We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ace hotel just outside Hue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ana Mandara Hue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ana Mandara Hue
Ranked #30 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ace hotel just outside Hue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ian & andrina are staying here arrived 13th and we will leave 26 if you are wanting the best location and do not mind being just outside Hue then look no further than the Ana Mandara because you cannot fault it the rooms are fab the staff are friendly a 5 star hotel which is 5 stars location is awesome. If our friend sandy is reading hope your return was good we had a problem in hoi an email us on ipickavance@sky.com for further info

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipickavance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    169
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
102
303
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Arrival & Welcome

We arrived at the Ana Mandara on the third leg of our visit to Vietnam which is situated about a twenty-five minute drive from the centre of Hue. The hotel offered no pick-up or collection service, for a five-star this was a disappointment. When we arrived at the Anna Mandara we entered a hotel lobby which was located in the open air and was furnished to an adequate standard. Our welcome and check-in was handled in a professional and efficient manner, however, the staff displayed very little emotion, we had no smiles, in fact apart from one member of staff this was by far the most disappointing aspect of our stay. The staff seemed to have little or no interest in the hotel guests. In fact, if we were to return to Hue I would not return to the Anna Mandara, while the setting of the hotel and facilities are first class the total lack of warmth from the staff has not endeared me to make a return visit.

Room

We booked a beach villa with an outside patio, what a great room, if your budget goes this far I would book this room, apart from the obvious in the room we also had an out side shower. The room very clean, the linins were of an good quality and the décor was to a high standard. My only critique on the room was the air conditioning was not great and the day-to-day servicing which we had to complain about. The bed was excellent, as good as any Marriott or 5 star hotel in the West. Apart from that, our room made every evening a delight, to sit outside with a cocktail enjoying the sights was fantastic.

Customer Service

I would say that the level of customer service at this hotel was far below our expectations, in fact, it would be good for the Management team to be sent on a training course to see how other hotels deliver good customer service. The only person to exceed our expectations on customer service was a young girl in the restaurant. Mao has to be commended; she could not do enough for us.

Food and Beverage

The food was good, not first class but acceptable. I found breakfast a bit of a disappointment, for a 5 star hotel the selection was a disappointment, it was the same thing every day and did not meet my expectations. While tea and coffee were served at the table for breakfast each morning the limit of cereal on offer each morning was not great. The hotel had one restaurant, during our time we decided to eat at the restaurant for lunch only as it was very expensive. One night we opted to have the BBQ, this was disgusting and at over $30.00 (USD) per person we refused to pay. While the hotel is on the expensive side compared to the restaurants within the immediate vicinity it offered fair quality food. The beverage offer was good, pretty standard, a good choice of brands, however, quite expensive.

Leisure Activities

We were offered a free massage and upgraded to some additional treatments, this was great, we had a very relaxing afternoon and what we paid was worth every penny. The staff were very professional and the facilities were very clean, comfortable and set in wonderful surroundings. Compared to Thailand and other resorts across Asia the health care treatment on offer was limited. This is not only unique to this hotel but is common across Vietnam. The pool area was very enjoyable, due to the temperatures it was not refreshing, in fact, it was like getting into a hot bath. The Beech was probably one of the best beaches I have been to anywhere in the world. You have miles, upon miles a clean while sand with a sea that is gentle in its approach and without any shingle or stone.

My only critique on the beach area is the amount of disguarded plastic; the sea is full of plastic bags, every day during our walk up and down the beach I would collect between 30 and 40 plastic bags. As a leading business in the area, the Ana Mandara should establish a environmental programme whereby staff and the local community are educated to the damage that plastic can cause to the environment. The owners of the hotel should be aware that having a business is not just about making money, it is also how they support the local community and educate people.

Room Tip: You need to book a beach villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flying-Dove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Hue. The resort is well kept. Good size room, very cool air-con, very comfortable beds and large & clean bathroom. The staff is helpful and the outside patio is a plus
The pool is marvelous. We had no choice but have to eat at the resort's expensive restaurant. Bring your own foods or pay $50 USD meal for two.
The resort provides shuttle service to Hue center twice a day for free.
The beach is just OK, you can find better beach elsewhere in Vietnam. Over all we enjoyed our stay and got our money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleneAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I will start by saying thank you for the upgrade to the beach villa . The beach villa is lovely and spacious with a huge king size bed that's so comfy and the out side shower is wonderful.

The staff are really friendly .
This is our second year here would love to come again,

Thank you Ana Mandara Hue

Vince and Sue Allen.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterSueallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Over the past 10 months I have been reading reviews on this hotel, some very good but some very bad. I even considered cancelling my booking after reading some reviews but im so glad I didn't. It was the first of 5 hotels we would be staying in throughout our trip and was one of the best for overall satisfaction. Yes it isn't near Hue City but that isn't so bad the free shuttle is great and even if you don't want to stick to shuttle times you can get a green taxi that is metered and they arnt expensive. Yes there isn't much around but the fishermans village but you have travelled half way across the world so take in some local life and culture sit in a corner bar on little red plastic chairs and drink a beer that costs just 20 pence and try and communicate with them , they a so friendly and appreciate you sitting with them. At Ana Mandara you have the best of both worlds and very nice comfortable hotel on a white beach with a big pool and the breeze from the sea with Hue close by to visit all of the ancient sites but come back to the lovley green grounds of Ana Mandara at the end of a hot day sightseeing. Our beach villa was next to the pool so again we had the best set up. yes there is damage to the end pool villas on the left as you look out to sea and some of the doors need re staining in the near future but remember that this hotel on this strip of coastline gets battered every year from storms and typhoons so its a credit to them is such a little oasis of tranquillity. So if like me you read the negative reviews and worry about the place before you go then don't just give it a try because for what it costs its a wonderfull hotel.

Room Tip: avoid the last rooms on either side of the beach front otherwise all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived here off an internal flight from Hanoi. As we drove up to the hotel I was thinking this is going to be peaceful which is just what we had hoped. The hotel is not located in the centre of Huế town, which is further inland, but 20km away on the coast. 220,000 Dong in a taxi if you don’t get the hotel shuttle. Not exactly bank breaking. We arrived and checked in at the grandest reception area I have ever seen, it was amazing. We had a deluxe room.....to start, but when walking around we couldn’t get the beach villas out of our system so we had to upgrade. That doesn’t mean to say there is anything wrong with the rooms. In fact it was probably the biggest hotel room I have every seen, extremely clean, great bed and bathroom and tastefully decorated. The terrace area is also great as it has a sofa outside! However, the beach villa was just too tempting so we upgraded after half a day 

The beach villas are on another level. They are massive, I particularly liked the outside waterfall shower with frogs hopping around etc. There is a normal shower if you don’t like frogs, I should add. Along with a huge Victorian style bath. We basically spent 6 days sitting in front of our villa on our private terrace chilling and reading. It was beyond perfect. We had In Villa Dining (room service) a few times and the food was extremely tasty. Wifi was good but could be a bit patchy but not enough to cause issues. My only criticism is that breakfast could have been a bit better. It was good however we went around 9.15 each day therefore there is at least 45 minutes before it closes (I can’t remember if it was 10.00 or 10.30 so at least 45 min) but they didn’t seem to replenish the stock and when they did the food was sometimes overcooked. On our first day we arrived early and had breakfast at about 8.00 and it was much better then. There are local restaurants in the town or along the beach and we had lunch in these most day. I don’t think I've eaten as much seafood in my life!

My wife used the spa and declared it to be the best massage she’d ever had, and I used the gym which was better than you might expect – several machines, free weights, cardio etc.

Special mention to ALL of the staff, it seems no matter what job they have they take the upmost pride in what they do and should be extremely proud of the atmosphere they have created at the Ana Mandara. It is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in and I would love to go back.

Room Tip: ................Beach Villa!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaiveOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 days and the hotel is very relaxing.
The breakfast is a choice of European or local food also an egg station where they will make any egg format for you.
The staff are are wonderful very welcoming and helpful.
The pool is fresh water but gets very warm, the sea is a much better place to cool down.
Lunch we had in the hotel was excellent quality (there is no where else to eat) out side of the hotel you can walk into the small village but there are very few shops selling European items.there is a local market every day where you can but fruit and other items.
In the evening there is a duo that sing by the pool that the only entertainment in the hotel.
The food for dinner is expensive but good quality but everyone seem to head to the beach restaurants where you can buy fresh seafood.
We stayed in a beach villa rm138 it must be one of the best sunshine all day on the veranda ,outside private shower. If we come back we will definitely book a villa.
Once again the staff are very welcoming and make you chill and relax.
There is a hotel shuttle bus into HOU but we had five days in Hue before coming here so we never used it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hue
23.1 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Villa Louise Hue Beach & Spa
8.4 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
7.7 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Mandara Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Mandara Hue

Property: Ana Mandara Hue
Address: Thuan An Beach, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#19 Family Hotel in Hue
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Mandara Hue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Ana Mandara Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Mandara Hue Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing