We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful french colonial hotel overlooking th e perfume river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #9 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful french colonial hotel overlooking th e perfume river”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed just one night in this lovely hotel. My room overlooked the swimming pool and river. It was a delightful room with balcony. The swimming pool is lovely and the poolside bar just what you need after a long day sightseeing in heat. As I was not hungry just had a club sandwich for dinner which was okay, but breakfast was very good. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to overlook pool or garden so no real recommendation to make
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britgalYorkshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear BritgalYorkshire_,
I would like to thank you for having chosen our establishment for your recent stay in Hue and for your kind comment about our “lovely” hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your “delightful room with balcony” and that you were able to make full use of the swimming pool and poolside bar during the summer’s heat. Our Food & Beverage team was delighted to hear how you regarded their efforts at breakfast buffet. We hope that in the future you may find yourself in Hue once again and we will have a chance to give you the “WOW” feeling!

The whole team at La Residence looks forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    434
    73
    22
    5
See reviews for
324
1,276
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved staying at La Residence. Treated ourselves to a special meal in their restaurant one night and it was fantastic. Prices higher than usual Vietnamese restaurants but you get what you pay for. Our waiter, Hang, was great and the 'night auditor' in reception whose name I unfortunately didn't note was fantastic, always a happy face and helpful. All staff were lovely. We felt very special here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Paula R,
Many thanks for staying with us and also for posting this comment on Trip Advisor. The team is delighted to see that you “loved staying” with us, and “felt very special”. We always strive to provide a “memorable” stay to our guests, and we have a feeling that we succeeded once again.
The “lovely” team will be very happy to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

the la residence hue was so far rather best place we stayed during our holidays. its very clean and beautiful decorated. the view at the river is amazing. the service was outstanding and all staff nice and helpful. thanks to the team for making our time here so memorable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Chris D
Many thanks for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa during your recent visit to Hue City & for the “Excellent Hotel & Service” comment that you have shared online.
It is great to see that you enjoyed so much the hotel & service, especially the “beautiful decorated & the amazing view”. Moreover, the entire team here is extremely elated and proud that we are able to bring you the most “memorable time” whilst in Hue; our “outstanding service” & hospitality of “the nice & helpful staff” have sincerely been there to meet all of your expectation.
Once again, thank you very much for everything & we look forward to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you want to spoil yourself when visiting or travelling through HUE, then look no further than this hotel. As clean as you would expect, the rooms are tastefully and expensively decorated. The staff are well dressed, exceptionally well mannered and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Dining was a rich experience with tables spaced at discreet distances from each other: the breakfast was a a gastronomic delight with a multitudinous selection of gourmet food. If you enjoy nothing but the best then this is for you...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear KEITH P,
Thank you very much for staying with us and also for sparing some of your time to write this review. Your concise account about our historic hotel and our team members has brought us a great deal of joy, and we can’t thank you enough for that.
We look forward for you next visit.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Dear Ian and the team at La Residence,

Thank you so much for a lovely 2 nights at La Residence. The highlight for me was the beautiful big swimming pool and an early morning refreshing swim - hello to Miss Duang - I hope your swimming lessons are going well! I also loved wondering around the art gallery and of course how can I not mention the delicious breakfast - crepes with fresh fruit was a nice way to start the day! A tip for those visiting the Citadel and royal tombs - I did this via a motorcycle tour, followed by lunch in a Buddhist monastery - this was definitely the best way to experience the historical delights of this city. It's clear to see that this hotel is the standout in Hue and probably central Vietnam too. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I had a superior room which was lovely! I'm sure the suites overlooking the Citadel are very spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kathryn A,
For my first task on a Monday morning, it was very delightful to read such a positive & glowing recommendation of our "lovely" hotel based on the synopsis of your wonderful experiences in the ancient city of Hue. I am very proud that most if not all of our guests appreciate our unique salt water swimming pool because of it size, depth and temperature within our stunning garden surroundings. Rest assured I will pass on your kind remarks to All the team including Mr. Ian, Ms Duong and the F&B team for their "Delicious Breakfast buffet " especially the freshly made crepes at the live station. I applaud your courage and adventurous outlook in touring Hue by Motorcycle and I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the historical sites and Monasteries. The whole team of La Residence Hotel & Spa hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I don't normally splurge for a place like this (and there are, of course, so many very nice, cheap hotels in Vietnam) but we were very glad we did. Nicest place I've ever stayed, in short. Beautiful balcony overlooking the lovely Perfume River. The entire estate, top to bottom, is dripping with character and tiny touches. And the staff is beyond friendly and helpful (big shout out to Linh -- Thanks so much for everything!). We stayed 5 nights and could've happily stayed longer. An amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Tony W,
Many thanks for staying with us and also for sharing your feedback. It was a great honour to all of us here to learn that we were the “nicest place” you’ve ever stayed! La Residence Hotel & Spa team is always trying its best to make out guest’s stay as pleasant and memorable as possible and by your words we are confident we have succeeded.
Thanks once again, and we would be delighted to welcome you back to our historic address.
Kind regards,
Sergio Arias
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
21.8 mi away
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#12 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 5 Le Loi Street. Vinh Ninh Ward, Hue, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#3 Spa Hotel in Hue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Art Deco's golden age with a stay at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, MGallery by Sofitel. Nestled along the fabled Perfume River and overlooking the imposing Imperial Citadel - once home to Emperors and now preserved as a UNESCO World Heritage Site - La Residence is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Endowed with opulence and warmth, this former residence of the French "Resident Superieur" has been painstakingly restored and refashioned into an enchanting luxury boutique hotel with 122 guestrooms and suites, which offer visitors the chance to relive the pleasures of a bygone era. Food is a passion at Le Parfum Restaurant. Visitors will delight in a fusion menu of Vietnam and Europe's very best culinary traditions. Allow yourself to be swept away with the signature cocktails "La Residence Monsieur and La Residence Madame" in the cozy ambiance of Le Gouverneur Bar. Indulge yourself in our award-winning Spa and relax by the large saltwater swimming pool overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing