We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Words cannot describe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place was absolutely magical.

Stayed in a water bungalow for nearly a week and relished every moment of it.

STAFF: They were spectacular - kind and accommodating in every way.

COMFORT: Fantastic rooms. Fantastic pillows. Fantastic stone cut bathtub. Loved that every which room had a view of the lagoon. Great distance/space from bungalow to bungalow. Very private.

LOCATION: It's a tad far from the city of Hue but perfect if you're seeking R&R away from the city noise. This is the place! No words can describe this ethereal lagoon surrounded by mountain location. It truly is stunning. Clouds, rain, sunshine, fog, all of it. Hope you too get to experience the full spectrum of climate here.

FOOD: Food was just okay but the fantastic fresh tropical juices and fruits made up for it. I would recommend paring down the menu and focusing on a better fare. Oh and the wine needs to be properly stored. Got two bottles and both had been turned/corked. The staff gladly took the bottles away. We ended up only ordering liquor and beer for the remainder of our stay. Food situation can be improved in a major way.

ACTIVITIES: Do a bike ride along the lagoon path and see the wonderful fishing neighborhood. We were a little adventurous and even took our bicycles into town and checked out the local open air market. Not much to offer there but it was fun. We kayaked along the path - wished we could have kayaked beyond the borders - but I think it might have interfered with the fishermen. Loved the game room. We played tons of ping pong. Tip for Vedana: try featuring new artists from time to time in the art gallery - art work was stale.

Definitely 5+ stars.

Room Tip: Get the bungalow with the glass floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El90004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    107
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
107
359
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel we've ever stayed in every little detail was just perfect. We could not recommend enough, pure tranquil luxury. Staff are superb throughout the resort, can't do enough to help. Food was delicious and great selection. Fairly priced for the seculded resort and standard I think. We stayed in Villa with private pool and it was worth the extra money, villa is huge and immaculate. We originally planned a day trip to Hue from here but on check in we decided we hadn't allow ourselves enough time for our stay (only 2nights) to enjoy this paradise we decided against it and a worthy decision I think. It is very secluded location and options of eating elsewhere are not easily available but once you know this on arrival sit back, relax and enjoy this fabulous resort :-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank september20120925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolamon, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We came here, tired from travelling and in need if a good nights sleep, a hot shower and some relaxation and we definitely got that and much more!!
We stayed in an overwater bungalow which I can not recommend highly enough, the views are amazing and although the weather was drizzly and miserable it didn't really bother us to relax inside watching the fishing boats go past. The bed was enormous, bigger than a king size and super comfy (I don't know what it is in Vietnam/Cambodia) but everywhere else we have stayed the beds are rock hard, this however was perfect.
The shower is outdoors but is hot and has plenty of pressure and privacy.
The food for dinner and breakfast was hard to beat, absolutely delicious and the wellness centre was great. I had a hot stone massage and attended the yoga and thi chi class which I thought was brilliant.
The staff were super helpful and we loved every minute of our stay. I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful villas in magical surroundings. Try to get one with a private pool. The interior of the villas is of VERY high standard. The restaurant is superb and the spa / massage service is excellent. Room service will deliver everything you need to your villa. Trips can be organised through reception to visit nice and interesting locations nearby.
Very highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Haspok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
329 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was our first resort stay within a month long Asia exploration trip, and it was lovely. We arrived just after Typhoon Haiyan, and although the resort wasn't hit with any damage, the follow up rain storms did slightly dent our stay. No reflection on the hotel, however, some amenities could be better.

Getting here and area: we arrived in Hue via train from Hanoi, and even though our train came in early, we were able to be picked up at the station (750,000 VN or about $37 US) by the hotel and brought to our room before check in, which was greatly appreciated. Ride from Hue was 50 minutes, the city portion was very scenic, as we followed along one of the canal roads for a distance, the highway portion about what you'd expect. The resort is outside the town of Phu Loc, and is pretty isolated, located at the end of a road, right on the lagoon (a huge lagoon, tidal and NOT swimmable) and below a jungle'd mountain. The entrance is pretty, with a tennis and basketball court, and a large welcome centre - lobby, art gallery, gift shop/library, fitness centre, movie room, foosball and ping pong tables, kids area, etc.

Amenities - library has a selection of English (Vietnamese and German) books, magazines and videos for sign out. Fitness centre is poor: moldy smell, dirty carpet, no work out bench, a few free weights that aren't matched pairs, cardio equipment satisfactory (1 elliptical, 1 recumbent and 1 upright bike, 1 treadmill), 2 balls. No mats. The resort provides bikes (2 at our villa) but there are no brakes (or gears) to speak of. One kayak (2 person), that I was able to take out solo and paddle (in bounds) for a good work out. Resort offers morning yoga and tai chi, however the weather was so poor, we never saw this take place. There is a large common pool next to the restaurant with cabanas and lounge chairs. Weather not conducive to anyone using it during our stay. There are fee tours offered from the resort - to Hoi An, Danang, My Son, etc. also a free daily shuttle (departing at 930am into Hue, then returning at 330pm), but due to rain and flooding in the city, we didn't partake.

Villa: I booked us into a private pool villa instead of the aqua villa, as we wanted the pool feature and the space. The aqua villas are smaller, don't appear to have the living space that the one we rented has, which turned out well, as we snuggled down into our villa when we had 3 days of non stop monsoon rains. The rooms are large, the bed is huge and all was comfortable. The air con didn't work so well, even with that and the fan on, it was pretty warm at night. Wifi signal was very strong, which was necessary, due to the aforementioned 3 days of rain. We borrowed some videos from the library, and the staff brought us a DVD player, which ended up taking 2 hours of troubleshooting and 2 subsequent replacements (don't play a Blu-ray Disc on a DVD player) and have the correct connection cords! There should be a unit permanently assigned to each of the villas, to make this easier. The bathroom is huge, with an open shower and stone tub in front of the picture frame window (odd, but you can drop the shade for privacy), the pool was also large, water temp was quite cool, but I still used it a couple of times. there are 2 cushioned loungers on the deck (covered and uncovered areas). Fruit basket changed daily, as well as coffee and teas. The snack items appeared old and stale, and not a very good selection, we took a miss on that.

Restaurant: one on premise and where the included breakfasts occurred. Some of this may sound picky, but when you pay (resort prices) for your meals (other than included breakfasts), I have expectations. And to be fair, the staff were excellent at accommodating. Things like - every one of our first four meals listening to the strains of Kenny G at sound level high, smelly mosquito coils burning at our feet during dinner, Microsoft burps from their email notifications coming over the speaker systems, every time they got mail, the overly bright ceiling lights for dinner, and one clients incessant cell phone ring tone whenever she came to dine. Food- breakfasts were outstanding, the first 2 days the buffet was small due to small number of clients, but as the weekend neared, the breakfast buffet expanded considerably, plus you could order a la carte. One odd thing, they wanted us to order the following days breakfast one day ahead. Plus they wanted us to order our dinners at least 8 hours ahead, which we found strange, but perhaps it was to keep supplies in stock during the low season? For the paid meals, we found some of their dishes better than others (didn't like their version of salad rolls-goi cuon, or their green papaya and beef salad, having been spoiled in exceptional street versions of same in Hanoi) but their Hue noodle soup and assorted vegetable dishes were outstanding. Wine and drink prices are high.

Spa: lovely villas on stilts over the water, each one for a different purpose. There was signage to some villas across and up from the spa which indicated cooking lessons, yoga house and a flower garden, but the area was closed due to some renovations.

Staff: extremely polite and helpful. The manager enquired daily if there was anything they could do to make our stay better.

Oh, and those butterflies? Amazing array of different sizes and colours on the one day of sunshine we had here. Overall, this is a nice place, but could benefit from some changes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhoaL187, Manager at Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Ecowoman and partner,

We would like to thank you so much for your time to write this review and your experience at Vedana Lagoon. Through this, we know you like nature esp butterflies....if you come to a right time you will see them a lot around the hotel ( or if front of hotel there is a famous mountain called Bach Ma, 5 km there are a wide variety of butterflies but this November weather was so bad ).

We knew that clients who stayed at this period will be affected by the continuous storms. The area was lucky that the Haiyan super typhoon did not come ( we closed hotel two days before you arrived and many guests had to move to our hotel in city ).

All of us are very happy to know that you have had a good time although it rained heavily 04 days of 05 days you stayed here. Some parts of hotel are still under some renovations because of the previous storms. What a pity that you even can not go to city by our shuttle bus !

To your constructive comments, we did know these suggestions and they are not so difficult to improve. Things will be highly considered. We are very sorry for those and I am sure those things will be changed shortly.

Again, many thanks for staying with us and giving good ideas. Have a nice trip ahead !

With our best regards,

Q.Khoa

AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Best place to stay in your visit to HUE...The view is amazing, the rooms are the best ones we had been in.....Big and excellent rooms, spacious bathrooms....a place you want to live ...and not leave....Free shuttle to the city to visit the OLD TOWN....

Room Tip: Honeymoon room with private pool in front.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaNepomnaschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Where do I start, this place is just amazing. My partner and I spent 2 night here as a romantic getaway in the middle of our 3 and a half weeks in Vietnam and we enjoyed every moment. We got the Aqua Bungalow and were not disappointed. The rooms are so big, the bath was stunning, outdoor shower was awesome loved it. The view was breath-taking watching all the fisherman go and come back in everyday was so cool to watch. The bed was super big and comfortable.
The infinity pool with the lagoon as a backdrop was worth every penny in itself. The hotel is very isolated as people have stated, but if this is, what you enjoy ( peace and quiet ) then it’s perfect lazy days by the pool followed by a beautiful meal at the resultant. The hotel offers free shuttles into town every day, but we did not use as we had already done a full tour of Hue city, and wonted to stay and relay at the hotel. The tennis court was great and the bikes to get to and from around the island was a great touch. Only floor was the gym was poor, was hardly any equipment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarleeWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
21.8 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
20.9 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ana Mandara Hue Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: Zone 1, Phu Loc Town, Phu Loc District, Hue 8454, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#3 Spa Hotel in Hue
#6 Family Hotel in Hue
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedana Lagoon Hotel Hue
Vedana Lagoon Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing