We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, friendly, (if somewhat slow) service”
Review of Ngoc Huong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Huong Hotel
Ranked #94 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Ngoc Huong is a three-star hotel that is pretty well-located on the new part of town. The Perfume River is a short walk away, though if you are trying to get to the Citadel, I strongly recommend taking a taxi. It's pretty central to where most other tourists are.

The rooms are ok, and while some of them have jacuzzi looking tubs, they don't exactly work like jacuzzis. Some of my fellow travelers had problems with their showers/A/C etc, but everything worked fine in my room. There is also a small pool on the 8th floor, though that's only accessible by the elevator that's outside the building (the glass elevator).

There are several things that I really like about the restaurant. 1) They have an excellent breakfast spread. We were here for almost a month, but we didn't get bored with the selection available. 2) The view from the breakfast area is pretty breathtaking. There's nothing like sitting up on the 7th floor at 6 am, and watching Vietnam wake up, while having your breakfast. 3) The staff are very friendly.

We did have one major problem - the wifi did not work. And while the staff here are wonderful people, our repeated pleas for them to get the wifi fixed seemed to have fallen upon deaf ears. So that's a bummer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great hotel. Breakfast was ridiculously big never saw so many choices for breakfast all very good, plus views from the restaurant were superb. Room was big with a lovely bathroom and balcony. Spotlessly clean and the laundry service was quick and very cheap. Staff were very courteous. Hotel is in a great spot for visiting the citadel and our room had a fab view of the bridge at night lit up. Pool on the roof is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike1-Sharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

First impressions: Nice, decent, family-owned, multi-storied hotel. Averaging 40-55 GBP pp per night, it's a tad overpriced among its peers for its 3-star rating. (Some hotel booking websites offer a 50% discount.) Grade A-minus.

Pros: Though situated close to the outskirts of Hue, it is still within walking distance to Thuan An Beach, Dong Ba market and the Old Imperial City. The presence of a rooftop pool, though small, doesn't hurt either. (It is more a wading pool, rather than a swimming pool of sorts.) Desk service is accommodating and friendly. They arranged for a motorcycle tour of Hue for me and my friends. Complimentary buffet breakfast is included.

Cons: Not exactly the hotel's fault, but the entire length of Le Loi Street is "littered" with taxi and motorcycle drivers who are loudly competing for your business.

Verdict: Nice place to stay. Adequate for a few nights but, for longer stays, there are better offers in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here twice, once a couple of years ago and more recently. It was lovely both times. quite, good and professional service. A family owned hotel.
Amazing pool on the roof is a bonus after along hot day wandering around.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

well placed for walking to market, museums, hidden city, river and good restaurants - friendly staff, computers in reception, we never found the pool ... room was spaciouis and clean and had everything you could need, breakfast was excellent the first day of 2, and ok the next. not sure re value as it was booked as part of our tour but looking at prices coming up, price seems reasonable. wld happily go back there

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_s51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stay there 3 days during my trip to VietNam. It has well location in Hue business center, we use to walk to Dong Ba market from here. For a 3 star hotel, it's very well done with friendly staff looking over cleaned room and pretty good breakfast. They are friendly, enthusiastic and always ready to give the us the best information. Good value for money,I'd like to recommend this hotel for other traveller in Hue. Thank you Ngoc Huong

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVinciit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Basic and clean. Location is right in the centre, short walk to the 'Huong' river & 'Trang Tien' bridge. Average room with balcony. Best part is breakfast with a good selection of Vietnamese dishes, served on the top floor with panoramic view of the river. Helpful and professional staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hue hotels
3.3 mi away
Pilgrimage Village
Pilgrimage Village
#12 of 124 in Hue
2,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 124 in Hue
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#10 of 124 in Hue
2,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
ORCHID HOTEL
ORCHID HOTEL
#8 of 124 in Hue
2,436 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Huong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Huong Hotel

Address: 8-10 Chu Van An, Phu Hoi, Hue City, Hue, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: £20 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ngoc Huong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Hue city, Ngoc Huong Hotel has 71 airy rooms that are well equipped with every facility you will need, and free Wi-Fi access. Most of the rooms have balconies or windows from which you can enjoy great views of the mysterious Perfume (Huong) River and the poetic city. A most interesting experience in Ngoc Huong can be enjoyed during a tranquil morning in the 7th-floor restaurant. From this floor, you can breathe in fresh air while admiring the splendid panorama of the Perfume River, Con Hen and Ngu Binh Mountain. You can chat over a cup of coffee with friends or taste the various kinds of Hue and Vietnamese food, tropical fruits, and some European dishes as well. Ngoc Huong is also a wonderful place to discover the attractions of the Huong River at night when the colorful lights of Trang Tien Bridge can be appreciated. You can also bathe in the outdoor swimming pool on the 8th floor and you may also like to sunbathe. From here you can, as well, take great photos of the beautiful, harmonious surroundings of the river and the mountains. Stay with us to feel you are no longer alone in an exotic and remote country because we are always by your side, at any time, on demand. We will do our best to do everything for you: no matter who you are, where you are from, we, the Ngoc Huong Hotel staff, become your friends. With our help and hospitality you will love this beautiful city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ngoc Huong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing