We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Any Romance..Has it's Ups and Downs”
Review of Romance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romance Hotel
Ranked #21 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our deluxe room 811, as Expedia called it, was big. With in room WIFI, in room safe, minibar(cheap prices and cold drinks), pillows of varying softness, dark hardwood floors, and light colored wood furniture and it was all very clean. The A/C was mighty cold and that's nice after a day in the Hue humidity. The bathroom seemed updated with a more modern feel and new fixtures. Large lobby with beer garden off to the side. The Location was average being few steps further from the others bordering the Perfume River. Hotel is central to an area catering almost exclusively to tourist with european/american style cafes, pubs, and restaurants(not my thing but it might be yours). The staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Did not eat on property or go swimming so can't comment on those facilities. Complainers might not like no A/C in the common areas makes them stuffy, king bed is two beds pushed together which sort of covers the control panel for lights and air as well as an outlet, wifi is on the slower side, furniture a bit 70's-ish. You get incredible value for money at this hotel and those things didn't bother us. I'd return anytime, but Hue was not a city to spend more than a night or two in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a great choice we made. Romance Hotel was well located, restaurants walking distance, we ate at Golden Rice (see review) and Confetti Restaurants (see review). The view from rooftop pool is dazzling. Pool is good size and very clean, has about 10 lounges/chairs
for short swim to cool off. We had mountain view room with an extra bed. The beds are soooo
comfy I wanted to take them home with me. Seriously, best bed I have ever slept in on our travels in Asia (trip 9) many thanks for a wonderful nights sleep Romance. Staff at reception were helpful, they sent the bellboy down to station to buy our train tickets to Da Nang for next morning, much appreciated. We stayed 2 nights, could of stayed longer in beautiful Hue. I emailed Hotel directly for best price, we paid $38 per room plus $17 for extra bed. Good value for $55 3 pax. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruits and egg station with a variety of asian dishes at buffet. Sit away from window, we found it too hot to sit next to glass for to long.
Would love to come back to the Romance as 2 pax.

Room Tip: Mountain view room good value, only reason people get balconies are to smoke. Safe in room you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Unfortunately we only got to spend one night in Hue but with the short amount we spent in the hotel it was a good experience. The "double bed" was the biggest bed ever! We had a drink in the bar/cafe downstairs and the staff were friendly & there was a great selection of beers! The welcome drink on arrival was a refreshing touch after our flight and breakfast there was almost too much choice! Definitely did not leave hungry! While we didn't get to use the pool (due to lack of time) we checked out the view of Hue which was spectacular.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights (which is apparently ages for Hue!). Rooms very nice, massive double bed. Only let downs about the room were that the bathroom could do with a little refinishing, and the couple of cockroaches we saw were a little off putting (although it's very common everywhere in Vietnam to see one). Location was very good, easy access to bars and restaurants, not too far to get to the citadel either. Rooftop pool is good and offers great city views. Hotel spa is also very nice, and the complimentary massage we received for being 'long stay' guests was a very nice touch.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bullock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just left this hotel. We spent 3 nights. It was very good staff were nice. Good location, with heaps of breakfast selection. Hue is a nice city but if you value your sanity do not do a day tour to the caves. Nice roof top pool.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Large rooms with WiFi, lovely rooftop pool with great views over the city, welcoming staff and an expansive breakfast buffet that kept us stuffed until dinner. The reception helped us buy train tickets to Da Nang and the free maps were easy to follow. The main sights of the Imperial City (Citadel), pagoda and tombs are quite spread out, so it's worth agreeing with a taxi driver to take you around all day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Romance hotel in April 2014 for 2 nights. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a buffet offering a vast selection of Vietnamese/Western food, and is served on the top floor of the hotel so the view is excellent. The swimming pool offers the same, and is a good size. Towels are provided as well as sun loungers. Overall, a great value for money base for exploring Hue.

An extra point: If you are leaving Hue by train then the hotel will buy your tickets for you for a small service fee- this saved us the hassle of trying to do this ourselves at the station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 125 in Hue
1,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#26 of 125 in Hue
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 125 in Hue
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherish Hotel
Cherish Hotel
#17 of 125 in Hue
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Hotel

Address: No. 16, Nguyen Thai Hoc Str., Hue 08454, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: £31 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whenever you stay with us, and with our amazing deals, we're sure you'll find your perfect holiday experience and A lifetime of happiness with Romance Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing