We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“old school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Saigon Morin was a nice place to stay in Hue. I stayed here with my mother in early feb for 2 nights. It was a good location close to the bridge to get across to the old town. The staff were generally helpful. The hotel itself was stepping back to an old historical hotel. lots of black and white photos in the hallway telling of its past. The rooms were very big and spacious. the beds were just as firm as other parts of Vietnam, so no real difference there. the courtyard where you have breakfast is really nice, lots of selections. it was not that hot when we were there, just warm, and being able to sit with nice cold Vietnamese coffee was a nice way to end the day.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0na76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear M. Sim0na76,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am really excite and prideful to see your notes that “our hotel was a nice place to stay in Hue”. Your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

I and my staff are all happy to know that your 2 night stay with us was enjoyable and would definitely stay again. They are special gifts for us because guest’s satisfaction is reason of work.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    542
    146
    34
    7
See reviews for
238
779
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Most other posts describe it well. I really love the feeling of being in a historic hotel that has been well maintained. Beds a bit firm but typical of hotels I've stayed in France. A real feeling of living in history. Very nice. Every employee encounter was always an attempt to help or please me. Good job!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear M. Steven O,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see your notes that you really loved the feeling of being in a historic hotel that has been well maintained. Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

I will share your compliments for our staff and I ensure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Colonial style building located at the Perfume river in Hue. There is a big courtyard with a swimming pool and the Rendezvous Restaurant where breakfast (buffet style) lunch and dinner are served. it is very silent inside compared to the mainstreet in Hue.

staff at reception is (average) friendly, but one older waiter at the rendezvous restaurant was quite unfriendly, never smiling or saying nice words, took away drinks when there was still someting in the glass.

Food at the rendezvous restaurant (breakfast and lunch) is good.

we stayed at room 214, which is on the second floor, facing the main street and the river. on the balcony there were no chairs and table it was a little noisy, but as soon as the doora are closed you won't hear much from the traffic outside.

room was spacious with air conditioning, old tv with mostly Vietnamese tv channels, complimentary WiFi (but unfortunately weak signal in the room). size and amenities in the bathroom are alright, but it is very inconvenient to stand in the bathtub, since it is "u-shaped" on the floor (even for me very inconvenient and I have small feet!!)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank _Betty_Sue_1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Ms. Betty_Sue_1108,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

Your tittle “oasis in a noisy town” told the truth about our beautiful courtyard where you can escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. I also felt happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with colonial style, spacious room with nice view overlooking to the river.

However, it is a quite disappointed our staff’s behavior did not meet your expectation. I have requested Heads of all departments to pay more attention to staff training to bring the professional service and Vietnamese hospitality (always smiling, friendly and helpful) to our valued guests.

We do hope to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A very good Hotel to stay in with a Colonial French ambience--good food reasonably priced

An excellent massage parlour appreciated after a long international flight-good way to relax for a little over 12 GBP per person.

Good sized rooms with a very narrow Bath which I almost got stuck in

Wi-Fi on the second floor was Iffy as it persistently dropped out forcing me to retreat onto the Ground floor lobby whereby my sanity recovered

Room Tip: Always enquire if a room upgrade is possible as they maybe having a quiet period
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Mr. Michael O,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your notes that our hotel is “a very good Hotel to stay in with a Colonial French ambience --good food reasonably priced”. It is also great to know that you enjoyed our massage service and size of our room.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

located in the very heart of hue, the 113 year old colonial style building is a landmark of the city. it is fantastic and charming.
the receptionist and the bellboy were friendly and helpful.
the outdoor le rendez-vous restaurant is an ideal place to relax. buffet breakfast\lunch\drinks served there were very good.
every guest room has a balcony and good view.
the only problem was that the staff in the food & beverage department were not as professional as the ones in the front office.

Room Tip: rooms face to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear M. Reaky,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I agree with you , Hotel Saigon Morin has the best location in Hue, colonial style and historic, we also have a beautiful courtyard where our guests can relax after a long day tour. They are our typical features; therefore, we will try our best to keep them and improve our service to be better in the next time. I have requested Heads of all department to pay more attention to staff’s training to bring a homogeneous standard to our valued guests.

We do hope to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

One of my favorite hotels! This colonial hotel exudes charm. The rooms are large and comfortable and we had a great view of the river. Breakfast was included and was served in a beautiful garden. Movies are shown in the lounge on the third floor and my wife and I had a drink and watched "Indochine" in a century old room. The pool was also very nice and refreshing after walking around the citadel. If you are planning on staying in Hue, definitely look into this hotel and you will find great deals on agoda.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr. dtanen,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so excited and happy to see your notes that our hotel is one of your favorite hotels with charm colonial style, comfortable room with nice view, good breakfast, beautiful courtyard and nice pool. This is the special gifts for us because guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work. I will share your compliments to all hotel management and staff to encourage in their jobs.

All your comments also help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hue city as well as Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My title really says it all. This hotel is really gorgeous, right when you walk in you're transported back the early 1900s and colonial times. It's a really cool thing to experience, and the rooms are huge and comfortable with hard wood floors. Also, the pool is nice and the courtyard is spectacular. The devil here is in the details. This was a 5 star hotel for MANY years, but the current management has really let it slide. The sheets are old, the towels are old, the paint is peeling, and the service is slacking. They are getting too accustomed to being on top and not trying hard enough. This place needs a good overhaul, a fresh coat of paint, a kick in the pants for service and it will sparkle (oh and the AC to be fixed given ours was broken and we had to switch rooms at 11pm!)

Room Tip: Top rooms facing the river have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mr. William C,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post the valuable comments on TripAdvisor. We highly appreciate your contribution.

We are delighted to see your notes that you enjoyed our hotel colonial style, huge and comfortable room with hard wood floor, nice pool and spectacular courtyard.

As hotel renovation plan, we are trying step by step to upgrade our hotel facilities to be more comfortable and luxury (such as change of wooden floor, main door, LCD TV,..). I also requested all hotel management and staff to focus on service’s attitude and quality in seriously as guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

Thanks again for your valuable contribution. We do hope to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#14 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing