We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rooftop bar, staff and location”
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #38 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I spent three nights here beginning July.

The staff were all so friendly and helpful.

The room was really clean, and not too small.

The only negative thing I can say was that:

1) I could hear people in the hallway coming home at different times in the night, so I didn't sleep too well.

On the second day my partner fell extremely sick due to good poisoning and was bed ridden for around 24rs. We had booked a day trip to the tunnels, but couldn't make it for obvious reasons. When I phoned the tour desk early morning they said they couldn't refund me. I walked down and asked them again and they said they could only give us 50% back. That was good enough.

Overall not a bad little hotel. The rooftop bar is amazing and the beer prices are extremely good.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Jerry,
Thanks a millions for crossing us a lovely review on this site. There I always good service and “be right there” working attitude from our hospitality. It is grand to hear that you have been using our service in the building from hotel room service, buffet breakfast, rooftop bar restaurant. We offer heaps of options for guest's accommodation. Thus, there will be based on your demands. Anyway, we are so sorry to hear that you could not sleep so well because the people from the hallway. We will overcome this matter in a very short time for a better service.
By the way, sorry to hear about our partner illness during the trip. However, the traveling company's regulation or any other travel agencies in Saigon would give exactly the same solution when it was not coming from their side. As well, the travel agency downstair is completely seperate from our hotel organization. You could contact them for more information. Thanks for concerns.
And it is so honor to notice your brilliant contribution, as well as your appreciation to our team work. For your next staying, we are going to support you even better as we are upgrading sound proof in every room, open it wider on the rooftop bar for more open view in many sides, as well new decoration would lead you to more comfortable stay.
We wish to see your next reservation soon. All the best!


Many thanks and best regards,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great value for few nights in Saigon, helpful friendly staff. Doormen for taxis and a level of security. Easy going atmosphere, lots of recommendation for eating etc. Rooftop bar just perfect, no need to pay a fortune for a cocktail downtown yet open air with a view. Great way to finish night. Built vien street is manic especially if you arrive on a Saturday night but soon becomes the norm!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esheedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear lovely guest,
Thanks a millions for crossing us a lovely review on this site. There I always good service and “be right there” working attitude from our hospitality. It is grand to hear that you have been using all of our service in the building from hotel room service, buffet breakfast, restaurant. And it is so honor to notice your brilliant contribution, as well as your appreciation to our team work. For your next staying, we are going to support you even better. We wish to see your next reservation soon. All the best!

Many regards,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My cousins and I planned a trip to Ho Chi Minh City and compared a few accommodations online before choosing Duc Vuong Hotel. We wanted a place in a central location and Duc Vuong was located in District 1.

The concierge staff is very helpful and provide recommendations such as places to eat for pho and banh mi sandwiches as well walking routes to see the city sites.

The desk can provide currency exchanges for your dollar to Vietnamese Dong, call taxis and make arrangements for airport transfers.

They provide a complimentary breakfast where you can order eggs such as scrambled, fried or omelettes and they also provide other hot food to choose from such as sausage. They also have fruits, cereals and toast to round out your breakfast.

The rooftop bar is ok - the views are nothing to write about and you can order your standard cocktails and beers.

However, the price, location and helpful staff are what make me want to come back to Duc Vuong hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wunderlust_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks a millions for crossing us a lovely review on this site. There I always good service and “be right there” working attitude from our hospitality. It is grand to hear that you have been using our service in the building from hotel room service, buffet breakfast, rooftop bar restaurant. We offer heaps of options for guest's accommodation. Thus, there will be based on your demands. And it is so honor to notice your brilliant contribution, as well as your appreciation to our team work. For your next staying, we are going to support you even better as we are upgrading sound proof in every room, open it wider on the rooftop bar for more open view in many sides, as well new decoration would lead you to more comfortable stay.
We wish to see your next reservation soon. All the best!

Many regards,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The staff here are great and the hotel offers everything you need (rooftop bar, tour services, breakfast) at a high quality. It's located right in the backpacker district so there is lots to do at a low price within walking distance but you get to come back to a private room and a comfy bed at the end of the day!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Justin,
It is so great to hear from you back home. Thank you for your lovely contribution and all the greatest concern to our hospitality lately. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. For next time, there would be more improvement in service of our hospitality, so you will get higher brilliant point of satisfaction and happier to stay with our Duc Vuong family. We wish you and family all the best.

Cozy greeting,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in the middle of the backpacker district. With most sites within walking distance.

The room was neat and tidy, shower had hot water, aircon worked really well, buffet breakfast was fresh and had a good variety.

The rooftop bar has a good view of the city and the staff made you feel at home.

Would be happy to go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank AMac_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear lovely guest,
Thanks a millions for crossing us a lovely review on this site. There I always good service and “be right there” working attitude from our hospitality. It is grand to hear that you have been using all of our service in the building from hotel room service, buffet breakfast, restaurant. And it is so honor to notice your brilliant contribution, as well as your appreciation to our team work. For your next staying, we are going to support you even better. We wish to see your next reservation soon. All the best!

Many regards,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here in May for 2 nights and it wasn't the best experience the shower flooded the bathroom every time you had a shower, but the rooms were large and clean, we didn't know until arrival that they are renovating at the moment so it was incredibly noisy from about 6.30 onwards, the staff where very friendly and the rooftop bat was a great place to spend the evening and to have dinner, breakfast was good and lots of it. When checking out they told us we had to pay by cash and that the credit card facilities weren't working , but after saying we didn't have cash they soon found a way for us to use our credit card.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,
It is so grateful to hear from you. It is appreciated about your great stay and helpful contribution to give us many comments that we could completely serve in better way.
For this time of your staying in May, we are so sorry that there were some technical problems from rooms and the renovation. Somtimes, there was problem when you used the shower tab. However, we observed the matter from the shower and fixed immediately. We will train our staff to check it more carefully before the guests walk into the room.
The renovation was in May was a little bit awkward for your stay, we apologize for that. In other hands, the business development is always nonstop, thus we really demand to get this upgrading from software as service and hardware seam as the renew of this building. Lean on that, we believe that we could serve you and other guests even nicer and more professional than the previous time.
Anyway, the renovation is now finished and we also promote a lot of service at the View rooftop bar, as well from the room with nicer decoration, sound proof system in the room. Thanks again for your lovely contribution at Duc Vuong hotel in the time. We wish you all the best and see you soon.

Cozy greeting,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We were so amazed by the service and cleanliness of the hotel, not what we were expecting at all! The rooms were small, but just what we needed. The girls at the front desk were so lovely and helpful and the elevator was a bonus too! The top terrace bar was one of the nicest we had been too in the city. I would highly recommned duc vuong hotel for such a great price!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samthesalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks a millions for crossing us a lovely review on this site. There I always good service and “be right there” working attitude from our hospitality. It is grand to hear that you have been using our service in the building from hotel room service, buffet breakfast, rooftop bar restaurant. We offer heaps of options for guest's accommodation. Thus, there will be based on your demands. And it is so honor to notice your brilliant contribution, as well as your appreciation to our team work. For your next staying, we are going to support you even better as we are upgrading sound proof in every room, open it wider on the rooftop bar for more open view in many sides, as well new decoration would lead you to more comfortable stay.
We wish to see your next reservation soon. All the best!

Many regards,
Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#49 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#65 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#50 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: £20 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing