We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, nothing special”

Backpackers House Nha Trang
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers House Nha Trang
Reviewed 6 March 2014

4 of us stayed here 3 nights in a 4 person "family room."

There was 1 functioning outlet in the room, high on the wall with nothing under it to hold what you are charging. There were zero hooks in the bedroom/bathroom to hang things on (towels, bathing suits, clothes).

The included breakfast was alright, but nothing to rave about. Other hostels in Vietnam had provided us with free water, there was no free water here.

The beds are very hard.

Room Tip: The family room has an attached tea room where staff comes in the morning, and their voices definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

The location of this hostel is good, only a two minute walk from the bars in the area. Mostly it is clean although there are way two many people sharing a bathroom and a toilet and the mixed 6 bed dorm that we stayed in was very cramped and reminded us a little of a prison cell.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Located in a great spot in Nha Trang, on the main backpackers street so within walking distance to all bars and restaurants.
It was also a 5 min walk to the beach which was great. The bathroom was a bit strange, with the shower being in the same space as the toliet, meaning once a shower was had, the whole bathroom was drenched, making using the toliet afterwards difficult. But for US$7 a night it was good value, and staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_92aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Backpacker's House was OK. We stayed in a ten-bed dorm. The rooms were clean and the beds were actually the most comfortable we'd slept in so far. Our dorm had no functioning light and we had no control over the air con which chilled the room far too much. Our hot water didn't work either but we could use another dorms shower which had hot water. Another gripe was the one power outlet for the whole room, everyone had to share.The social aspect is good as there is a popular bar attached to the property although it disallows the light-sleeper to have a good night's rest. The let downs were the staff who were resentful and unhelpful and the failure to maintain the facilities such as the lights, hot water, locks on doors etc. Overall I wouldn't stay here again, but it was reasonable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jake_ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights without any reservation. The staff members were nice and helpful. The Backpackers House is very well located : near to the beach, restaurants and bars. Prices are correct for the double rooms and breakfast is free (but not copious !).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at the Backpacker House for two nights (reluctantly - as I had already booked for 2). I arrived at around 5:30 - 6:00 am due to an early bus from Hue and had booked a dorm room here from a recommendation from another traveller. I booked into the female dorm and when I arrived (by a grumpy staff member who didn't speak much English) was taken into a room off of another form full of sleeping blokes. The room I was shown had 4 beds and seemed clean (although clearly not a female dorm) however when the guy left the room I realised the air con was not working. I went back downstairs (though the room of men) to ask him to turn it on. He came back up and pressed some buttons and left again. It still wasn't working so back I went and asked why I couldn't stay in the female dorm as booked and he said they were doing work in there - could have told me this from the start! I wasn't too bothered about staying in a mixed dorm but needed air con so asked to move rooms. He showed me to another room off of the same dorm with the sleeping guys. This room seemed OK and I was so tired that I couldn't be bothered to argue anymore! The room shared the bathroom with the dorm attached and it was filthy. The floor was soaking with dirty water and a dirty towel on the floor by the toilet.
I thought this may change once cleaned but figured throughout the day (after the cleaners had been and gone a couple of times) that the toilet was broken and leaking.

I was annoyed because the staff made me feel like I was kicking up a fuss, when in my opinion they were offering poor service

The breakfast was included in the $7 room price so I guess for that cheap you can't expect too much, but would have been nice to have a clean bathroom, been informed when trying to book that the female dorm was unavailable, and some friendlier staff. I would definitely not recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Nha Trang!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you really nowhere else can get more space, not on the beach or on the street, even go to this place. I stayed here for a week, the cleaners say anything, receptionists do not speak English and the restaurant prices are too high. the steps in this building are impossible if you have a disability and if you climb the stairs with your backpack you will not be helped. Certainly not a good idea to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonas Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#34 of 214 in Nha Trang
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpack Hostel
Backpack Hostel
#6 of 211 in Nha Trang
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
iHome Nha Trang
iHome Nha Trang
#3 of 311 in Nha Trang
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mojzo Dorm
Mojzo Dorm
#1 of 211 in Nha Trang
315 reviews
183.7 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 214 in Nha Trang
1,343 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vinpearl Nha Trang Resort
Vinpearl Nha Trang Resort
#20 of 214 in Nha Trang
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers House Nha Trang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers House Nha Trang

Address: 54G Nguyen Thien Thuat Str | Tan Lap Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Nha Trang
Price Range: £3 - £5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers House Nha Trang 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker's Nha Trang is located 400 metres from Nha Trang Beach and is in the heart local nightlife. Bicycle rentals, Motor bikes and all your tour needs are offered along with WIFI throughout. We have a bar and a BBQ going seven days a week so its a great place to start your night! Fitted with bunk beds, each dormitory room offers air conditioning and private bathroom! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Backpackers House Nha Trang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers House Hotel Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing