We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Room a Bit Hot”
Review of Madam Cuc 184

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madam Cuc 184
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Like its sister hotel Madam Cuc's 127 just across the road, 184 has very helpful and friendly staff. We were only there for one night, but the woman who checked us in and out was full of information on things to do around the city. She was also happy to change our leftover dong back to dollars as we were leaving the country that day. My only complaint was that the room was a little small and hot, and very high up! I think we were on the 5th floor, which was a lot of stairs. Otherwise, a great and very convenient place to stay in HCMC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

There are many Madam Cucs around Ho Chi Minh...we actually arrived at the wrong one first and glad we were mistaken..the one you should try is definetely is Madam Cuc 184. Yu Yu the caretaker is the best. The price might have been a little bit higher for what they offer and discover that people payed different prices for same rooms. All in all it was a nice place hidden from the noise of Saigon and Yu Yu's smile always comforted.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DPR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is very central, but around 2 blocks away from the noisy pub streets, which is really nice. The staff always meet you with a smile, and are really helpful. They can arrange guided tours as well as bus tickets. Breakfast is decent, though there aren't many choices, so it can get a little boring after a few days. Rooms are clean and has a great view over the city. Note that there is no elevator, you'll get lots of exercise every day ;)
We can highly recommend this place, and would deffenatly live here again if we went back to HCMC.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I spent a very enjoyable 2 nights at Madam Cuc's and had a wonderful time. Everyone friendly and helpful and a always a nice relaxed vibe. Lanh and Dung were great hosts and the location was perfect. Inexpensive and tremendous value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyp100359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Everything was great about here. We had been recommended Madam cucs from 2 separate groups and I'm glad we listened to them. The staff were very helpful, always smiling. The breakfast was great, and very filling. Location was perfect, only thing I would say was it's a little noisy in the morning, but that's nothing to do with the staff, I think we just had some noisy neighbours who like to watch tv with the door open! Would highly recommend staying here if your looking to visit Hoh chi Minh city.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanyoung89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I am still astounded, how friendly the staff were and how quiet this inner city stay was. It is set back in an alley, has great dark curtains and is so quiet. We all slept soundly. Add its great location to the markets and Zues (greek restaurant) just next door and I would highly recommend it as a budget alternative.

Room Tip: there are three madam cud, two are on the main street, 184 is down the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerreBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Came here with a group of 25 of us for a school trip they were very friendly and the breakfast was great and we always looked forward to coming back here when we would stay or go to different places in between because this hotel pretty much outshines the other places we stayed at

Room Tip: Choose a lower level as we were in room 301 and if we forgot a key we had to take the sorry trip all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#104 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
87 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#126 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#170 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saigon Zoom Hotel
Saigon Zoom Hotel
#212 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#96 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thuan Duc
Thuan Duc
#217 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madam Cuc 184? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Cuc 184

Address: 184 Cong Quynh, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Madam Cuc 184 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madam Cuc 184 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Cuc 184 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing