We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$142
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny B Hotel(Hue)(Great Value!)
US$19
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$47
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$49
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,404)
Filter reviews
2,404 results
Traveller rating
1,826
468
81
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,826
468
81
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoperfume riverfrench governorle parfumbeautiful hotelcolonial suiteriver viewcolonial stylegreat poollarge poolpublic areasacross the riverbreakfast buffetfive star hotelimperial citysuperior roomvietnamese food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 2,404 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel was comfortable in a slightly moth eaten way. The flooding in Hue added to a gloomy feeling. The service and food were interesting enough but the breakfast and amenities felt provincial in the lack of choice of foods. The gym was virtually unusable with ancient equipment. I had a massage which was done by a nice well trained person.
I would stay here again because the hotel is well positioned for touring.

Room Tip: We had a small room which felt very old fashioned in decor and as we spent only two nights in Hue, we're grateful to get out of the pouring rain
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear NewYorkCoco,
Let me start by thanking you for staying with us at La Residence Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to post your constructive feedback on trip advisor. We really value this medium of communication as it helps us to improve our services for current and future guests.
October is the main month for rain in Hue and November for flooding. Luckily for us, the French Governor's residence was built on the highest bank of the river in Hue and therefore the hotel is never flooded. I was happy to read that you had a comfortable stay in our 1930's Art Deco styled hotel. Rest assured all of your comments will be shared with each relevant department. We are constantly discussing ways in which to improve our hotel and service so thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our historic hotel one day in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our family had a lovely break in Hue, staying at La Residence .... It's not just a beautiful hotel, the art pieces, architecture, gardens ... Add to that warm hospitality, gentle service ... Made our year end break memorable. We were looking for a quiet restful time, and we received so much more ...the staff and wonderful Mr O'Broin made us feel truly cared for. Ian -thank you for going out of the way to change our menu to suit us. That is what made this holiday so precious. Truly memorable ... Simple Christmas tree light up with children singing silent night, relaxing spa, very friendly service staff, and oh the gorgeous exquisite sweet egg nest dessert ... We will come back for dessert alone. Tan family from Singapore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tan5962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Tan5962,

Thank you very much for staying with us and also for writing such a nice comment. What you have just said is exactly what we always try to achieve; to provide our guests with a truly “memorable moment”. The “warm hospitality”, “gentle service” ,”beautiful hotel” made us very proud and i will pass along to the team. Believe me, guests’ recognition is the best motivational tool we can find.
Our Guest Relations Manager, Mr. O’Broin, is a true people person and he is the happiest one around here, as long our guests are happy too.

All the best and we will be anxiously waiting for your next visit.

Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The location for this hotel is great in that it is on the river and yet walking distance to various places in town. Elegant - lovely - old world - pleasant. I would recommend this to anyone. Breakfast buffet is a delight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globaljoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Globaljoan,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at La Residence Hotel & Spa during your recent trip to Hue and for taking the time to post your valuable feedback.
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your vacation here with us. One of our aims is for our guests to feel like they are stepping back in time when they walk through our doors while still having modern amenities.
I would like to thank you again for recommending our hotel to future guests.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

An amazing island of comfort and tranquility, La Residence offers a very unique hotel experience right in the heart of Hue city.

a. Hotel architecture: this hotel operates in a former French governor residence. Its colonial architecture has been kept in absolute perfect conditions. The decoration throughout the building is simply amazing. You find yourself walking through this large establishment with your head spinning in all directions to absorb the very unique views of the place.

b. Hotel service: employees at reception, in the restaurant, at the concierge desk, all of them demonstrate first class customer service attitudes. We were even welcomed by the assistant GM upon our arrival as he wanted to discuss with me about an email snag that complicated our reservation process… 10 months before we checked in the hotel! We were totally flabbergasted by his personal follow up on a service issue we experienced so many months before our arrival at the Residence.

c. Hotel location: perfectly located just south west of the Citadel, the hotel offers easy access to the main city attractions. It also allows for easy transportation to more remote sites all located west and south west of the city.

Do not hesitate to make La Residence your hotel of choice in Hue. You will be delighted by your experience in this wonderful Accord establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Piden123,

First of all, many thanks for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa during your recent trip to the ancient city of Hue, and also for taking time to write this online review.
We are delighted to see that you have felt the “comfort and tranquility” that we treasure so much around here. As you very well mentioned, we are an original art deco property, and i have no reservations to affirm you that we take great pride in it.
Our team is over the moon with ”first class customer service attitudes” compliments. We honestly try our best, and taking your feedback as a benchmark, i strongly believe we are at the right path.
Thanks once again, and do not hesitate to contact me if you find yourself around Central Vietnam in the future.

Best Regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is gorgeous! Wonderful atmosphere and music in the public areas. The daily breakfast is top quality and service is spot on. The pool area is superb with a beautiful view if the Perfume river. The guest rooms are nice size and comfortable. The only downside, and it's a biggie is the mattress is hard and springy my guess is they're very old. They need to invest in new beds. Otherwise I would have happily given five stars. Note - rooms are very dark at night, which I like, but there is no night light in the bathroom, so pack one.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear David J
Many thanks for taking the time to post your valuable comments regarding your recent stay with us at La Residence. As with all constructive comments of this nature we are very grateful for the opportunity it provides the entire team to reflect and improve on our services and product.
We would like to thank you for outlining the “gorgeous hotel”,” “wonderful atmosphere”, “top daily breakfast, super pool area, nice size & comfortable room”.
On the other hand, we do regret to hear that our mattress did not meet your expectation. Actually, we do have mattresses toppers available upon request in case our guests need.
Regarding the lighting in the bathroom, we noted that perhaps they are not bright as your expected & we would like to inform you that we do have a plan to replace it with LED lights soon.
Once again, La Residence Team will be very pleased to have a chance to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews