We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful local resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
My Khanh Tourist Village
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This is a beautifully designed resort in a town that is very basic. The majority of the guests are local so you get a true native experience. Its a fantastic place to rest for a few days or to use as a base to explore the area. The resort has a lovely swimming, a crocodile farm, pig racing and numerous historical artifacts (most likely reproductions but they add a nice cultural impact). Rooms are clean and typical standard for an Asian guesthouse - hard beds, no separate shower area in bathroom although bathrooms are large.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for My Khanh Tourist Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

This tourist resort was a wonderful mix of kitsch, bewilderment and discovery. Being in a Third World country we were very curious as to what we would be getting for the paltry sum of USD40 a night for two, breakfast inlcuded. Since so much was offered we were naturally on guard. It turned out to be quite a memorable experience.

The complex is surprisingly large. Like much of Vietnam, it was created with local know-how, materials and labor thus falls short of Western standards. A $500 a day resort this ain't !
Still, there are Flintstone-style bungalows, lush tropical grounds, exotic fruit plantations, a crocodile park even a pig-racing arena. There is nice looking pool but I question the water quality. There are tanks in the outdoor cooking area with all types of living and dead animals you can select for barbeques in addition to conventional fare. Overall the food was quite reasonable, comparable to what is served throughout Vietnam. At the rear of the complex is a former historical "manor-house" (for lack of a better word). The furnishings like the house are beautiful. A throwback to the colonial days of Indochine. The resort also has different demonstrations, including traditional Vietnamese crafts such as the making of rice paper (for spring rolls.)

Our guide organised with the front desk to lend us some bicycles as the area just outside the complex is truly National Geographic material. The whole region is sourrounded by canals, rivers and islands. We cycled on narrow paths (one to two meters wide) which serve as the "roads"... used by pedestrians, bicycles and scooters. We felt we were living in a a past century. Simple houses, lush greenery and water everywhere. The locals were friendly and respectful of us, as we were of them. This cycling trip was one of the highlights of our trip.

The My Khanh complex fronts on the Mekong river from where we took a pre-dawn boat ride. We saw the sun rise over the Mekong as the river people prepared for the floating markets. As I said, this is National Geographic material.

I would highly recommend this region and the My Khanh resort for anyone who is travelling to discover exotic surroundings. For those people who have expectations of being pampered in a 5-star luxury facility, pull out your wallets (you cheap [--]) and go to Club Med instead.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tom_in_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

An agent booked this as part of an overnight trip to the Mekong Delta from HCMC. It was a disappointment. The agent (Topas Adventures) referred to the "nice bungalows" in the "resort" in their description - so we expected more than we got.
In fact, it was pretty basic and a "tourist village" intended for Vietnamese families - only up to one or two star Western tourist standards.
Our bungalow ("first class" on their list - there was one category above this and several below ...) was small but reasonably clean (dust behind the bed), with dated furniture and fittings (even the electrical plugs were the old style) and some lights didn't work. I was suprised to see it priced similarly (USD45) to MUCH better hotels in Hoi An. The bathroom was small and basic - the "shower" is an attachment in the wall which wets the entire bathroom when you use it. There's no hairdryer and only VNese stations on the TV.
The restaurant is a nice idea - an "island" eating area. But the water around it is brown and fetid looking, although the fish in it suggest it does support life. The food was fine, but there was only beer and soft drink - no wine.
The night we were there we were literally driven out of the restaurant by the incessant din of an angle-grinder smoothing marble for the renovations to the nearby main buildings (this was DURING dinnertime on a Saturday night). When we raised it with the manager, he said he thought the workmen would finish by 9pm (!!) - absolutely no comfort to us.
The village is in faux safari park style, with the bungalows painted with tacky "jungle" detail. The tourist village has a dusty, damp feel about it. However, it is over the road from the river, which was lovely at sunset, and there are orchards behind it where exotic fruits grow. There is a swimming pool (although we didn't use it). Nearby the small My Khanh town is a destination for a walk and has a small market, but no particular appeal otherwise. Can Tho is about 10kms.
As far as Western tourists are concerned, I would recommend this place as basic backpacker standard only.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Naly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cảnh thơ mộng
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 724phong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hoevihh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean-Yves L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mekong Delta hotels
3.3 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#3 of 46 in Can Tho
72 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
0.2 mi away
An Binh Hotel
An Binh Hotel
#22 of 127 in Can Tho
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nguyen Shack Can Tho
Nguyen Shack Can Tho
#2 of 77 in Can Tho
560 reviews
2.8 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
315 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Khanh Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Khanh Tourist Village

Address: 335 D Lo Vong Cung | Phong Dien District, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Mekong Delta
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — My Khanh Tourist Village 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your My Khanh Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Khanh Tourist Village Hotel Mekong Delta
My Khanh Tourist Village Vietnam/Mekong Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing