We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just alright”
Review of The Summer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summer Hotel
Ranked #31 of 215 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is ideally situated in the Middle of Nha Trang. Our room was on the first floor and noisy from the sound of the dining room. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room smelled damp and had a few random cockroaches there. Nothing infested but a little off putting.
Overall it was a cheap hotel and if it wasn't for the hotel staff it would have been quite disappointing.
The majority of visitors to Nha trang were Russian so there is definitely a language barrier and sense of aggressiveness and arrogance.

Room Tip: Stay at least a over the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned to The Summer Hotel and absolutely enjoyed our stay of 9 nights in two rooms.

Considering the reasonable room rates the rooms were nice and spacious, equipped with safes and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of local and international cuisine. The very friendly and efficient staff all over the hotel headed by Phuong Uyen were always at our service with the typical Vietnamese smiles. The housekeeping team take a lot of pain to see that rooms are spotlessly clean and amenities replenished.

Little gestures like lending towels for day trips, use of the swimming pool and showers for early and late check-ins is much appreciated.

If you’re looking for a decent place in a central location, look no further. Its 5 minutes (walk) away from the pristine Nha Trang beach and close to restaurants and bars.

We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Premium rooms on the higher floors with city and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombaybabu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for few nights found the bar good with pool beside with good view, free pool table,books but expect to pay 2-3 times street price for drink, definitely one of the best buffets I have been to in Vietnam to date! I will agree with other guests that the halls are very noisy from other guests in halls!.. Maybe get rid of the paper doors with glass! Rooms are spacious and clean! Only for noise would give it 5/5

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked a week here over Tet and paid more for the room. When we arrived the receptionist said the city room we had booked was noisey and she had a quieter room for us, they did but it had no external window.
The reception staff did not have great English and this was a problem on a few occasions when we needed answers.
Breakfast was OK, not brilliant for vegetarians.
Room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom did have a few insects in there on an evening.
We enjoyed the roof top pool.
We were woken up a few times with noisey other guests.
They wanted to take our passports off us and the only way we could stop it was to pay in advance.
We had washing done a few times always came back on time and smelling good.
Checking out took a while as we had to wait whilst the maid checked the room to see if we had broken or stolen anything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Nice hotel but some rooms have no window. Good value with nice brekkie. Room clean and comfy but no carpets and high ceilings so noise reverberates. We got unlucky with noisy guests in the next room. Sleeping past 5:30am wasn't possible. Rooftop pool is OK but not much space around the edge for loungers. Friendly staff who were all very helpful. Free room safe was nice too. We have found hotel beds in Asia to usually be on the firm side. This was the same here. The reception keep you passports for the duration of your stay and also pre-charge your credit card. When booking use a card that doesn't incur charges.

Room Tip: Go high so no noisy guests above you. Check the room has windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike911EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We found this hotel on tripadvisor and went there directly to ask if they have a room and what would be price. They offered us a very good price for a room without window. I was a bit sceptical, but when I saw it, I said - that's it, this is a good deal. Comfortable room and bathroom (better that some european 4* hotels), very friendly staff and excelent breakfast (one of the beast breakfasts that we had in Vietnam: pho, exotic fruits, warm meals, jam and butter, cereals, vietnameese cuisine...). The hotel is situated two paralel streets from the beach (5 minutes) and some of the good restaurants are in the same street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cochon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My Mum and I just stayed at the Summer Hotel for the past 3 nights. We had originally booked for only 2 nights, but ended up requesting an additional night as our plans had changed. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, ensuring our changes were accommodated.

We arrived early, as we took the overnight train from HCMC. Although we were much too early for check-in (6am) the staff brought us hot tea and stored our bags until our room was available.

The room itself was spacious and clean, with quality linens. The breakfast buffet every morning was excellent with a great range of options. All in all, the staff at the Summer Hotel went above and beyond.

What made our stay 'amazing' rather than just 'excellent' was what happened on our last day. We were walking to the Thap Ba Spa and got mugged by purse-snatchers on a motorbike. We took a taxi back to the hotel and the staff took incredible care of us. They took us into their office, called the police and helped us fill out the forms. They then had their Asst Mgr accompany us to the police department and act as an interpreter. Without her assistance, there is no way we would have gotten through the 2 hour ordeal at the police station. They took us over to the station, translated all our forms into Vietnamese for us and ensured the police had all the details. We also realized later that they had taken care of the taxi costs and have listed themselves as a contact point so that the police can reach us through them. The owner of the hotel was there assisting us, as was her incredible staff, and every single one of them was simply incredible in what was a horrible situation.

We loved Nha Trang and this hotel is fantastic. We would recommend them without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amisat112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
Galliot Hotel
Galliot Hotel
#25 of 215 in Nha Trang
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Paradise Hotel
Asia Paradise Hotel
#51 of 215 in Nha Trang
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#13 of 215 in Nha Trang
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#37 of 215 in Nha Trang
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
TriStar Hotel
TriStar Hotel
#38 of 215 in Nha Trang
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Golden Hotel
Hanoi Golden Hotel
#69 of 215 in Nha Trang
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Hotel

Address: 34 C-D Nguyen Thien Thuat Street | Tan Lap, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 215 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range: £25 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nha Trang, composed of 85 well appointed rooms, The Summer Hotel is the best 03 star hotel in Nha Trang The high speed internet access is free and available in all of our rooms and public area. The rooftop terrace and pool offers beautiful panoramic views of Nha Trang. All the rooms of The Summer Hotel have an ample living space which can be used either as a small office for business stays or as an extra bedroom for family stays. The ultra modern meeting and conference rooms of the hotel are perfect for seminars, presentations or commercial launches. Only 5 minutes walk from Nha Trang's shopping area and the beach, 40 minutes drive from Cam Ranh Airport. The Summer Hotel is the ideal place to do business and relax at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing