We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Hoang Lien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoang Lien Hotel
Ranked #241 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel was already used by my colleagues before and was highly recommended as it was a good hotel. And surely it was! Location from SGN is ok. Around 130000 Dong was to be paid for the taxi. I booked a triple room with a single and a double bed. Room was as per the pictures, clean, spacious. My son was happy with the room as he kept on going to all the 4 corners.... The morning staff was quite OK but the night staff were better. Counter staff can speak English but you really have to ask them again to repeat their answer due to the slang their having and its a little bit difficult to understand their english. Wifi is available the whole building even up to toilet! We were only there for less than 24 hrs and our stay was totally worth it. Main attractions are walking distance but be sure to take a taxi after shopping at the Market.

Room Tip: Most of hotels have the same "front" features. A few steps, then the lobby. So if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trent777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The room was clean, water pressure was good, front desk was fairly helpful, and the air-con worked. The neighborhood isn't bad and it's close to a ton of restaurants, bars, cafés, and the big market. What more could you ask for at this price? Don't talk to the bicycle taxis outside, they're a scam (trust me on this one, we learned the hard way). Instead, let the front desk help you book a tour. Front desk will also change your money at a pretty good rate, set up taxi rides so you don't get ripped off, and loan you an outlet converter for free. Not a bad place to spend a few nights at all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I went to Ho Chi Minh from May 26th until May 29th, 2014 with a friend. We booked this hotel through Agoda with VERY CHEAP PRICE! At first, I thought I will have a poor facilities since I found it came with a low price but I was wrong. This hotel served us with complete facilities! Only $60 for 4 days and 3 nights, we got a nice clean room, wardrobe, international TV channel, wi-fi, coffee tea maker, hairdryer and even a bathtub! The breakfast was very simple but it taste good. Feels like home when I stayed here, thank you Hoang Lien Hotel for gave us such a good experience and sure I will stay here if I visit HCMC again in the future..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for one night before he headed to Nha Trang. The hotel was average at best. I guess if you just need a place to crash for cheap then this is a place to be. Reception staffs not as happy. They should smile more. Anyhow, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the showers were hot.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Diana8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

After a long tiring over night bus journey we arrived here to be told that they had over booked their rooms and that we would have to stay in the hotel opposite. Telling us a story that one of there customers needed to stay longer due to travel problems.. But why should we be having to move to a different hotel if we are booked, shouldn't that person be over the road?? I also don't believe that this story is true after reading reviews that it's happened to other people before. It's takes a lot of time to decide what hotel is best to stay in so to turn up to find your room has been given away it's just not good enough. They told us that we could check back in after 12 the next day, didn't even offer to make the room available earlier so we didn't have to wait around all day to change, so instead we told them we would stay in the other hotel for the rest of the time. Simply not good enough, if you have booked a room in advance it should be available for you, very bad customer service, take your money else where and stay across the road at Lam Binh because it's likely you will get put in there anyway!!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Its a nice place and value for money. Some mini marts and 24hrs convenient stores are around and easy to find, near Starbucks, Nguyen Trai Street, Ben Thanh Market but a bit far if you want to visit Dong Khoi street (Vincom centre, Parkson Paragon ... and other shopping malls)

Room is clean and comfortable, bathroom is a bit small, but it is worth for your spend :)

Room Tip: The back and front room is the best, while the middle ones seem to be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trang1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. It's only 12 minutes walk to Pham Ngu Lao but a bit far from Ben Tahn market. We enjoy their buffet breakfast and the staff are friendly. Value for money!
There are three 24 hours convenient shop nearby. Besides, our favorite Aiya! restaurant which serve nice authentic Vietnamese food and Trung Nguyen Coffee is just nearby!
Choose the room not facing the main street as the motorcycles horn can be quite annoying

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibiana0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Saigon Zoom Hotel
Saigon Zoom Hotel
#197 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
117 reviews
0 mi away
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
#104 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#77 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#136 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#145 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#138 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Lien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Lien Hotel

Address: 15 Bui Thi Xuan Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1 | Ward Ben Thanh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700 000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £11 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoang Lien Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hoang Lien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing