We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the list for budget stay”
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #35 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top of the list for budget stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

along with 2 friends, my husband and I were re-located to duc vuong by accident, and I am glad it happened!

The staff are friendly, the rooms are average size but then again you can't really expect spacious rooms in HCMC. However the in room amenities were excellent.

Breakfast was very good. a varied selection of food items. Try the Vietnamese coffee with ice. Its super (the order is condensed milk, ice and then coffee).

most items are pork based, so if you do not eat pork, make sure you clarify each item prior to eating... as I did see quite a few guests in distraught due to this reason.

The place is 10 minutes walk from Ben Thahn Market.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Dilini,
It is so grateful to hear from you. Also, it is so honor to get this lovely recommendation from your review. It is appreciated that you liked the room and the facilities it brought. It is totally great hearing you mostly like the breakfast buffet. The buffet breakfast was including a lot of food as Vietnamese traditional noodle soup (and different kinds of noodle soup every day), toasted, baguette, vegetables (as salad and other kinds of stir- fried vegy)..Anyway, you should really tell the waitress or receptionist if you do not familiar with pork in all meals, we could serve you better meal without pork. However, thanks a lot for this reminding on your review. For your next staying, we are going to support you even better as we are upgrading sound proof in every room, open it wider on the rooftop bar for more open view in many sides, as well new decoration would lead you to more comfortable stay.
We wish to see your next reservation soon. All the best!

Many regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    766
    227
    59
    25
See reviews for
265
799
229
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

me and my parter are staying here ATM one more night then we move to hoi-an , the stay has been very nice!! reception people are very polite and welcoming, breakfast changed evey day food was nice, we stayed on the second floor, the room is nice beds are comfy! would stay here again. enjoyed our stay!!! would reccomend here close to everything not noisy!..
doesnt have a pool but we didnt want a pool ne way didnt bother us one bit!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismail_55t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear lovely guest,
Thank you so much for your stay in our Duc Vuong family. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. It is great to hear that you love our 8th floor rooftop bar restaurant as well. We have ever stopped improving both hardware from the building to the decoration, software from staff professional skills and customer system. For your next staying, we certainly promise to serve you even better. Wish all the best to you and family.

Kindly regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Duc Vuong is a favourite of mine. I have been coming to Vietnam regularly for many years and rate this hotel very highly for several reasons.
-First is the staff. They are exceptionally firendly and helpful and they work hard at being the "family" they have in their tag line.
-Second, the hotel is exceptional value for money. The rooms are well equipped, wifi is free (and good), and the breakfast they include for free is great. Lots to choose from and always kept topped up.
-Finally, the location is terrific. I am out most every day and when I get back I can walk out to a huge array of restaurants and shops within a 5 minute walk. Some are literally across the road.

Room Tip: The upper floors are best and the deluxe rooms are well worth the few dollars more. They are signifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear lovely guest,
It is so great to hear from you back home. Thank you for your lovely contribution and all the greatest concern to our hospitality lately. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. As we are always bringing our motto to every where in the world, we seem do it right and retain it on track. We would love to give all guests the bestest service without considering on commercial reason.
All of the service here is always running on its right track. We have ever stopped chasing to get the higher service support. For next time, there would be upgraded, so you will get higher brilliant point of satisfaction and happier to stay with our family. We wish you and family all the best.

Cozy greeting,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattaya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

stayed here in april. this is a very friendly hotel. the staff are superb, always saying hello and very helpful. hotel itself, to be honest a good 3 +, and yes I would stay again, is clean but does need to be updated. think at the end of the day, you pay for what you get, and this hotel is really good value for money. I live in Thailand and to stay in a similar hotel would cost double. price I payed was less than 20 uk pounds a day, which to me is a bargain. oh I forget to say about the location. you are in the best location for everything. on the main street, never had any problems with noise. yes give it a go.

Room Tip: ask for a non smoking room. I had to change on the first day. all rooms are non smoking, but they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sootymilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your lovely review about our hospitality today. Our service is always in the ready mode. Also as you could see, our family is serving guests fairly and welcoming all. Not only about service, we bring our heart into what we have made and serve, to please all the guest in highest satisfaction.
Anyway, our basic service is now updating and actually the renovation on our rooftop bar will be done soon (by the end of this month). It is to expand the View restaurant as well to give our guests the opening View of Saigon. Besides, hotel rooms will be upgrading to sound proof and there will be smoke and smell proof system. Thus, we will offer you a better service with next reservation. Thanks a lot for your lovely stay and your review.

Many thanks and best regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband, our two boys aged 8 & 10 stayed at the Duc Vuong, Ho Chi Minh for 3 nights in April this year. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the rooftop bar was a great place to unwind and meet other travellers at the end of the day. The rooms are nothing special - we had booked a family room which seemed to have 4 king singles/small double beds. They had put two beds together to make the double but we all just ended up sleeping separately - it wasn't a problem. The shower was a little low for my husband. Breakfast is great - plentiful and varied. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Shannon,
Thank you so much for recommended our hotel service on this site. As any hospitality, we would always love to make absolutely certain about your inspiration as well your happiness due staying with us. It is brilliant and honor to know serve you and your greatly lovely family. A hugely pretty plenty thanks for your PA in this review and your concern about our team. We will try more to please you better in next reservation. All the best and see you next time.

Many thanks and take care,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The receptionist (especially the head receptionist) are very nice and cater to your needs. The rooms are clean and spacious, I think depending on which cleaner cleans the room it can be a bit variable. Some days they don't wash the cups or throw out the tea bags, other days they do. Shrug.

The rooftop bar/restaurant is nice but on the weekends it gets packed so you might not get a table with a view. The area is good and convenient, on the not as busy end of the street which is only a 5 minute or so walk away.

Breakfast is very basic and gets boring after 2 days. But there's plenty of food downstairs. The morning can get a bit nosy with the traffic and the stores around the hotel seems to be renovating constantly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aibi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Judy,


Thank you so much for recommended our hotel service on this site. As any hospitality, we would always love to make absolutely certain about your inspiration as well your happiness due staying with us. Our hotel location is the great one situated right in the center of the district, plus closed by hundreds of attractions. It is great to hear that you would like our room service and the breakfast alternatives between Asian and Western cuisins. And yet, it is one of our honor to give people, even it is in a very "secret and private" inspirationally.


Anyway, we apologize if there are any inconveniences at your stay that time as neighbor noise (it is barely happened) and about AC noise. We are also doing the renovation for sound proof, so it will support you for next visit.


Once again, thank you so much for recommending us. We wish you well and health.


Best regards,


Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we stay in this hotel 15 and 16 april 2014, bed was a bit too hard, shower was pointing towards the wall it splash straight to the wall and down the floor, have a few ants other than that I find the location is good, plenty of food around. Staff was very friendly and willing to help anytime, but the best of this hotel is breakfast,, what a wonderful set up of yummy food, We were put in an older hotel, Duc Vuong have 2 hotel, make sure you ask for the newer hotel. over all we have a good time in Vietnam thanks Edgardo Lim

Room Tip: ask for the newer hotel not the old hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgardo351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2015
Dear Edgardo Lim,

Thank you for choosing and staying at Duc Vuong hotel during your HCMC trip. Beside enjoying your staying, there were some small problems that we do never stop to overcome, grow and surpass so that we can serve you nicer and nicer in next times.

Best regards,
Ms Chinh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#33 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#63 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing