We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and cracking staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canary Hotel
Ranked #52 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and cracking staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We moved into the Canary after surviving one night in a bit of an overpriced fleapit in the centre of town. For the same price we received a warm smile, plenty of freely given advice and no hard sell on the tours offered. It was well worth a couple of dollars extra for a bright airy room with balcony overlooking the city centre. Just a hop and a skip away from the hysteria of Phan Ngu Lao Street, but a world apart, with some very cool Vietnamese coffee shops in the neighbourhood. Clean, quiet and great value for money - this one ticks all the boxes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NilsKarlssonPyssling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    56
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
80
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stay here only 1 night but it's enough for us to know the quality of the hotel. simple hotel with simple people, always smile and helpful. just so so breakfast but it's ok. good price for those who wanna save money. a very good hotel to stay (for BB)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We were not at all impressed with this hotel and we are not hard to please.
-absolutely stinks of mould and mould is growing on the walls
-terribly unclean, especially beds, restaurant
-staff were nice but had very limited English which made it difficult to get help eg. Didn't understand when we wanted to do laundry, book a bus or train, things to do in the city.
-payed $11 for laundry only for it to take a day and a half and was still very very dirty (don't think they actually cleaned it all)
-security is poor- out door didn't lock and unlock properly and there is no safe.
-breakfast was okay but the fruit tasted like chemicals and the eggs left us feeling ill.


Only upside is the amazing shower.
Although I feel awful leave such a bad review, but I wouldn't stay here as you can get much much much more for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in mid december 2013. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly. It was also very good value for money. The breakfast is good too - eggs, omelette, or fruit salad. The location is fine too. Beds are as firm as in all other hotels in Vietnam!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a really nice room hat Canary Hotel in Hué and it was good value for the money. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was really good. Close to the forbidden City, Restaurants and Bars. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special. We can recommend this Hotel if you stay in Hué

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanapaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed here twice on my last trip & not only is it an excellent hotel, it's in a great spot too. Hue is easy to walk around. This would be very close to the best hotel for the price that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shultz_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihnoukville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Amazing clean rooms with brilliant service! I would definitely stay here again. Not only is the place nice but the staff are really friendly and help you with anything you need! They even wanted to hear me play a little guitar!
1st class!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.0 mi away
Canary Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tran Ly
Tran Ly
#41 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lam Bao Long Hotel
Lam Bao Long Hotel
#71 of 123 in Hue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#15 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Star Hotel
Golden Star Hotel
#50 of 123 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homeland Hotel Hue
Homeland Hotel Hue
#70 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Hotel

Property: Canary Hotel
Address: 37 Nguyen Cong Tru street, Hue 530000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canary Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canary Hotel Hue is located in the heart of Hue City, close to the Perfume River and Nhu Y River, with its peaceful and safe surroundings. There is easy access to the numerous Hue tourist sites for guests who desire to explore the historical and natural attractions of this beautiful and green city which was recognized The World Heritage Site by UNESCO since 1993. The hotel is decorated with modern and luxurious amenities. With the polite and enthusiastic service from hotel staff, Canary hotel will bring distinguished guests great comfort during the time of staying and sightseeing Hue city. Within a radius of 100 meters, the hotel offers you easy access to souvenir streets in Hue like Vo Thi Sau, Chu Van An, Pham Ngu Lao, Ben Nghe, Le Loi... In addition, only sitting on Hue purple cyclos and you will come to the ancient Royal Citadel or An Dinh Palace - one of the two main points that Hue festival activities taking place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Canary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing