We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and convenient location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

It is located a short walk away from restaurants, shops and the dragon tours on the river so it is very handy! The staff were lovely and the hotel was excellent considering how little it costs! Clean and comfy.. All you need from a budget hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Third time I have stayed here and I have to reiterate that it offers the best value of all the accommodation I have stayed at in Vietnam. Warm friendly atmosphere, clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms and so cheap. I cannot praise the management and staff enough. Well done.

Room Tip: I have been upgraded twice without extra charge because I am a return customer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooge53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jillnev - Fraser Island, Australia,

Thank you very much for your review and satying with us last month. It is very kind of you to join Tea & Talk Program to talk with local student to help them in improving their English. Your homeland is very nice what we saw on your ipad.
Please write to me at email: xthuy64@gmail.com when you have free time.
Have a nice trip in Vietnam.
Thank you very much. Best regards, Thuy - Hotel Mananger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel close to river, markets, restaurants very clean and cool. The owner has students learning English to come and meet and talk with guests who agree, to help improve the students skills . He puts a message on Facebook and they contact hotel at no cost to them. It was great to be involved. Jill & Neville -Fraser Island Hideaway Australia

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice hotel, clean, good location and staff. Decent hot breakfast. I stayed here for three nights in March 2014 and recommend it highly. I would stay here again. Great street food and restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

At only 13 USD per night for a single room, Than Thien Hotel feels more luxurious than its price indicates. An excellent budget choice anywhere in the world. Than Thien Hotel cares about its customers and the community that it serves locally. The staff is very attentive, speaks English, and will book just about any tour you desire. Very honest and reliable. They will also arrange for English speaking tourists to meet with local students who wish to practice their language skills and spend one dinner together.

The rooms maybe a bit tiny, but they are quite elegantly appointed with wood floors, amenities (water, shampoo, brush, soap, comb), television with local and foreign channels (CNN, BCC, sports channels, and many others), wifi (a bit weak actually, but works fine), elevator, and great breakfast with both Vietnamese and foreign offerings. The hotel area is not distinctive, but does have a lot of restaurants and hotels and it is very safe and central (only 15 minutes walk to the big bridge). Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast had options and was tasty. Good location with plenty of restaurants a short walk away. Wifi was a bit weak but not a major problem - would stay here every time

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Really reasonable price, very friendly staff, lot of choises at breakfast. Good location. The owner organizes tea evenings where local students have opportunity to talk with tourists and practise the English language.
We had a standard room with small window to the stairwell, so the room was little bit dark and fusty. But the price was really good (17 $).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ildi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#7 of 123 in Hue
1,153 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#8 of 123 in Hue
2,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#30 of 123 in Hue
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#28 of 123 in Hue
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Address: 10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Hue City center, Friendly Hotel offers best service for your stay. Than Thien means Friendly, it is also the Character of our Hotel. Distance to famous places in province:- Dragon Boat on Huong Rive Port: 100m.- Truong Tien Bridge: 700m. Hue Railway Station: 1,5Km- Dong Ba Market: 1,2Km. Hue Citadel: 1,5Km.- Thien Mu Pagoda: 4,0 Km. Tu Duc King Tomb: 8Km- Thuan An Beach: 12Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing