We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hong Thien Hotel 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Ranked #27 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, really modern, clean, good facilities such as the swimming pool, helpful staff and nice breakfast. A bit of advice for backpackers: one day in hue is enough and spending the night is not necessary to enjoy the attractions. Arriving in morning and getting a bus to your next destination at 4/5pm is enough. But if you do speand the night in hue, this hotel is fantastic, would happily return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    184
    83
    19
    12
See reviews for
110
267
108
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This little Hotel is a Gem.We stayed for 5 days and really enjoyed our experience.The young lady at the reception, May, was awesome, funny and with good english skills that made the stay that much more enjoyable.
Hue (Whey) is a lovely spot after the turmoil of bigger towns and cities, right on the river with good areas to sit , with Art and Architectural places of interest. A bicycle is a great way to get around.
Although 36 d,in the shade , we still managed a bicycle ride out along the river west to Pagoda and back , took about 4 hrs at a slow pace.
The beach here is recommended too, some 15 klms away.
Beware of the Chilli Duck at the BBQ place @ the Riverfront, unless you enjoy lots of bones and very little flesh, only place in the world where a Duck does not have Breasts?
Take in a Soccer game if you lucky at the nearby Stadium.
The small swimming pool was a God send…….bicycles and motor bikes can be arranged through the Hotel. $8 to $10 a day.

Room Tip: Try and stay here for more of your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for $25 per night, and for that price, it was a bit dissatisfying. The location was near a lot of things, but it's alley location felt a bit seedy and also smelled strongly of sewage on our checkout day. The rooms were average, not particularly clean but not dirty for Vietnam standards. The breakfast was ok- they had some nice choices such as the pancakes and omelet. The staff were very mixed. The front desk lady was fantastic, always helping and going out of her way to make us feel comfortable. But the restaurant ladies were a bit snotty. I would say the only really good thing was the pool, which was designed quite artistically, although too small for the amount of guests. As a lot of people mentioned that they got it for $15, I would not pay more than that, as it is not on the same level as other hotels within that price range in Vietnam.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smthawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The Hong Thien hotel was the highlight of our time in Hue. We were greeted warmly and even upgraded to a room with a small balcony.

The rooms are spotless and comes with the normal amenities for this standard of hotel in Vietnam, flat screen TV, fridge and en-suite (with a bath though).

We also got breakfast, which was a choice of two things from a menu. For example, eggs and bread or fruit and yogurt.

Then the final main positive is the small pool out back. It was pushing 35 degrees outside so this was a amazing to have a dip in. Not big enough for doing lengths but did the job for us.

The hotel is located in the main backpacker district so is not far from anything. The Citadel is over the river but we found this expensive and a little uninspiring compared to other similar sites in Vietnam and Asia in General.

For those stopping in Hue I would definitely recommend this place. Also try to take the train if going to or coming from Danang for one special ride!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nha Trang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

By the confusion marked on the calandar,we checked out one day earlier. We requested to stay an extra hour because of the bus' schedule.They rejected firmly.We only realized our
mistake when reaching DaNang.We called back and asked them an explanation. Instead of
calling the Manager to solve the problem, they blamed each other and hang up on us.
Also It was'nt nice to replace an order without asking permission.
With this kind of practice, It will take very long time the reach the same standard of hotels in Nha Trang or Da Nang.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice because it was recommended from a family member.
1st time was in Oct. 2013 , stayed in room 102 2bedroom.
Clean beds and room, only suggestion is a fan or window in the washroom for ventilation. Window in bedroom looks out to a building wall.
2nd time was in July. 2014
They were really busy so me & my mom had to stay in room 402 1bedroom.
It was a nice room, washroom had a fan. Nice view from window.
The big problem was the insect infestation, ants were crawling along the walls. I left my backpack with electronics in the wooden closet, took my tablet out during the night ants were crawling all over. Opened the bathroom door and a big cockroach was crawling around.
Was so glad they changed us back to room 102. Ants were still marching across the walls but at least it didn't crawl everywhere like 402.
On the upside the staff and manager were very friendly & helped with booking bus trip. Rooms are cleaned daily & with new towels provided. Breakfast is okay fried eggs & baguette, or pancake(which if this fried crepe thing).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drewzy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Good location just down a small alley off main street. Spacious room s for the price-we had a large double and a twin with stairs down to the pool. pool a welcome addition. Friendly staff (rapid organisation of taxi to Hoi An) and best hotel breakfast so far. Thank you.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank scoobsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gold Hotel Hue
Gold Hotel Hue
#26 of 121 in Hue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rosaleen Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Thien Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Thien Hotel 1

Property: Hong Thien Hotel 1
Address: 35 / 6 Chu Van An, Hue 084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Thien Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Thien Hotel 1 offers elegant and affordable rooms with free internet and flat-screen TVs in Hue’s city centre. Featuring an outdoor pool, it has free parking and a restaurant.Hong Thien 1 has air-conditioned rooms decorated with classic furnishings in neutral colours and carpeted flooring. They have a fridge. Private bathrooms come with hot/cold showers and a hairdryer. Free pick up from the train and bus stations in the city centerOur hotel pick up from7:00Am and 8:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Thien Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing