We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Saigon Morin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hotel Saigon Morin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel Saigon Morin has all of the old world colonial charm. It is grand, clean, with spacious rooms, and the grounds are beautiful. There is a large pool which offers a refreshing break from the hustle and bustle of Hue. The hotel offers a large spread for breakfast including omelettes, pastries all the way to banh mi and dumplings! We especially loved the iced coffees-- they were delicious. Great location right on the main road overlooking the river and close enough to walk to shops and restaurants in the touristy area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseKnows416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear M. RoseKnows416,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so excited to see that you had a enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. I will share your reviews to all hotel management and staff to keep them motivated.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    536
    144
    34
    7
See reviews for
236
769
65
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A very nice hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms really big with everything you need. Swimming pool a little small but during the day hardly anyone used it. Have a massage, it was so incredibly cheep. Staff are extremely helpful and go out of the way to help, in particular the staff by the pool. Wow they were fantastic, Soup (sorry if I have his name wrong) but he was amazing told me the places to go and where the markets were. They couldn't have done more.shame the door men didn't smile a little more. Breakfast is good but felt a little rushed. Definitely would recommend though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear M. Vicky E,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am really happy to see your notes that our hotel is a very nice hotel with friendly staff; especially is Mr. Song. I will share your reviews to him and all hotel staff to encourage them in their jobs.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was supposed to be one of the highlights of our trip in Vietnam, I'm fond of colonial-era building and we were very disappointed. The staff was very friendly, but decoration is old, stained, dark and the hotel needs to be freshened. A real disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mr. Sabidal,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

As you know, Hotel Saigon Morin is a historic hotel with colonial style; therefore, we are trying our best to keep these features as well as improve hotel service and upgrade facility to be better in the future.

We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm a big lover of old colonial hotels, and expected such old grandeur in Hue.

Yes, their garden is still original, but all the rest is fake: fake entrance, fake lobby, fake floors, fake rooms, all made in a pseudo chic communist style without the slightest good taste or finesse. The staff is in perfect harmony: fully disinterested underpaid bored looking people....

What a pity I didn't stay in one of the surrounding small hotels!!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are great and have a balcony where you can see the sun rising
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear M. Johan d,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that you are a big lover of old colonial hotels and we are trying our best to bring this character to our valued guests. However, it is deeply disappointing because our hotel service could not up to the level of your expectation.

We really appreciate if you can give us more suggestion and contribution to improve hotel service to be better in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me at email address: gm@morinhotel.com.vn

Do hope to have another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This French colonial hotel with all expected 5 star facilities provides a welome respite from the heat,hustle and bustle of Hue. Reminiscent of the more famous Raffles in Singapore.
Huge bedrooms with king size bed and lovely garden setting for breakfast.
Great spa and cheap massages ( by normal hotel standards)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear M. Gsebire,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

That is sound great to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. Guest’s satisfaction is a special reward for hotel management and staff’s effort.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Travelled here for two nights with our teens. The rooms are spacious. The breakfast fresh, tasty and large choice. Much history to this building and it is proudly displayed with black and white photos throughout the hotel. Had a decent massage at the hotel spa. The pool area is inviting. The bathroom impeccably clean and the linens crisp. I would definitely stay here again. Warning: a guest left her handbag on her chair, as she went to the breakfast buffet, and her handbag was stolen. The restaurant was full of guests, so take care of your things.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyMe068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mrs. LuckyMe068,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed 2 night stay with us and would definitely to stay again. I will share your review to all hotel staff to keep them motivated.

Especially, we highly appreciated your valued shares and warning to help other guests to take care their things at public areas. We will pay more attention to security tightened at all venues and hotel surrounding to keep safe for our guests during stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we walked into our room at the Morin i said to my husband "wow this is so beautiful, i feel like we are in the raffles in singapore".
The decor in the rooms is gorgeous, wood everywhere, stunning bathroom, water , tea and coffee supplied .rooms were kept perfectly clean and the showers were nice and hot.
beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was one of the best we had in vietnam outside in the magnificent courtyard under the beautiful trees.
check in and out was fabulous and they were perfect hosts, very friendly ,professional and helpful to all our needs.
The hotel is very central in Hue.
absolutely loved it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guildfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear M. Guildfordians,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am so overjoyed and prideful to see your notes that “wow this is so beautiful, i feel like we are in the raffles in Singapore”. Actually, your satisfaction is a special reward for all hotel management and staff’s efforts.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favorite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Moonlight Hotel Hue
#21 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing