We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but....”
Review of ORCHID HOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ORCHID HOTEL
Ranked #8 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but....”
Reviewed 23 March 2008

On walking into our room (romantic room on 7th floor) we were very pleased with the lovely clean room and decor but then noticed the wet walls and canopy over the bed. The young lad that had brought our bags up tried to dry the walls but could do nothing about the canopy. We found there was no ventilation in the rooms and water actually dripped on our heads in the bathroom after a shower. Also our TV and spa didn't work. Besides all this we found the staff and the hotel lovely but would definitely try a different room next time!

  • Liked — staff, location
  • Disliked — dampness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eliza40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    471
    86
    11
    14
See reviews for
347
1,316
152
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

We stayed at the Orchid for 2 nights in their Honeymoon Suite - we weren't actually on a honeymoon, but it was their best room, for the can't beat it price of $49. We booked all 5 of the hotels we stayed at for our 2 week Vietnam trip based on tripadvisor reviews, and were definitely not disappointed with this one.

First of all, the check-in and general level of service was exceptional. Friendly, quick, and sometimes even anticipating exactly what we wanted. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the area, helped us book a perfect private tour of the various tombs and the Citadel offering tips on how to make the tour perfect, and booked us a car to Hoi An when we left, which itself turned into a bit of sightseeing thanks to their tips.

The room was on the top floor, huge windows looking over the city, and the feature point of the room was a big round jacuzzi tub. Our only complaint was that the room was a bit damp and musty smelling when we arrived, but opening up the windows took care of that pretty quick. The room had everything we needed except maybe a clock, and a very comfortable big round bed.

For this price range I'd highly recommend the Honeymoon Suite.

  • Liked — Amazing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The Orchid Hotel is amazing. We were welcomed by name when we arrived, and after that, each employee who greeted us knew not only our name, but our room number as well. Hotel personnel are gracious, accommodating, and helpful. Our room on the 6th floor was elegant, with a beautiful view of the river. There are two elevators, with very little waiting for a lift, and the lobby has two computers with Internet access for the convenience of guests. The breakfast buffet has a tremendous selection of Asian and Euro-American dishes, including rice pancakes, spring rolls, various pastries, many fresh fruits, breads, and hot dishes, juices, tea and coffee. Hotel staff are eager to help with any of your travel plans, and a driver is available to take you to specific local destinations at a minimal cost. We will book the Orchid again whenever we return to Hue.

  • Liked — elegance
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BakerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

We had really high hopes for this hotel after all we had read on trip advisor, but its definitely worth re-addressing the balance with all the rave reviews.

Primarily when we arrived they had given our reserved double room to another couple (despite us booking 2 months in advance) but swiftly reassured us that they had 'upgraded' us to a family room. We were a little suspicious and were right to be because it was the dampest room I have ever slept in. The sheets were actualy soggy to the touch and there was a horrible smell of damp throughout the whole room (the other couple clearly hadnt wanted to stay in this room - hence them getting our room i expect). On the plus side it was spacious with nice bathroom, but the dampness was just horrible.

We also booked a trip to the DMZ (demilitarised zone) through the hotel which I would strongly advise against as it was TERRIBLE. We were out and about for 10 hours, about 9 of which were spent on a rickety old bus. The guide had terrible pronuciation of english words and we couldn't understand anything she said, which obviously affects the trip. Also, whenever we got to any 'sites' we were told we had '5 mins' to look around! after being on a coach for 3 hours or so! Ridiculous. If you want to do the DMZ please avoid doing so through the Orchid.

On the plus side the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast offered was ok - if you can ignore the stale bread.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank c0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcutar, Granada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Stayed for 3 nights in February. Staff are superb and room was exactly like the photos on the website - excellent and clean. Good breakfast and cheap rates for what you get - would recommend to anyone.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank dephil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

This is a fantastic place to stay and an incredible deal. The location is excellent, lots of restaurants in the area (although some were too westernized and touristy). You can walk to the Perfume River Boats (10 minutes) & market (15 minutes). Motos and taxis were readily available near the hotel. The room was very nice, with air conditioning, shower & bath tub, TV with DVD player and DVD’s available free in the lobby, in-room safe, mini-bar, and clothes line. There are two computers in the lobby with free internet. The included breakfast was great with a large variety of food including meat, eggs, breads, fruits. It had western and local foods.

The service at The Orchid was unbelievable! The staff was very attentive without being overbearing. They arranged all taxies and airport transportation for us. They gave good local advice. If you sat in the lobby more then 5 minutes a cop of tea would appear before you. They staff was very helpful and the fruit in our room was nice touch.

Our total bill for two nights/two people including breakfast, laundry, 1 meal and airport transportation was 84U$. If you are in Hue, stay here!

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Hotel was centrally located with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Bedrooms were spacious and included a DVD player [DVD's available to borrow from reception]. Our first room was a little musty but, the next day, we were moved to a room on a higher floor which was much better. Free internet access in reception - staff providing glasses of water whilst people used the computers. Hotel arranged a city tour for us; a good way to see the main sights if your time in Hue is limited. Basic breakfast included. Good pizzas nearby. Good massage available next door.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whakaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
0.4 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 120 in Hue
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.1 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ORCHID HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ORCHID HOTEL

Property: ORCHID HOTEL
Address: 30A Chu Van An, Hue 47000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ORCHID HOTEL 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Hotel Hue is a popular choice amongst travelers in Hue, whether exploring or just passing through. Each guestroom is elegantly furnished and equipped with handy amenities. The hotel offers various recreational opportunities. Orchid Hotel Hue combines warm hospitality with a lovely ambiance to make your stay in Hue unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ORCHID HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Hotel Hue
Orchid Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing