We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place & the attached restaurant is great too...”
Review of Why Not Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Why Not Hostel
Ranked #3 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful in arranging a tour of the tombs and a cooking class, both of which I highly recommend.... We ate a couple of times in the attached restaurant which serves the freshest baguettes in Vietnam and we had some fantastic Vietnamese food there too... We had a great stay here...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loicfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Do not buy any tour packages from this hotel! They will scam you! Especially don't buy any packages for Ha Long Bay! They'll get you to pay one price but book you for a much cheaper, nightmare of a tour. The tour agents in Hanoi and Ha Long will tell you you've got to go back to Hue to get a refund from the Why Not? hotel's tour desk.
Otherwise it's a very nice hotel. Inexpensive, clean, and some of the rooms have balconies. Great location and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mybluelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We were invited in by a friendly young girl dressed in the Vietnamese ao dai. She happily showed us all the budget priced rooms $8 $10 $12 and told us the $15's were taken, she showed us a $25 room and gave it to us for $16!
2 double beds, balcony, bath tub, 2 aircons, lounging area, tv, wifi, and 2 free beers at their restaurant! Plus you can order room service from any of the restaurants downstairs. Also beers here were 15000d same as street price, The day staff weren't as friendly but, great bargain. If they're not busy haggle hard!
The cheaper rooms were nice too, friendly hotel opposite had the same rooms for $5 more and weren't as friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I had a train layover in Hue and stayed at a different Hotel. I needed to buy train tickets so I went to WHY NOT? Hotel since they had transportation info. When I mentioned that I was looking to buy a train ticket, they said they weren't selling that late at night around 9pm, but even though I was NOT a guest, the staff person named Foo( That is not how it is spelled but her name is pronounced that way like the American Band Foo Fighters) went out of her way to call the train station and find out the times and prices of the tickets. She even suggested that if she could sell them, I would be better going to the train station 1km away to buy the ticket directly and save hotel commission. It was then decided that I would stay at Hue on my return trip.

3 Days later, I had another layover in Hue so I stayed at WHY NOT? Hotel. The room cost 200.000 dong and was clean, Good Wifi (It did get slow a few times) and hot water. They also have a computer if you dont have your own. The bed was average in terms of hardness when compared to other similar priced hotels in Vietnam and better than the hotel I stayed in 3 nights previously.

While it was on the main strip of bars, my room was in the back of the hotel so I didn't hear any street noise.

If you stay at the hotel, you get a 10% discount on food you order at the WHY NOT? restaurant down the block. The only thing is that you have to eat the food at the restaurant, not have it brought to the hotel. However, if you are pressed for time in the morning to catch at early train or plane like myself, you can go to the lobby, look at the menu and order food from the restaurant to be brought to the lobby and have the reception call your room when it arrives, which saved me time of waiting at a restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pico631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

'Why Not?' was a really great find! Our room was of a very high standard and was only $6 per night, after some haggling of course. It was incredibly clean and comfortable, and complete with a television and air conditioning.

The 'Why Not?' restaurant is only a few yards down the street and you are able to order room service from their full menu and have it delivered right up to your hotel room if you so desire. Otherwise, you can eat from the seating area outside and watch the world go by in the sunshine.

The staff were friendly, though they didn't seem too happy that the receptionist had given us the room at such a low rate, so I imagine it isn't a regular occurrence. There was free internet available in the lobby and also free wi-fi in the room, though it dropped out several times during our stay.

Everything of interest to tourists is close by and there is an especially lively scene for back-packers on this street, with a number of bars and restaurants catering largely to Westerners.

A great find and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Barter hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The staff are very friendly, very helpful & the rates was only $12 USD;

The air con works in the x2 rooms that we stayed during June 2010;
This is really important especially in a hot area like HUE;


Big rooms takes a little longer to cool, if you are a penguin,
opt for the smaller sized rooms;


This hotel is in very good location, near to the center for shopping,
money exchange & to CITADEL etc;


In front of hotel will be restaurants & tour agency for you to buy
bus ticket to other provinces & HUE tours;


Its also easy to catch a fixed priced taxi here especially
if you're looking to do a self touring of HUE in the comfort of a cooling taxi car

instead of taking package deals;

I will stay here again next time;

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank stefusaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#29 of 122 in Hue
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Fine Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Hue Happy Homestay
Hue Happy Homestay
#2 of 127 in Hue
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FA Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Amy Hostel
Amy Hostel
#17 of 127 in Hue
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#11 of 127 in Hue
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Why Not Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why Not Hostel

Address: 26 Pham Ngu Lao Street, Hue 530000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Hue
Price Range: £11 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Why Not Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The famous Perfume River can easily be reached on foot, and numerous attractions can be found in the surrounding area. Not only are there many points of interest nearby, but there are also many shopping venues, banking facilities, and dining establishments. Airport transfers can be arranged by the Why Not Hostel Hue upon request, and they can also pick people up from the nearby Hue train and bus station. The Hotel has 13 beautiful and spacious rooms with windows and balconies, full equipped with air- conditioner, bath tub, hot and cold water, refrigenator, chanel televition...The Hostel offers other services such as computer, internet, fax, visa, booking train & airplane ticket and arrange open daily tour programs as well as the tours in and out of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Why Not Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing