We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of ambiance”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #25 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lot of ambiance”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is comfortable and it feels like a step back in time. As with all the hotels we stayed in in Vietnam, it was clean and comfortable. Our room over looked the main road, so there was a bit of traffic noise. Breakfast was good, and the bar on the third floor was adequate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Ms. Linda R,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so happy to know that your stay with us was comfortable, especially in hotel colonial style and cleanliness. However, I am sorry to see that you did not sleep well due to the traffic noise. I have requested Maintenance department to double check sound-proof double glasses in all rooms to ensure that the problem of this nature does not occur again.

We do hope to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    552
    150
    35
    7
See reviews for
242
794
69
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a solid three-star hotel. It's a large, refurbished colonial-style hotel. Our room was very large, with polished wooden floors and a lot of character, but the television was circa 1998--not that that really matters. The location is good. The staff was friendly and the whole place was very clean. Breakfast was ok, a decent buffet. I checked out the spa but wasn't impressed with the spa menu so I opted to go elsewhere for a massage. Overall a very good value for the price, and the location is great as it's an easy walk to the Citadel, or to a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Mrs. FrancesAmbler,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoy our colonial style, good location, large room with polished wooden floor and lot of character, friendly staff and decent buffet. I will share your compliments to all hotel management and staff to encourage in their jobs.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very nice hotel with professional services of the staff. The room is decorated with a lotus on bed and the table, so special. Breakfast is served near by pool in the morning, so fresh, clean and open. The hotel is near Trang Tien bridge to visit Hue Citadel and other places. I really enjoy staying at hotel. I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room on higher floor so that you can see the river view at night, which is so nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ms. Trang B,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so excited to see your compliments for our hotel service. I will ensure that all the hotel management and staff are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts. We will try our best to be an excellent hotel as your compliments.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Enjoyable stay, relaxing in a hotel with interesting history. Great Pho at breakfast. Not particularly elegent or luxurious but very good value. Enjoyed the movies after dinner. Helpful staff. Good value and great base for Hue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Mrs. cerca c,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and relaxing with interesting history. This is the special gifts for us because guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work. I will ensure that all the hotel management and staff are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a step back in time, 1901 - and the hotel is beautifully maintained. The rooms are fabulously huge and the linen is crisp, clean and white!
Elegantly furnished bathrooms, showers in our room were within our bath, but gloriously hot water at all times.
Breakfast was not particularly enticing if you preferred a more "continental" meal, but there was delightful array of breads to choose from. Eggs freshly prepared if you like a lot of cooking oil, not for me!
The fresh fruit selection in the fridge was a little disappointing but the passion fruit was delicious.
The staff were pleasantly helpful, polite and courteous.
What is going for this hotel is it's location - perfectly situated in the heart of this beating place!
Rooms to the front of the hotel are noisy, so be aware if you don't like road noise - we put in our ear plugs.
I a sure that if you came back in the warmer months that the courtyard would be fabulous with the flowers and trees, and could give you a completely different complexion on the ambience of this hotel.
A step back in time but a great location. Suited our needs for our short stay.
Ps... Fridge in our room made a whirring noise all night!

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel are incredibly noisy as the main intersection is directly situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank trixpixbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear M. Trixpixbelles,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

As you know, Hotel Saigon Morin is the first hotel in Hue city and in Vietnam as well with colonial style, good location, helpful staff. We also have a beautiful inside courtyard restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner or just for drink a coffee or something. They are our typical characters and we are committed to you, our valued guests, we will try our best to keep them and bring more comfortable facility and excellent service to our guests who trust in us as guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were here at quiet time of year (and cold) but would love to come back to enjoy the grounds when their extensive gardens are in bloom. Pool area looks like 1920's beauty with very well done period upgrades. Having breakfast outside or cocktails would have been a treat! Location is perfect. Every single staff greeted us with a smile -- service was impressive. Rooms are huge with very updated glass showers next to large soaker tubs. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose premium with view of river and downtown. Top floor -- 322. Room had one queen and one doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carocaro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear M. Carocaro15,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

It is so happy and prideful to read your compliments for our hotel colonial style, service,location, facility and staff. I will ensure that all the hotel management and staff are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a lovely old hotel is very good condition. We were so surprised when we entered our room as it was huge. It also had a balcony which is always nice.
The restaurant was nice and daily breakfast was great. It is an easy walk to the main restaurants and bars, and about a 15 minute walk over the bridge to the local market.
We would stay here again the next time we visit Hue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badfoodreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Badfoodreview,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in huge room with balcony, good location and great buffet breakfast. And it is so happy to hear that you would stay again. All your compliments will keep our team motivated.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 120 in Hue
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#16 of 120 in Hue
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#26 of 120 in Hue
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing