We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$24
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Expedia.com
US$24
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Agoda.com
US$14
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
PricelineUS$19
Booking.comUS$24
eDreamsUS$24
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,426)
Filter reviews
2,426 results
Traveller rating
1,137
906
272
75
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,137
906
272
75
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar busy street superior room vip room backpacker street budget hotel buffet breakfast is walking street cu chi tunnels pho vietnam district saigon doorman ms market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 2,426 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Duc Vuoung is a very nice and welcoming hotel in a very good area of the city.
The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean and big enough.
The hotel offers a dinner party and invites you to attend it free of charge.
The breakfast buffet is huge and very yummy, the best I enjoyed during my trip in Vietnam.
The hotel has also a nice roof terrace but unfortunately it was under restoration.
Rooms in the mezzanine can be very noisy, because they're close to the reception.
One weak point is that they do not change money at the reception.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaSereB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2012

When I booked thru Agoda, I didn't expect much of the hotel, knowing that it is in the backpacker's area.
So imagine my surprise when I found that it's a proper hotel with an amazing staff, who knows your group and asks about your trip. They even called to call us for a cocktail on our first night.
The breakfast is amazing, my friends and I loved it. The lady in the restaurant is very kind and nice and warm and pretty.
The rooms are just right for us.
Upon our check out (breakfast time), I forgot my camera in the room, and the good old man was shouting frantically about it. At first, we thought he wants to take a picture of us.
Really great place which is very near to everything.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

We would first like to thank you for your very kind review of Duc Vuong Hotel! We must say that it was a pleasure having you stay with us as "We are family". Your kind words have made all of us very happy and we are proud to have been able to give you not only an enjoyable and friendly place to stay we are very happy that you were pleased with Duc Vuong Hotell's services and staff. Since your stay in August we have made many amazing renovations and you will be delighted to see our Garden Terrace, City View Restaurant and the upgrades we have put so much thought into, in order to make your next stay even more pleasurable.

We value you and appreciate you taking the time to write such a kind review about our staff and services, as well as our hotel.

Warm regards,
Mr. Tam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at Duc Vuong for 4 nights and it was a fantastic base to explore Ho Chi Minh from. It is in an ideal location, about a minutes walk from the start of 'backpacker' street where you can get cheap and delicious food and drinks. The atmosphere is great and there is always something to do or see; from shopping to massages or having a beer on the street side. Although our room was small it was immaculately clean and very comfortable with a/c, fridge, tv and complimentary snacks. Our window looked on to a wall which didn't really bother us as the price was good. The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have met on our travels throughout Vietnam. The tour service at the entrance is completely invaluable - the staff there spoke excellent english and helped us book our transportation (flights, trains, buses) for the rest of our trip as well as day tours to the Mekong Delta and Cu Chi Tunnels. This made it very easy to see all of the essentials in a short amount of time.
We had a few criticisms: breakfast was average with it has quite a small selection. We were very disappointed that the roof terrace was under construction as we were very excited about that and were not informed at the time of booking. It also meant that the extra social things like cocktails/BBQ for guests at the weekend are not on. During the day the noise from the construction is absolutely horrendous - so if you are looking to relax in the room any time between 8am and 6pm it won't happen. Fortunately we were out all day exploring the city so this did not have much of an effect on us.
Despite all of this we were super happy with our choice of Duc Vuong and would recommend it to any traveler with a big or small budget visiting HCMC.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timrousbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear timrousbeaste,
First let us thank you very much for your very kind and thoughtful review of Duc Vuong Hotel.
We understand your frustration with the renovations that were taking place during your stay and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and as we are a growing business we did miss the very important point of informing our guests, this is something we deeply regret. We are, however very happy to announce that the Garden Terrace, City View Restaurant is now complete and will be worth coming back to see. We have given much thought to making this an amazing place for our wonderful guests to relax, morning for sunset, noon, or night to enjoy the radiant Viet Nam moonlight and our new menu and drinks make it even more enjoyable.
We would like to apologize for the minimal breakfast menu and we are listening, we have added a large selection of fresh items to our breakfast buffet. We would love to have the opportunity to have you come back and visit us again and give us the opportunity to welcome you back as
We are family".

Warm regards,
Mr. Tam
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The welcome at the Duc Vuong Hotel could not have been more enthusiastic or warm. Even going so far as to put incoming guests’ names on the welcome board. The rooms are clean and comfortable and includes ammenities such as minibar and hair dyer. The hotel is in the middle of the “backpacker” section and easy walking distance to the primary areas of the city. Linda's huge buffet breakfast with made to order eggs and unique Vietnamese and western offerings each day sets you up for a great day of sightseeing. Every day the staff seemed just as excited for our adventures as we were. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Room tip: we had connecting rooms that were awesome as we were travelling with older children.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2012

we travel as a family and got the room with the connected door, we stayed there for 4 nights (3 nights +1 night after coming back from the mekong delta).
we reserve it about 3.5 month ahead and we love the idea that we can eat at the terrace on the roof. when we got there we found out that they are renovating and we can't use the terrace, i thing that it would be nice to know before we are getting there.
the rooms were small but clean, and the we can't take a shower without weting all the floor at the bathroom. we need to ask for more towels for keeping it dry.
breakfast was average. location is great and we got the back rooms so for us it was very quiet (if you are willing to give up the view).
the stuff was very friendly and helpfull, and speak very nice english.

Room tip: rooms at the back are very quiet
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews