We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
Ranked #97 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel is positioned very nice and close to everything (though a lot of other hotels lie on this street aswell). We stayed first night at a backpackers and could get this double room for only 2$ more. It is a very nice and clean hotel with good rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place is a gem!
It has a central location, nice rooms, great staff, yet quiet location right in the centre of Ho Chi Minh, what else could you possibly want
It has a pretty good price-quality ratio!
Do yourself a favour and stay here

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avidtravellerOzzieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have stayed at many different properties in Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) your biggest bang for your buck is "The Blue River Hotel". The rooms are nice and very clean, and it is by far the most quiet !!! (Saigon is a very loud and bustling place). The staff is "top notch" and the owner (Miss Thuy) takes great pride in the service of all who stay with her, from the time you check in, you feel that she really goes above and beyond to supply you with great surroundings and "any" info you could possibly want or need. Tell Miss Thuy that "Patrick" sent you........

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liveinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stay here on July 2012 for 3 night with our kids (6 & 8 years old), our first experience to stay in tourist area and budget hotel.. but the hotel was convience us about the clean and quite hotel which write here in trip advisor reviews. The staff are friendly and always give us good information for cheap restaurant and tours. As I wrote about Ben Than Market which my Iphone was stolen, the owner of the hotel was encourages us with free hot viet tea and told us that it can bring relaxation after what happened to us.. :) Thanks for blue river and trip advisor..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manadotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Blue River hotel is in Pham Ngu Lao district, but in a back alley, so you are close to the heart of touristic area, and at the same time you can have a quiet room, where it is possible to sleep without earplugs.
The rooms are well furnished and clean, with AC and a nice bathroom. I think they are worth their price. There is no elevator, but at forty I feel I still can climb up stairs !
The staff has been friendly and helpful and I think they can help a lot provided you take time to speak with them.
The only criticism is that I would have like some more diversity for breakfast (eggs and bread only), but for 22-27 $ I expect you can not have more.
I would then recommend Blue river hotel as a place to stay in HCMC.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose the room at the back, beside they are cheaper !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dainui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Yes, it's right in the backpacker area, but it's in a quiet alley off the main streets and sleeping is no problem. The AC worked properly, the bed was comfy, the TV was fine, the breakfast was presented with a huge smile, and nothing was any trouble at all. The staff at the front desk all spoke great english and helped us out whenever we needed info or tickets for something. The hotel is pretty new looking, although there isn't a lift but who needs a lift when you're backpacking ?! They're lovely people - pick up from the airport was flawless and a nice calm way to start in an unfamiliar city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The room was clean and oke. The people were kind, had a lot of service by our questions. The breakfast was good and included. We payed $ 22,= for a two persons room, breakfast included. A good price - quality rate, we think, although there is no elevator. But they bring your bags upstairs! This hotel is situated in the centre of Saigon. We did travel from the north to the south in Vietnam. This was one of the best hotels we had! We would like to recommand you this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator; the higher the more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#43 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#66 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#91 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#51 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing