We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive pool and great atsmosphere”
Review of Pilgrimage Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pilgrimage Village
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressive pool and great atsmosphere”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for 01 night in Dec.13. Coming in the late evening, this resort was very charming but a little bit dark. The receptionist area is very nice with welcome ginger jam during cold weather and comfortable chairs/ salons.
Firstly, we had the Deluxe valley wing but after that because of water problem, we were upgrading to Vietnamese bungalow. All the rooms were spacious, nice decoration and comfortable beds.
We got lost on the way back to our room because of forgetting the resort's map so always had the map if you stay here.
The pool looked very impressive and the restaurant for breakfast was nice.
We would love to stay here again if we have more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Should choose from Deluxe Valley Wing room up as the peanut wing is very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bao-Oanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    391
    107
    19
    11
See reviews for
388
1,084
55
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
thebritkate
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We only stayed here overnight and were dropped off and picked up by our guide so could not really make the most of the beautiful pool which I was sorry about. The distance outside of Hue did not matter as our transportation was taken care but I could see that for some people if you only have a couple of nights you may want to be closer to the city. However, the grounds were lovely and if you want a spa/resort/ experience this is a lovely choice.
The restaurant was a beautiful upper lodge type with a wonderfully raftered ceiling very atmospheric. The salad we chose as a starter was very good but the rest of the meal nothing special. Breakfast was in a different upper room overlooking a pond/canal.
We were given an upgrade for an unspecified reason to a honeymoon bungalow which was a delightful room with a balcony surrounded by lush tropical foliage and a canal in the distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebritkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We got a 4-night package at the Pilgrimage Village and its sister hotel, the Vedana lagoon resort. It included breakfast with a transfer between the two resorts.
We started our first two nights with the Pilgrimage Village and arrived in the morning.

The check-in started nicely with a room upgrade and it was obviously well appreciated.
However, one problem quickly emerged when we were told that our transfer to the Vedana resort would be done at 3pm.
We immediately told them that we didn't want to go so late because it would be the end of the day. (sunset was at about 6pm in March).
Our plan was to leave early in the morning so we could just relax by the lagoon or the pool.
So they offered us to take another transfer at our cost and we said no.
To be clear, we didn't expect to arrive at the Vedana resort and get the room right away. We understood that the room might or might not have been ready.

We brought up the issue a few more times and every time we were be told that our transfer would be at 3pm or that we would have to pay for it. Then, that they would look into it.
In the meantime, I sent an email to the Management office asking them to deal with it but had no reply at all.

On the second day, we were frankly mad about the issue and decided that we were going to arrange our own transfer.
I then sent a second not-so-nice email to the management and finally we met with a manager when we were waiting for our shuttle to Hue. (around 5:30)
It was a bit of an awkward conversation but the manager agreed to offer another transfer from Vedana to the Hue airport on the last day of our stay.

The problem wasn't about the price of the transfer.
It was about the principle.
Had I known that the transfer would have been at 3pm, I would have never bothered with the 4-night package.
In fact, we might have just stayed somewhere else in Hue and then go to Vedana.
By the way, the Vedana resort was amazing and we were right to arrive at 9am.
Our bungalow was ready and it didn't rain that day. (It rained most of the day on the following day)

This review would have been harsher if I had written it earlier.
The situation got resolved but only really late on the second day and the aggravation could have been avoided by dealing with it sooner.

However, I'm still going to review the resort with the things that we liked and the ones that we didn't like as much.

The good.
- the resort was very green, beautiful and peaceful
- the location was good because it was so quiet compared to the madness of the city.
- the pool area was stunning
- the bungalow was extremely spacious and comfortable
- the staff was friendly

The not-so-good.
- the location can also be a negative. There are shuttle buses to the city but they may not always be convenient.
If you are not familiar with Hue, the shuttle drop off (at the tropical Garden restaurant) may be a bit confusing and also far from the Citadel, as it was a 50mn walk from there.
It would have been nice to have a couple of stops in the city, including one close to the Citadel.
- the food was a disappointment. The food at the Vedana resort was very similar but was so much better.
- Our bathroom was huge but felt dated. The toilet was awkward as it was opened to the rest of the bathroom with just a shower curtain for privacy.
I'm also not a big fan of sunken bathtubs.
The large window above the bathtub brought a lot of light in the bathroom at first until we realized that our neighbor could see right in our bathroom.
So no privacy there.

I may have been a bit harsh but the resort is still very well priced. With a few improvements, the resort could be stunning.
The restaurant quality should be a priority since the resort is far from the city. Once you figure out the city, you could take the complimentary shuttle, go and have diner and take a taxi back to the resort.
We went to the Cafe mandarin on the second night and really enjoyed it (we found it here on Tripadvisor)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Beautiful large and clean room made extra special for our wedding anniversary and by the provision of an electric fire to cope with the unusually low temperatures.
Lovely grounds and pool area and choice of two bars, one of which had a very welcome 'happy hour' with very nice cocktails, which we were pleased to attend after a busy day touring the tombs, temples and citadel. Staff all very friendly and providing great service.
The only complaint we had would have been about our experience in the evening restaurant which was like a large and busy cafeteria serving-up average food (but we were a bit drunk by then!). Breakfasts were delicious, with huge choice of Vietnamese and Western food.
Would definitely like to return in warmer weather to take advantage of the gardens and pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on our tour of Vietnam. It must rank as one of the best hotels we stayed in for a number of reasons. The location is great, set back from the road. The resort layout enables you not to be on top of each other and the rooms are of an excellent standard. The staff were all very polite and efficient. The food was also very good and the prices quite reasonable for a hotel of this standard.
The complex has two pools. One is very large close to the breakfast area and the other much smaller and quietier. Both are good to relax by after the heat of the city, especially if you have been cycling like we had!
Highly recommended for your stay in Hue!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
721 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Friendly and efficient front desk, upgraded to a bungalow which was beautiful and spacious, all set in lovely grounds. However it was let down by the restaurant staff who on our 3 visits were rather sullen and inefficient with table setting and clearing. Food itself was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel overall: really lush and lovely hotel.

Hotel location: 15 min bus or taxi ride from centre of town. So a fair way from the centre which is always a bit of pain but seeing the centre of town and what was on offer I'm glad we did not stay there.

Hotel room: the room we got was actually a standard hut but it was really spacious and lovely with a couch and coffee table. It was really lovely.

Hotel staff: the absolute loveliest hotel staff. Really friendly and accommodating to the nth degree. We had a really late flight (9 pm) the day we were checking out. We wanted to change it to an earlier flight and they really tried to help us but there was no availability. So on the day we checked out they initially extended our check out to 1 pm and then they kindly came back to us and said that they had managed to find a spare available room that was not occupied for the day and that we could stay in it for the day until we left for the airport. That was an absolute sensational gesture as that allowed us to chill out and relax when we got back from sightseeing. It was so very sweet of them to do that and they seemed so happy to have been able to accommodate. This is something you don't get often and we really appreciated the gesture.

Wifi: great wifi pretty much everywhere in the hotel.

Breakfast: sensational spread. Lovely food and all of high quality. the restaurant space was also very nice.

Overall impression: hue is a historical town and it's a great one day stop but it's not a pretty city and the night life is not so good so if you want a getaway sanctuary in the middle of nowhere with the loveliest facilities and grounds to get away from the centre of town then this is a great place to stay. It's also a lovely place if you want to have a 5 day kind of a retreat getaway at very reasonable prices with fantastic service.

Room Tip: I would just go for the standard hut as they are spacious with a sitting space and all that you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
20.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
2.8 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 120 in Hue
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#16 of 120 in Hue
887 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#25 of 120 in Hue
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrimage Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrimage Village

Property: Pilgrimage Village
Address: 130 Minh Mang Road, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#5 Family Hotel in Hue
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pilgrimage Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrimage Village is a traditional Vietnamese boutique resort blending harmoniously in the local environment. Set amidst lush green gardens and lily ponds, Pilgrimage Village is a haven, where the pace of life slows down… looking for lost time? Immerse yourself in a myriad of experiences from the luxurious naturally inspired spa treatments to Tai Chi, yoga or perhaps some chakra cleansing. A sanctuary for the mind, body and spirit. Relax, rejuvenate and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pilgrimage Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrimage Village Hotel Hue
Pilgrimage Village Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing