We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a week of Vietnam this isn't good ”
Review of Quan An Ngon

Quan An Ngon
Ranked #160 of 3,241 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After a week of Vietnam this isn't good ”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We traveled down starting at Hanoi, I think most of the reviews here had this as one of their first ever Vietnamese restaurants. Atmosphere and location are good. Food is very overpriced, and doesn't have a lot of flavor.

Would recommend eating in the market instead if you want actual food

Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    427
    177
    86
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toolamba, victoria
Level Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Near street food prices with a top-end feel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped at this restaurant while we waited for the lunchtime siesta to end at Reunification Palace. When you walk into Quan An Ngon you get the feeling it's a pretty swanky place. Fresh shellfish await in bubbly tanks. Slate topped tables for every guest. No cornice has been left untouched by ornate trimmings. Mist machines waft cooling clouds over the lucky people sitting near the front. Don't be fooled though, prices are cheap.

I had Bun Bo Hue (Beef and tendon noodle soup in the Hue style) for 55,000 VND, plus three beers. The Bun Bo Hue was the best meal I'd had of our trip to that point. My wife had some sort of vegetarian dish and some spring rolls which were excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great VN food and good setting in HCMC”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Quan an Ngon 138 is located opposite to the entry to the Reunification palace.... 138 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia, District 1. I figure it could be confused with the "street vendor housed" Quan an Ngon that was in the same street some 5+ years back. (If my memory serves me well.)

Short walk from Ben Thanh markets.

Ate here twice last month. Very good service. Fast and great VN food. Highlight for our group of carnivores was a vegetable dish with mam quet (mam kho quet?) dipping sauce. Very very good.

Will eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All, in one place”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The good thing about this restaurant is that we can get to see most of the famous Vietnamese dish in one place--I was told that the restaurant serves foods originated from the North, Central & Southern Vietnam.

Having tasted some of the local food elsewhere, I would say that this place would be a good place to try for those who would like to see the various dishes--but, may not necessarily the best in terms of taste.

As always in Vietnamese dishes--Salad was always fresh!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4ri4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little over-rated”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We sat upstairs, which seems a little run-down. We ordered the young papaya salad and mango salad, had tasted better ones elsewhere. The egg pancake with bean spouts and prawns (banh xeo ngon) was good though. We also had stir-fried spicy beef served with bread, and some grilled meatballs in soup which were really just average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shumen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quan An Ngon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Quan An Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing