We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Boutique Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlight Hotel Hue

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Super Boutique Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Moonlight during a 3 week tour of Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia. It was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in. Small, but well positioned. Close to all the activities, including the Perfume river and night time bars/restaurants. We also spent an evening at a Royal banquet where we were treated to fine Vietnamese dining with music and singing in a private room. We were dressed up for the night as King, Queen and Courtiers. A superb experience.
The hotel was friendly, fantastic rooms with jacuuzi bath and views over the river. Very clean and very comfortable. An excellent breakfast was available. Would definitely use again when we return to Hue.
We also felt welcomed by the lobby TV announcing our partiy's arrival!!
Very helpful staff all round.

Room Tip: A river view with Jacuuzi bath is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    331
    68
    13
    3
See reviews for
147
507
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night after doing a long, but wonderful motorcycle tour from Hoi An to Hue. Despite arriving slightly disheveled and on the back of a bike, staff treated me like I had pulled up in a limousine. They helped take my helmet off, unhooked my bags and immediately provided refreshments and a very cool face cloth. The room was gorgeous, spacious, luxurious and exceptionally clean. Wonderful views from the windows and top quality furnishings and fittings. Lovely roof top bar with amazing views, great location, lovely staff and wide range of choice for breakfast. It was slightly more expensive than budget hotels in the area but for $60 AUD a night excellent value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieS186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked Moonlight Hotel due to a good online deal and we were very impressed with our choice. The warmest welcome during our entire Vietnam holiday, the staff even had our names flash up on the lobby TV to say welcome which was cute. Truc in the concierge team was wonderful through out our stay, but every member of the concierge team helped to make us feel at home. The view from the rooftop bar was pretty awesome. The hotel is in such a great location, we had so much choice for everything! The only downside was the hotel seemed to suffer a few power issues during our stay, but this did not affect our stay too adversely. Very good breakfast selection.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, perfect service, comfortable stay. Truc, the friendly guy at the entrance, - young, good english, very polite - helped us a lot, by lending a motorcycle and checking train-tickets, to get an overnight train to the north. - thanks Truc!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The moonlight hotel is new and modern. It is located in the centre of town with great restuarants in the street. The staff were extremely nice and friendly and would help us in any way for example negoitating a good price for a cyclo trip around Hue...on that note watch out for these cyclo guys outside the hotel they are a bit shifty, negotiate a price with them first, dont let them say "dont worry we look after you" I learnt the hard way paid way too much.
The breakfasts at moonlight were the best we had in Vietnam and the views from the restaurant are outstanding. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I will revisit in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Contrary to what everyone kept telling me, six days in Hue wasn't too long if you stay in the Moonlight Hotel. I had a Signature Suite on the 8th floor and it was quite charming, with all the comforts of home. The bed is huge and there is a spacious lounge area. The suite has two plasma TVs, one for the bed, one for the lounge and two air con units. The bathroom was great, with a highly amusing electronic panel on the side of the toilet (heaven knows what would happen if you pushed the buttons).
The hotel has a spa on the 1st floor mezzanine level. I was there most nights and can highly recommend them, especially if they've got promotional discounts as they did when I was there. Similarly, there was a discount on laundry while I was there and it worked out pretty cheap. I tried one room service meal and it wasn't bad at all (special chicken curry at 140,000 dong).
The breakfast offering is big - with a big selection of Asian meals, as well as the usual European fare, but watch out if you happen to be in the hotel when they have large groups of domestic tourists staying as they tend to swamp the area at around 7am. The seats on the restroom side of the restaurant offer the best views of the Century Hotel and the Perfume River.
My only slight niggle was that the pool doesn't really look clean enough to swim in and the nearby 'gym' was small and looked like an uncomfortable sun trap.
But as I say, these are only very minor niggles. The hotel staff went over the top to be warm and welcoming from the minute I arrived to the time I left. They even negotiated a cyclo driver to take me to the Citadel and back. A special mention to Thuc, the lovely doorman who always welcomed me with a very warm smile and was ever helpful in supplying local knowledge.
I know a lot of people only stay in Hue for two or three days maximum, but I managed to fill my time seeing tombs and other sights and only had one really lazy day.
The weather was extremely hot when I was there, but it really helped to be able to return to a central oasis of calm each day. Thank the lord for good air conditioning!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 801 which was the back of the hotel and disappointingly, didn't have a river vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very good hotel in central Hue with nearby bars, restaurants and bazaars. Nicely decorated, clean and amply sized rooms, though the bed was kinda hard for my taste. Friendly and courteous staff, always accommodating for any questions or directions. Very good breakfast buffet with a large selection of hot and cold dishes. Roof top bar provides good views of the city while you enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ima1derer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cherish Hotel
Cherish Hotel
#18 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ORCHID HOTEL
ORCHID HOTEL
#10 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alba Spa Hotel
Alba Spa Hotel
#20 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Hotel Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Hotel Hue

Property: Moonlight Hotel Hue
Address: 20 Pham Ngu Lao, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moonlight Hotel Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonlight Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Hue City’s Downtown, within walking distance of Huong River, shopping malls, restaurants and night life. Many beautiful landscapes of Hue City can be accessed from the hotel in 30 minutes or less. Dong Ba market, Citadel and several national monuments are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moonlight Hotel Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing