We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful staff attitude/service”

Thai Nhi Mini Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thai Nhi Mini Hotel
Ranked #412 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We arrived down mini hotel alley having not booked anything in advance. A lady from Thai Nhi Hotel offered us a room for $10 with air con. My boyfriend specifically asked which floor it would be on and we were told the second. That fine we thought (we are not unfit people but lugging a backpack up and down 6 flights of narrow stairs is not comfortable!)

Upon arrival we were shown to our room on the fourth floor (though the second floor didnt count as a level for some reason?!) Ok, we could deal with this, its not the end of the world. The room was a smoking room which smelt of cigerettes - we were not asked if we wanted smoking. My fault, I always request non smoking when I book ahead. The room was small but you pay for what you get. The bed was incredibly hard as were the pillows. It was not a comfortable 2 nights sleep.

However, the worst part of this hotel was the service. The staff burped in your face deliberatly and just didn't want to help you with anything. They ignored you if you smiled or said hello to them in passing. They generally looked down at you. I dont know why they were running a guesthouse - they were clearly not people people!

If you just want a cheap room with a solid bed and dont care about being treated like a human being, then here is ok. For anyone else - pay the extra couple of dollars and go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Get a better service and room elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captainpants17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

The room is not bad, its not good either. It's small but clean. Location is ok. Staff is unfriendly. Rooms is 12 dollar but with a medieval exchange rate its more like 13,5. Don't go, pay a little extra.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreekTeije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

You need to call in order to book your room. It's a cosy spot in the heart of Bui Vien St, District 1, backpacker hub minus the noise an hassle.

I called them from Phnom Penh to book a room, and even though they didn't have the cheapest room for a solo traveller like me, the standard double at USD$12 was also very comfortable. They keep their word about keeping a room open for me, same goes when I came back from Mekong Delta, they keep the same room for me.

What I found intriguing was the fact that the cable tv kept going on and off, as if someone is "stealing" the channels. I had to laugh to myself thinking, if they teal electricity in India and Myanmar, they steal cable channel in Vietnam! It wasn't an issue though. I love the cute cosy room, the double room has different sizes of bed. One is single and the other supersingle, so for travellers coming in pairs, I hope you don't have to argue about that!

The aircon and fan works, room has enough light, whats most important is the room is spotless and the hot water actually works! Plus its not situated too far off in the alley, it's close to the main road and for a female traveller like me, safety means a lot. With comfortable beds, you can guarantee a peaceful sleep here.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MoSelle_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Сергей К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre sur la rue ou chambre interne avec fenêtre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JeremyS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014
Thank CyHDyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.9 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,832 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#17 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#66 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#49 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Nhi Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Nhi Mini Hotel

Address: 40/4 Bui Vien Street, District 1 | Saigon, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 274

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing