We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, lovely hotel.”
Review of Madam Cuc 64

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Madam Cuc 64
Ranked #212 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a busy area in Saigon, so I would reccomend asking for a room at the back of the hotel. Everything about our stay was excellent, working AC, clean sheets and towels everyday, good wifi and all for very cheap!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank petergrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    49
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
51
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights and could not be happier. All the staff members are so friendly and helpful. When I got sick they gave me tea all day, which was so nice! The rooms are spotless and are cleaned daily. We had a room at the back of the building so we didn't hear any noise from the main street (we were on the first floor so there was some noise from downstairs, although it didn't bother us much). The wifi connection was excellent. The free breakfast is also great, it includes a baguette with jam, eggs or banana pancake, bananas, watermelon and coffee or tea. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After losing my passport and most of my possessions i found myself stranded in Saigon with no passport and not much money. I decided to stay here because while it is still a cheap hotel, i had heard good things about madam cuc from other travelers. I was not disappointed, the staff assisted me greatly in finding an emergency visa by translating at the police station and allowing me to call to Australia from one of the staff members mobiles despite me insisting that it would be too expensive! In particular, Phuong provided some of the best service i've had in vietnam, even giving me lunch and dinner at the hotel free of charge because she wanted me to save money for a flight home. All in all a great place to stay, made wonderful by the delightful staff.

Room Tip: Higher up means quieter, but also a bigger walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomEkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at Madam Cuc for about a week while staying in HCMC and found it to have excellent accommodations and a friendly staff. The rooms are clean, with working AC, and a friendly staff who are willing to help out anyway they can. It is located on Bui Vien which is the main street of the backpacker district and is surrounded by nightlife and restaurants. The staff also helps with visas, booking trips, and currency exchange. It's a great value, especially considering the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from Bui Vien that way it is a bit quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited a lot of hostels before choosing this one in the neighboring streets, we found cheaper offers, but none was as clean as this one.
We took the least expensive room, it was windowless and very average, however our friends had a nicer room with big windows.
Very nice atmosphere in the reception where you can have breakfast and a basic dinner (included with room) while sharing tables with other backpackers, some friendships were created there :)
The staff was very friendly at the reception, they reserved us our flight to Vientiane, because we had problems with our credit card while reserving online (surprisingly, for the same price!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were simple but included everything you need (TV, fridge, ensuite etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We decided not to book any tours or buses with them however as we always managed to find what we were looking for much cheaper elsewhere. Rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily. My only problem was that the mattress was made from a strange foam material which didnt give the best nights sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building so the sound of the street couldnt be heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've stayed at Hotel 64, twice: 5nights the first time and 3 another nights second time. Both the last January and February.
Spotless rooms, breakfast and dinner were included, free internet, wifi, a really good deal in Saigon for only 15-20$.
Breakfast was baguette, omelet and jam, dinner was soup with noodles, basic, but OK;
coffee and tee were served all the time.
Very friendly and helpful staff, and perfect location in the backpackers area.
You can hardly find a better bargain in Saigon

Room Tip: ask a room with a window, street side rooms can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beata707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Saigon Odyssey 1 Hotel
#220 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#131 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aston Hotel Saigon
Aston Hotel Saigon
#232 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#139 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#180 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#156 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madam Cuc 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Cuc 64

Property: Madam Cuc 64
Address: 64 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Madam Cuc 64 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing