We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, good service”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, good service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Travelled here for two nights with our teens. The rooms are spacious. The breakfast fresh, tasty and large choice. Much history to this building and it is proudly displayed with black and white photos throughout the hotel. Had a decent massage at the hotel spa. The pool area is inviting. The bathroom impeccably clean and the linens crisp. I would definitely stay here again. Warning: a guest left her handbag on her chair, as she went to the breakfast buffet, and her handbag was stolen. The restaurant was full of guests, so take care of your things.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyMe068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mrs. LuckyMe068,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed 2 night stay with us and would definitely to stay again. I will share your review to all hotel staff to keep them motivated.

Especially, we highly appreciated your valued shares and warning to help other guests to take care their things at public areas. We will pay more attention to security tightened at all venues and hotel surrounding to keep safe for our guests during stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    560
    152
    35
    8
See reviews for
248
803
69
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we walked into our room at the Morin i said to my husband "wow this is so beautiful, i feel like we are in the raffles in singapore".
The decor in the rooms is gorgeous, wood everywhere, stunning bathroom, water , tea and coffee supplied .rooms were kept perfectly clean and the showers were nice and hot.
beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was one of the best we had in vietnam outside in the magnificent courtyard under the beautiful trees.
check in and out was fabulous and they were perfect hosts, very friendly ,professional and helpful to all our needs.
The hotel is very central in Hue.
absolutely loved it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guildfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear M. Guildfordians,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so overjoyed and prideful to see your notes that “wow this is so beautiful, i feel like we are in the raffles in Singapore”. Actually, your satisfaction is a special reward for all hotel management and staff’s efforts.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Built in 1901, reputedly the first hotel in central Vietnam, it has a great old-world feel to it. While I referred to it as "Metropole-light," it has charm in its own right. We enjoyed the colonial architecture, including the pool and restaurant in the courtyard in the middle of the hotel. Service was very good, as was the breakfast buffet, which had a nice western/Asian selection. The room was very spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and the river, although it could use a little updating. Overall, a fine hotel -- wish we had an extra day or two in Hue.

A special note to recommend the travel desk, where the woman at the desk was wonderfully friendly and helpful, and arranged for us our car tour (we didn't want to take the boat tour, as we were a little pressed for time) of the Citadel and the various tombs of the emperors, as well as a car to Danang. I feel badly for not writing down the tour desk woman's name, but she was very gracious.

Room Tip: Our room facing the front street allowed us a nice view of the city/river, without being too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mr. HNLsuit,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments also help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

I will share your review to all hotel management and staff to keep them motivated.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here recently (6-8 July 2014) after recently arriving from the Ritz Carlton in Singapore. If you are looking for a more interesting stay than just your normal 4/5 star western hotel experience then make sure you stay in the Saigon Morin whilst in Hue. Location is excellent & right on the Perfume river. Service is 5 star . Cocktails and food - lovely. Rooms are very comfortable and Reminiscent of colonial days - unspoilt by the sameness of international global hotels. The hotel has a rich history of ownership since 1901. Pool is great too - to escape the heat and hustle bustle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluezebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Bluezebra,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so happy and prideful to read your comments. Your positive comments also help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue. Especially, your satisfaction is a special reward for all hotel management and staff’s efforts.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Well worth staying here if visiting Hue. Hotel has lots of character and looks so inviting from the outside. Large rooms (ours overlooked the river) and effective air-con. Lovely courtyard setting for meals although temperature can be very hot at times. Within walking distance of citadel if you don't fancy one of the taxi/rickshaws waiting outside the hotel at all hours. Hotel can also arrange trips to sites outside of town using their own good quality car with english speaking driver. The well known Mandarin restaurant is only 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouringMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mr. TouringMonkey,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. I will share your comment to my staff to keep them motivated.

As you may know, Hotel Saigon Morin has a lot attractive features, such as great location, colonial style, historical hotel and Vietnamese hospitality. We will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service, upgrade hotel facility to be better in the next time.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is an interesting one to review, as it is quite good but has so much potential to be Raffles of Vietnam! It is a stunning old hotel that has been refurbished. The rooms are massive (and that was a family room with double bed and 2 singles) and equipped well. The bathrooms are small for the room size but everything is provided and note the shower is over the bathtub. Double glazing (seemingly rare in Vietnam) keeps out the street noise and we had a 1st floor room on the road overlooking the river – wonderful complete with a small balcony.

The building itself resembles a grand old dame, with wide corridors, lovely outside spaces and a small but welcoming pool area (complete with bar and outdoor restaurant). Breakfast in the courtyard is an enjoyable experience and as noted in other reviews is a decent spread. From Western through to local there was a large choice. Only negative I felt was the juices, which as per every hotel in Vietnam appeared very watery! Maybe this is standard, but fresh juice would have been a welcome addition in almost everywhere we stayed. Try the iced coffee – my wife feel in love with this drink and it is included in the buffet.

Overall this is a solid 4 start, locally managed hotel and we had no complaints and would return for another stay (we had 3 nights).

Cons – beds are low and a little hard, and the pillows were definitely more similar to rocks than anything else (although we all managed good nights sleep). We can also see amazing potential in this property, with a little tidying up and attention to detail it truly could be a Raffles like property. I guess the negative of this could be you would have to pay Raffles prices, and at the moment we felt it represents great value.

Location is perfect for many reason already outlined.

Tip for touring – we booked all our tours and drivers at the Mandarin Café (recommend in Lonely Planet). It’s about 2 blocks from the hotel and the staff spoke excellent English and made great tour recommendations for us. Our guide was excellent and related well to the kids. Better still the prices were about 1/3 of what the hotel quoted!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandSculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mr. CraigandSculli,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so happy and prideful to see your notes that our hotel has “so much potential to be a Raffles of Vietnam” and we are trying our best to keep hotel features such as great location, colonial style, historical hotel, Vietnamese hospitality as well as improve hotel service, upgrade hotel facility to be better in the next time.

We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The good stuff:

- wonderfully supportive staff. Look out for the adorable trainee who smiles at everyone in the foyer (and loves my baby).
- quality buffet Bfast, homemade yogurt with passion fruit is the best.
- great street action views from the balcony rooms (109 is excellent).

Even better if:

- the ladders in /out of pool weren't so painful against my middle aged feet.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear M. Martin Y,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. I will share all your comments to my staff to keep them motivated.

As you may know, Hotel Saigon Morin has a lot attractive features, such as great location, colonial style, historical hotel and Vietnamese hospitality. We will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service, upgrade hotel facility to be better in the next time.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,294 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 122 in Hue
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 122 in Hue
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#10 Spa Hotel in Hue
#10 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing