We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
Review of Google Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Google Hostel
Ranked #11 of 124 Hue B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week. Everything was amazing. Free beer from mid day untill mid night can you believe that? Staffs were really funny and helpful. City centre location, walking distance. Free bike rental if you book from booking.com so thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    144
    48
    41
    44
See reviews for
19
151
131
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drenthe Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is better known as the Google Hotel, the staff is calling it so by themselves. We slept three nights in a very spacious twin room with two huge beds. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was included and was very well. Coffee and tea we're the whole day for free, as well the local beer after 5 pm. The location of the hotel is very central, only a 10 minute walk to the citadel in the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room. The beds are big enough to sleep together if you want to, but you have more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick30051956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Sayed here with my boyfriend for 1 night, staff instantly pounced on us pushing bus tours and putting pressure that if we did not book we would miss out on getting to hoi an. We booked provisionally and changed our mind an hour later and cancelled. Their attitude instantly changed and they insisted on knowing details of our new plans. Morning was met with large hairs in our breakfast, a charge for not taking the bus and also a different price than the one we had booked on the internet and paid a deposit for. When we argued he simply said that is the price. Considering they keep your passport this gave is little choice. Hugely disappointed as we had gone from the lonely planet recommendation

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racheljones75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014. Very friendly staff, free coffee, tea, wifi, and beer. Nice location, easy to find from bus station. Good air conditioning and very in expensive. A nice place for budget travelers

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freespirit737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights and hated every one of them. The staff were always trying to sell us a tour no matter how many times we said no! It got extremely frustrating to the point where you wanted to scream NO! The window in our room didn't even fit the frame so the noise was worse and i'm pretty sure plenty of creepy crawles got in through the gaps. When we told the woman downstairs she came up to our room and simply said 'windows too small' and closed the curtains! The only upsides to this hotel is the friendly gentlemen that sings to you which is cute and the free beer which is just drinkable but hey it is free.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingAsia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for one night despite my initial instinct of bad feeling and I regret it greatly. Upon arrival, I was shown to a single room that seemed unclean and smelled of cigarettes. There were stains on the wall and dust around the table and TV. I told myself, "What can you expect from a budget hostel" despite having read a good recommendation from the Lonely Planet guidebook I had with me. The bed was neatly made but when I flipped over the comforter, I noticed that the bed sheet was 'wrinkled" as if someone had just gotten out of bed. I knew that the bed sheet had not been changed from the last guest's stay. I should have left the hotel then....but I ended up going downstairs and complained about the sheet and asked them to change it to a new one. The management seemed to not care much and promised me that he will take care of it and told me to wait at the café. After waiting for 30 or so minutes and having had no communication and not being able to find the initial management person, I asked another person if they were ready with my room. He had no idea that I had been waiting for my room and took me up to the room. Surprise surprise... the bed sheet had not been changed. I demanded that they change it immediately and the management finally got the maids to come and they changed the sheet while I stood there to make sure.

After spending one night in a dirty room, I was definitely ready to leave early in the morning. I really worried if I had contacted bed bugs or other creepy crawlies since who knows how often they change out the comforters or pillows for that matter. I will never trust Lonely Planet's hotel recommendation as they are often outdated. My mistake.

I do, however want to say that there was one guy working there who was really friendly and made sure that I was having a good time at the hotel. He sang me songs (as he wanted to become a singer) and was very kind. Thumbs up for this guy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brilliantjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were planning on staying here 1 night but ended up spending 3 nights. Lovely staff and awesome breakfast. (Banana pancakes!) Laid back atmosphere and we'd definitely recommend it to anyone. Clean rooms and airco , worth the money. So if you pass by give it a try , that's how we ended up here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#17 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Google Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Google Hostel

Property: Google Hostel
Address: 26 - 28 Tran Cao Van, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Google Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Xuan Hotel stays in the heart of an old citadel ancient city that have many landscapes with a long history. Few steps from shops, Trang Tien bridge, Perfume river, restaurants... Absolutely worth spending your vacation in here! Thanh Xuan Hotel has been seen as a 3 star hotel that has great service, friendly, give you the feeling of being home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Google Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing