We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to inspire!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a place to inspire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

the only negative point to start with: we stayed only one night at this beautiful oasis!
A real treasure of a hotel: great architecture from the french colonial era overlooks the parfume river (which however sad to say but smells certainly not anymore near sweet as a parfume...), nice, contemporary furnished rooms, some with a wonderful terrasse, a good practical gym, great breakfastbuffet that invites you to eat bejond your diet plans (...), a great service at the hairdresser and last but not least a magnificant pool area that is embedded into a cultivated garden area. There weren't that many guest there so it was of course even nicer if you can enjoy a pool nearly as your one private one!

The staff was very helpful, trained and always with a smile!

To summarize: wonderful hotel, details play an important role here, friendly hospitality, all clean and shiny. I can only recommend to relax in this oasis! Its def. worth its 5 stars!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear R B
I would like to start by thank you so much for choosing La Residence for your recent stay & for the valuable comments through to TripAdvisor.
It is great to read that you have been more than satisfied with overall experience of the hotel with a rating worthy of 5 stars and particular attention to wonderful hotel, friendly & hospitality staff, great French colonial architecture, nicely furnished room, good gym, excellent hairdresser service, magnificent swimming pool & garden.
La Residence is definitely a beautiful place to relax for a few days whilst travelling in Vietnam. These points you have listed in your review are very useful for future guests when they are researching the best hotels in Hue and Vietnam.
Finally, we hope that you could stay longer with us, please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in the near future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.
Warmest Regards,
Anthony Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    429
    72
    22
    5
See reviews for
322
1,262
93
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Whaow, La Residence is a really nice gem in Hue based on old-style luxury and charm! We're so glad we opted for la Residence.

Pros:
-Charm, luxury, style
-nice big pool
-stylish rooms
-nice garden
-Great restaurant and Breakfast area
-quality of food
-staff & service levels

Cons:
-stylish though older rooms with regards to technology; amount of electrical sockets
-quality of the bed
-very slow elevator in left wing building
-hallways in stone - resulting in nightly noises

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden/pool are best since most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borneo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Borneo2010

First of all thanks for choosing La Residence during your recent visit to Hue and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor; we are closely checking all the comments on Trip Advisor as it provides us with direct feedback on which we can improve our product and service.

It is great to read that you have placed specific positive feedback upon the charming hotel style, nice swimming pool & garden, wonderful restaurant & buffet breakfast, excellent staff & service.

We would like to inform you that we acknowledge your feedback regarding the technology, the bed, elevator & hallways. We have discussed this as a team and we are focusing on finding the best long term solutions.

Finally, please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in the future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.

Warmest Regards
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Hue is a very relaxing break after the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Hotel Residence (which is the former residence of the Governor) is a very nice hotel, very neat, airy, where everything in detail, was designed in the Art Deco style. The pool is beautiful overlooking the river. The restaurant is recommended. We have dined excellently. A nice step, where we would have liked to stay a little longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Benjamin A

I would like to thank you for your recently posting on Trip Advisor; we are carefully monitoring all the feedback channeled here and it is great to see that you have really enjoyed the hotel and service.

On behalf of the team I would like to share our appreciation of your positive comments in particular: nice hotel, the real relaxing place, Art Deco style in every detail, beautiful swimming pool, excellent dining & Le Parfum.

We do hope you would stay longer with us, please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.

Warmest Regards,
Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel is well located on the Perfume River directly across from the Citadel. The public spaces in the hotel were simply beautiful. We had no interest in going out on the town for dinner so that we could simply enjoy the beauty of this property, a former French Governor's residence. The dinner entres were artfully presented and the best had in 2 weeks of traveling in Viietnam. We found the fitness center and spa to be excellent facilities. When we return to Hue we will definitely stay at La Residence!

Room Tip: The room we had was very nice, but offered limited space for luggage. I would request riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Conradsz

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the comments you have recently posted on Trip Advisor; as a team we are carefully monitoring this channel as it provides us with a real opportunity to reflect and enhance on our product and service.

We do in particular appreciate your positive comments regarding the convenient location, historical hotel, beautiful public spaces, excellent facilities in fitness center & Spa; finally the wonderful dinner at Le Parfum restaurant.

Please do let us know if you intend to return or perhaps have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.

Anthony J. Gill
General Manager
gmo@la-residence-hue.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Best hotel I have been in for a long time. Formerly the French Governor-General's residence this is now a beautiful Art Deco style 5 star hotel, but with its feet on the ground. Some establishments really get too big for their boots but here the staff were all extremely helpful and polite and offered great service. The food the chef produced for dinner was exquisite and deserves at least 1 Michelin star, if not 2; not silly money. If you want a treat you really must come here; our 2 night stay was all too short.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warfield_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haute savoie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

It would be difficult to fault this hotel. Everything seemed to run like clockwork, the service was immaculate and the management very much in evidence. The cosy bar with billiard table was good to sit in with a cocktail after the heat of Hue, and of course the swimming pool is to die for. Most clients are elderly, it would be nice to see more young faces!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank curiouscat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHue, General Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear curiouscat74

I would like to thank you for your recently posting on Trip Advisor; we are carefully monitoring all the feedback channeled here and it is great to see that you have really enjoyed the hotel and service.
On behalf of the team I would like to share our appreciation of your positive comments in particular: the well run hotel operation, immaculate service; great bar for relaxing and finally wonderful swimming pool.
Please do let me know if you intend to return to the hotel in future or if you may have friends and/or family coming to visit Hue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danang City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Thanks for your warm welcoming and great services. It is more than my expectation even I know that you are five star hotel and under Accor.
I would love much the way Receptionist-Night Auditor Sau processed the checking in for us. High appreciated your hospitality of GM & DOS at our breakfast.
I will come back to stay in your lovely hotel soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 5 Le Loi Street. Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, MGallery by Sofitel. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing