We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:30
Hue city tour with private english speaking driver: see royal tombs and more
407

Book in advance
from
£25.59
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Hue Imperial City (The Citadel)
from £25.59
More Info
from £58.40
More Info
from £58.40
More Info
from £103.99
More Info
Reviews (11,159)
Filter reviews
11,159 results
Traveller rating
5,327
4,056
1,388
279
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,327
4,056
1,388
279
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial city bullet holes few hours restoration work worth a visit large area couple of hours walk around nguyen dynasty interesting history perfume river war ruins vietnam complex moat architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6,188 - 6,193 of 11,159 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a large complex of ornate buildings from the first half of the nineteenth century, in a spacious layout inside a formidable wall. Parts of it were badly damaged in the Vietnam war and are being restored. The scale is impressive, the individual buildings are beautiful and the complex, which includes a library and a theatre as well as palaces, memorial pavilions and shrines, evokes the grand life of the imperial dynasty. You see costumes worn by the court, documents submitted for their approval and the seals used by successive emperors to sign them off. We thought it fully deserved its World Heritage Site status and really enjoyed our long morning wandering around it.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank culkein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited the Citadel, and happy to see the history of golden days. Spread in vast area with many places of interest I found it is a good place in Vietnam to see.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Kedarkoduri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Modeled after the Forbidden City in Beijing China, this Forbidden seems just a little smaller in size no less stunning. The grandeur and luxury in which the royals once lived is amazing. The palace grounds are well kept and very clean as well as well manicured.I have been here before and if I remember correctly the entry price has about doubled, though still not very unreasonable. Some parts are still being repaired and reconditioned. Still a good place to spend a few hours to absorb so of the local culture.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A World Heritage Site ( UNESCO ) The Imperial City in Huế is a walled fortress and palace in the former capital of Vietnam. It is pretty impressive in size and you would really need half a day to take a leisurely walk around. We opted for a combined tour the Citadel ( Imperial City ) and the Khai Dinh Tomb as we were short of time. We booked this through our hotel - private car for 2 no time limit for 500,000 dong ( roughly £15) Entry to the City is paid at the gate and is 105,000 dong ( just under £3 ) It closes at 5 pm. You could probably find a tour cheaper at one of the tour shops on the street if so inclined. A lot of the Citadel was destroyed in the war and is being renovated having said that it is still a very impressive attraction, with lots to see. A large grounds surrounded by a wall with smaller gardens inside and interesting buildings and structures. You can see some of the original walls, interesting architectural gates to exit, if you are visiting Hue and you do not go to see this you are a fool. Steeped in History the Citadel was a forbidden city where only the emperors, concubines, and those close enough to them were granted access. The Citadel is flat and so would enable wheelchair access. We did not see a shop or toilet facilities but we only did a fraction of the Citadel due to time.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Amazing place to visit.
Good to see that it is being refurbished.
We visited the citadel by private car after being stalked and harassed by a cyclo driver the previous day.
Ripped off by the lady selling entrance ticket by 500.000 dong !

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank noelc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews