We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff and value for money”
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #41 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel for three days. The good things about this hotel are:

1. The staff are really helpful and friendly. They have ready smiles for their guests, from the guard to the waiters. They are also ready to answer every query that you may have even about things to buy to bring home and the prices of goods.

2. The facilities are also in good condition. The beds are firm. The toilets have hot and cold shower with soap, shampoo and toothpaste.

3. The location is also ideal since its along a busy street yet its on the edge so its still quiet in the room.

The hotel also has WIFI, free breakfast and tour travels.

For more info: http://bitsandpieces-fvitz.blogspot.com/2012/03/cheap-hotel-in-ho-chi-minh-vietnam-duc.html

Room Tip: Book directly on their website to avail other perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrymaid_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

Good location. Clean room and toilet. Friendly and helpful staffs. Facilities well maintained. Overall, it's definitely worth more than you paid for.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ystan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

we booked 3 rooms here for 1 night in Feb & found the staff very helpful.
its a basic backpacker area hotel in a decent location close to everything you could need.
breakfast was ok & they werent pushy about tours which was a pleasant change

survived the usual saigon blackout,rooftop bar was a useful escape from the hectic streets

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sethlad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Duc Vuong at the beginning and the end of our holiday. At the start of our holiday we had a deluxe room which I find far from deluxe, (have stayed before with a much much better deluxe room). Room was poor with no window(well a internal window facing the hallway with a light on all night and no blockout on the curtain. Bed was very comfortable and linen crisp and clean. Bathroom was terrible. The hand basin was so close to the toilet that you had to sit on the toilet sideways. Told Duc Vuong we were vey unhappy with the room and requested a different room when we returned 10 days later. When we returned they gave us same room as before and we complained that we would stay else where. So gave us another room. Room 101 which had a window, bathroom was a little bigger with a rain shower. Unfortunately there was heaps of mould all around the tiles to the extreme. Airconditioner did not work so they moved us back to the other room. It was after 10pm so we decided to stay and put up with it as it was late and w were leaving in the morning.

One good thing the manager was helpful when we told him about the airconditioner and quickly moved us to another room straight away.

Reception is quite rude at times. The room came with tea and coffee facilities. But no milk. I went to the resturant which is downstairs to ask for some milk and receptionist said NO kitchen is CLOSED. Very strange.

I asked their tour staff by email to book a bus ticket for me to Mui Ne. I gave them 3 weeks notice, with 4 emails for back it up, when we came to the hotel they had not booked our tickets, no happy expecially after I continually communicated with them about the booking. I also asked for a Phuong Trang bus from Mui Ne to Nha Trang to be booked for me. They told me they o not go there.....WRONG They go twice a day. I asked them about 3 times and they repeatedly emailed the wrong advice. Adviced me on another busline for a cost of $17 pp for Mui Ne to Nha Trang. Real cost is $6 to $7. Very very unimpressed. Poor service and poor knowledge, or just dishonest take your pick.

Would not recommend this hotel. Extremely dissapointed as we had such a lovely time last time.

Security guard outside is a pleasant friendly man and always smiling.

Room Tip: dont stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahunts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

It is great to receive your review with the subject “Big disappointment”. It helps me a lot to investigate and find out what was good or not in the hotel services. I checked all emails you sent to us and the travel agency that you booked the bus, then I found out those things:

1/ Ticket from Saigon – Mui Ne could not be booked before 3 weeks at the time you requested because the Phuong Trang bus did not allow to book at that time. You can call them to check

2/ Phuong Trang bus does not run the bus from Mui Ne to Nha Trang up to today. What you said “…WRONG …” is wrong (call them to check any time).

3/ The company who you deal with is Tropic Tour, they did their best. It is a cooperation of our hotel. It doesn’t mean our hotel did a bad thing to you. However, I think you should make a notice that this review is for Duc Vuong Hotel.

4/ I checked the email that they sent to you and noticed that the price mentioned is US$14.00 for other bus operation from Mui Ne to Nha Trang. Of course, it will be cheaper if you book a ticket in Mui Ne or bargain with them. However, they will deliver bus ticket to their guests.

5/ The room came with tea and coffee facilities but no milk. I thought you was noticed when you checked in the room, you requested for milk will be charged. It was not free but the restaurant was closed, so I’m sorry that I did not have change to sell you milk, next time I will suggest the near by restaurant for you to buy milk or the grocery they would offer cheaper price

6/ I also checked to sales department, you did not book for Deluxe room. Please double check by going to hotel’s website, then look at the price of Deluxe room or check your last email.

7/ As what you mentioned, hotel has 2 good things, not one:
a/ The manager (the one you mentioned is a receptionist) quickly move you to another room.
b/ We gave you other immediately when you requested a different room.

8/ Air conditioner did not work at 10pm. It was good before that time, so this problem was out of our control, anyway we did change to another room for you.

Anyway hotel staffs did their best, hope you understand. I am sorry for all what happened.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

From the minute we arrived the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Location was perfect as it's bang in the middle of all the action so no need for taxis to get to many of the tourist spots. Plus loads of bars and places to eat on your doorstep. The best thing though about this hotel is the rooftop garden, which is the perfect chillout to get away from the constant noise and in yer faceness of HCMC. The guy who runs or owns it also hosts a Sunday night party where the food is free and you just pay for drinks. He bullies guests into singing on the karaoke but all in good fun and it certainly acts as an icebreaker. By the end of the night you pretty much know all the other guests. Very funny! The only downsides to this hotel are that the Walls are thin so we were kept awake by the couple next door arguing! And also we arrived before our checkout time and they charged us an extra half day for the room. It wouldn't put me off staying here again though and have recommended it to friends travelling to Saigon.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seedheads74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We chose this hotel because it has a great roof terrace bar, unusual in central Saigon, and it cetainly is a fantastic place to unwind at the end of an hectic day/night in this crazy city. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel really welcome, Duc Vuong has the friendliest staff of any of the places we stayed in Vietnam. Thank you to the lovely Linda ( assistant manager ) for making us welcome and inviting us to an evening party on the terrace bar, we really were made to feel part of the family. Even though the hotel is on the busy Bui Vien St, in the heart of the back packers area, our room was very quiet, had a good size bathroom and was exceptionally clean. There was a good Wi Fi reception in all areas, even on the roof terrace. Breakfast was the usual buffet style, with a good selection of Vietnamese and western dishes plus fresh cooked eggs any way you want. We would definately recomend Duc Vuong for it's value for money, great location and above all friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed Jan 2012 all in for 6 nights,over Vietnam new year
*Very reasonably priced
*Very comfy
*really quiet even on a busy street
*very friendly staff who are very helpful in helping organising trips
*good selection at free breakfast
*cleaned room everyday, free water and popcorn
*great air conditioning
*perfect location for backpackers
*good bars - universal bar great music atmosphere, great live singers
*in house travel agent
*Tex Mex burger bar good place for home comforts when you have dodgy tummy

would defintley stay again when back in Vietnam...

STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!! we love Duc Vuong

Danny and Michaela

Room Tip: if you dont mind not having a window just have a standard room, didnt bother us made no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#34 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#63 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#23 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#55 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#96 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £21 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing