We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #34 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
KwaZulu Natal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the first stop of my vacation and I just LOVED it. Ok so you need to realise it is a basic hotel. The room was small not spacious but who needs a big room when there is soo much to see in Saigon. The staff were so friendly ... made you feel like a regular visitor. A few names that come to mind are Lee, Steven and Jade (along with others whose names i cant remember). They were helpful and attentive and for me that counts the most. The breakfast buffet was more than ample and the best I had on my trip to Vietnam. I would definately recommend and stay again if I ever to return to Saigon. Ohh and the rooftop bar and resturant is amazing we hung out there at some point everyday of our stay. You wont go wrong booking this hotel as it also ideally located.

Room Tip: They were doing renovations whilst we were there so it was noisy but listen youre in Vietnam...there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicoleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Nicoleen,
Thank you for all your support during this time. Thank you so much for your stay in our Duc Vuong family. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. It is great to hear that you love our 8th floor rooftop bar restaurant as well.
Actually, The View rooftop bar restaurant is located right on the 7th floor of Duc Vuong hotel. We are not only provided good meals, amazing cocktails of the day BOGO, reasonable price for beers, we are also giving our personal service as singing or even getting you in our musical enjoyment.
Besides, our Brand is based on what people have seen from our place. The View rooftop is leading in providing the 360 degrees of Saigon sightseeing. It is bringing nicest breeziest atmosphere and comfortable lounge with lovely secret garden on the terrace to human's mood. Even though there are an extremely many rooftop bars in this bustle Saigon, but we think that our service is bringing you home relaxing and convenient than where ever. As motto "we are family" have brought, this third place value is always on the top.
Thanks again for your contribution at The View rooftop bar. All the best!

Amazingly greeting,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    766
    227
    59
    25
See reviews for
265
799
229
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

duc vuong is located near the end of the pham ngu lao street, so be prepared for some walking from ben thanh market. good news is, it's one of the tallest buildings (look for the white and red one) so it's pretty easy to spot. we had a great stay here. basic amenities all available. receptionist speaks good english and the staff tries their best. on one day we were about to get on a rogue cyclo but the receptionist saw the whole thing and sent someone out to stop us from getting scammed! (still grateful :'D )
there's a yummy noodle place next to duc vuong, go there for hue style noodles and thick coffee. if books and coffee is your thing, then a few steps away from duc vuong is bookworms coffee, great for playing board games and poring over some books.

pros: location, insanely fast internet speed, helpful staff, nice views
cons: water pressure gets a little weak if you stay on the higher floors

Room Tip: water pressure gets a little weak if you stay on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harryandmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Harry and Marry,
It is so great to hear from you back home. Thank you for your lovely contribution and all the greatest concern to our hospitality lately. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement.
As we have been mentioning about the renovation, all the room amenities would get problem a little bit during the stay this time. Thus, we are sorry to let it happen, but if you reported to the receptionist, it would be fix immidiately, love. However, we are upgrading to improve more in service, not only about the hardware, but also changing the whole software system. Thus, for your next stay, there would be nicer and more enjoyable time at Duc Vuong family.
For next time, there would be more improvement in service of our hospitality, so you will get higher brilliant point of satisfaction and happier to stay with our Duc Vuong family. We wish you and family all the best.

Best regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean but sadly a very noisy room!.I could hear everything and everyone above and around me. (Nothing to do with the renos downstairs) on the sad note I never had any hot water on my stay either
Lovely rooftop bar...Jade is great!
Breakfast buffet was good as was the restaurant meals of a night.
I think that the reception staff could have asked me how my stay was as I checked out and I would have let them know where they could concentrate on improving.
Needs improvement and am hoping my review will help.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Bronwen,
Thanks a lot for your lovely review about our hospitality today. Our family is serving guests fairly and welcoming all. Not only about service, we bring our heart into what we have made and serve, to please all the guest in highest satisfaction.
Anyway, we say sorry for your inconvenience. Actually, we are trying the best to reduce this kind of noise which is always coming from the room next door by the thin wall by building thicker wall in every room. Thus, this renovation would upgrade much in room service about noise proof and new decoration. By the way, we also say apology for the awkwardness from the hot water. Lately, we are also upgrading to improve the amenity system as hot water, tvs, and others, thus there was a little inconvenient when you use the hot water. However, thanks to let us know. For next visit, there will be nicer stay and you will have more value of room amenities usage.
Once again, thanks a lot for your lovely concern to our family operation.
Wish you and family all the best. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.


Many thanks and regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here for one night only. But it was a great place to stay, i wish i could stay longer . But time were not on my side. hihi. I would like to recommend this hotel to those who planning to come in ho chi minh city. You can chill at the rooftop cafe on this hotel to enjoy the city view while enjoying the delicious fruits smoothies. Sure will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayaayob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
To our lovely guest,
It is so great to hear from you back home. Thank you for your lovely contribution and all the greatest concern to our hospitality lately. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. For next time, there would be more improvement in service of our hospitality, so you will get higher brilliant point of satisfaction and happier to stay with our Duc Vuong family. We wish you and family all the best.

Best regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The rooftop bar made this hotel, especially if you are travelling for work or study and need somewhere to take in the sounds and view of Saigon while having a beer.

However the rest of the hotel amenities you can find for much cheaper in Saigon. This is no fault of the hotel, as it gives you everything you need/want, however it is overpriced for the area/street. Their are plenty of other hotels in the same area (including many nice guesthouses) for about half the price, which give you about 80-90% of what this hotel provides.

I stayed in Saigon for study, and stayed at Duc Vuong for the first 3 nights due to the roof top area for study. However after the first 3 nights i moved to a guesthouse close by for about 15 dollars which had a balcony and the same amenities (minus breakfast; however street food breakfast costs around a dollar and is authentic Vietnamese cuisine).

if you are a bit more of a westerner and value people opening the door for you and waving down a taxi for you, while still being in the backpacker area then take this hotel. However i would suspect if you stay near bui vien then you are not this type of person.

I would advise to stay at a guest house down one of the many alleyways off bui vien, gives a much more authentic and enjoyable experience (why else do we travel).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandon-melbourne-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Brandon,
Thank you so much for your stay in our Duc Vuong family. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement.
Anyway, there is a very misunderstanding problem about the budget price what could lead you to give us this harsh review. Actually, we are the only 2 star international hotel in this backpacker area, as well the service would be absolutely different and unique comparing to many of other hostels and motels with lower value giving. Besides, we could provide a very sufficient breakfast buffet with many cuisine to our lovely guests FOR COMPLEMENTARY. As comparing to many other hostels and motels, there would not be a fully cuisine in morning breakfast like this. For this amenity, we have been contacting to other guesthouse's partners to double check already.
By the way, we are so sorry that we did not know your demand at that time was that you came to Saigon for studying. We have many contacts with motel and guesthouse partners that we could introduce to you and help you out with finding a budget place to stay. For next time, you could just tell us about that, we could appeal you to find an ideal motel which is better budget for your demand.
Once more time, we appreciate all your lovely contribution at Duc Vuong family. We wish to see you soon for next visit.

All the best and kindliest regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

we stayed 5N with free pick up at the airport. location was great as it was at the end of the backpackers' street surrounded by retail shops, eating places, pubs, money changers, travel agents including Sinh Tourist. the breakfast buffet was a wide spread of breads and phos which they took care to vary the dishes each day. we were surprised that Duan and Money greeted us by our names with warm smiles and courteous words whenever we walked into the restaurant. front desk staff were also friendly, helpful and gave us a quiet room as we were light sleepers. the room was clean with hot showers, cool air conditioning and popcorns! some loud noise from next door room due to thin walls but it it was ok when they slept. it was creatively thoughtful of the hotel to decorate the room and enchant visitors with hand made swans and elephants out of the towels to welcome us.
the only issue was we asked for early check in since we arrived at 10am but was told it would cost us USD15. if only the hotel had considered our case and allowed us early check in as we checked out at 7am next morning, it would have been perfect....
alexjoshua

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from main street as it could be noisy due to partying at pubs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuaalex383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Alex,
Thank you for all your support during this time. Thank you so much for your stay in our Duc Vuong family. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. It is great to hear that you love our 8th floor rooftop bar restaurant as well.
Anyway, we apologize for the noise from the renovation this time. By the way, this change would give you more value of stay in future visit as thicker room wall, new and nicer room decoration, etc..
As you have mentioned, we will consider to be more flexible in the CI and CO cost for guest's budget. Anyway, to check-in earlier, there would be cost for moving to the spare room (that not in order), before changing you to your reserved room (which are preparing, and cleaning after previous stay) during this time (full room). Thus we are sorry if it caused you an incovenience.
Thanks a lot for your lovely concern about our hospitality.

Best regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the first leg of my trip in South east Asia. I stayed in a dv wooden room which was just below the restaurant so it was noisy during business hours. The room had a strange smell which could be due to whatever coating was put on all the wood. Jade was very friendly and a great asset to the hotel. Ciaran

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Belfast_lad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Ciaran,
Thank you for all your support during this time. Thank you so much for your stay in our Duc Vuong family. This review is now a hugest encouragement to our whole enterprise to develop more in service. That is pretty kind of you for playing a very important roll to push us into a very constantly improvement. It is great to hear that you love our 8th floor rooftop bar restaurant as well.
By the way, we apologize that at your staying time, there was the problem with the draining during the renovation time. So, once again we are sorry for that, we are upgrading it after the renovation. Thus, your stay next time will be nicer.
Anyway, we apologize for the noise from the renovation this time. By the way, this change would give you more value of stay in future visit as thicker room wall, new and nicer room decoration, etc...Actually, there is a renovation in our hotel lobby as well, which would lead the noise. However, it will be for the better view and visit as you will have an exetremely fancy stay with modern room, nicer hotel lobby with granite floor and brighter ceiling, etc. Your stay value at next time will be given even more and huger than this time though.
Once more time, we appreciate all your lovely contribution at Duc Vuong family. We wish to see you soon for next visit.

All the best and kindliest regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#33 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing