and quiet - all I needed. Twin room available. WiFi worked in room, desktop computer available in lobby.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter here. Always check A/C and hot water in shower in all hotels in Vietnam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhztacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

the red sun hotel is in the noisy backpacker area and still is more or less quiet, they have a small standard breakfast which is ok, but nothing fancy, but for 20$ you can not expect too much, the rooms are clean, have ac, fan and tv, there is free wifi and a computer in the lobby.
the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: the rooms to the back of the little alley are a bit quieter, considering that in vietnam there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolando s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Ho Chi Minh City, and we stayed at the Red Sun on all 3 occasions. It's very central so there are shops and restaurants all around, and you can walk to one of the main markets. Any trip you may wish to take can be organised by reception, and they will keep your luggage safe if you go away for a few days. Even though the receptionist was not the same on the last visit, they were all friendly and helpful.

The rooms are basic, and in ours, the fridge and air-conditioning were always in working order - no problem there. It may be true that the air-conditioning gets switched off when the guests are gone for the day, but that makes ecological sense, and it only takes a minute for the room to cool off as soon as the air-con is switched on again! We never bothered about breakfast so can't comment.

All in all, stay there if you are content with the basics and the convenient location: it's clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hostel seems to be a familiar place to most people - if you want to save some money take the bus from the airport rather than pay exhorbitant taxi fees.
Kind and welcoming they were happy to get me tea when I couldnt sleep and shared their breakfast with me, The staff said she would be happy to make me anything if I didnt like it but to please try her Mi Goreng. The tours offered were very reasonable and the staff organise you to be picked up from the hotel. A safe, welcoming place to stay if you are on your first visit to Ho Chi Minh

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberG293925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

he staff were really helpful and didn't seem to mind when I turned up at a rather ungodly hour, waking them up - they let me check in very early in the morning for only half a day room price which was more than fair! It's really central and very clean and I enjoyed my short but sweet stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hue234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is pretty average. At the end of the day it's a place to sleep and nothing more. The breakfast included is alright - omelet, baguette and fruit - it gets very repetitive if you're there for a while.

The staff were really friendly and made you feel very welcome and they always tried to answer all your questions. Their laundry service however was a bit hit and miss. The first time everything smelt great, second time it wasn't cleaned and then came back damp.

If you want somewhere cheap, walkable distance then this is fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#35 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#36 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sun Hotel

Property: Red Sun Hotel
Address: 17 283, Pham Ngu Lao St | Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 592 Speciality Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing