We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Lanterns Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a Half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience and a must do for someone looking for variety to their trip to Nha Trang and something a little different. It involves travelling to the local market in a cyclo, a guided tour of the marketplace, where people get involved in learning about the local food and buying the ingredients for your meals. You then return to the restaurant where you prepare 3 dishes as chosen by the guests and of course enjoy eating what you have prepared.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Reasonable value for $25 US. The 5 hour course was only 3 hours but Nam was our chef and she was cool.Just the wife and I on this course and we were more than happy. We are now back in Sydney with a full supply of Pork stock, fish sauce but No Frogs - lol... the frog was actually awesome taste ! We wish Nam and her Swiss friend all the best and hope she visits Sydney soon :) Greg and Laura .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieRicho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loads of fun”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great way to have a bit of fun for a few hours and learn about local foods. The trip to the market on the cyclo was a giggle and we wouldn't have done it by ourselves. Nam who taught us today was excellent and very patient with our questions. The food we cooked was basic but a good introduction to Vietnamese cooking. The market was a great feast for the eyes and we took back frogs and duck egg embryos as well at my husbands request. The frogs are killed in front of you so if that is likely to upset you beware. Wear closed shoes as the market floor gets a bit mucky. The restaurant and facilities are very clean. We did fresh spring rolls, a hot pot with meat of our choice and a flambéed desert. Of course Nam cooked my husbands egg for him and the poor frog got added to our hotpot but he was very tasty! It's hot in the restaurant so wear light clothes. Great fun for around 1m dong for two including a beer, the cyclos and a gift bag with a recipe book and utensils. Thanks to Nam for an interesting morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gibraltarwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun classes and tours”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We went on the food tour, Village tour and a cooking class. The food tour was really good, got to try a lot of different food and there was sufficient food. The village tour is organised by one of the staff there and was a nice touch. It wasn't one of the glammed up village tours, you do actually eat at her family home, in the living room coffee table and eat what they normally will. It is a nice simple meal. The toilet is literally a hole in the ground - so very local. The cooking class is nice but like some people say it is more a demonstration class? It might be cause I am use to private cooking classes where you cut everything and cooking everything yourself.

Well worth it and lots of fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank aibi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

all the reviews about this cooking class are true. it was fun to see and learn how to prepare some Vietnamese dishes. highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Peterh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Read all the great reviews below, then just book this. You will not be sorry, it was just wonderful. Cyclo ride amazing, markets like nothing in the western world, and wonderful food cooked easily. A highlight of our stay in beautiful Nha Trang!!! Would highly recommend to all!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gkjac0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanterns Cooking Class also viewed

 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing