We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here - Dishonest Manager - Hotel Nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of MerPerle SeaSun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MerPerle SeaSun Hotel
Ranked #93 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here - Dishonest Manager - Hotel Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had booked this hotel for a long stay in Nha Trang and walked out after the first day even though they have our money. This hotel is owned by Han Tam Resort and Merpearle. Last year they sold us a prepaid package when we stayed at Hon Tam Island Resort. They told us the resort membership would let us stay there and at several luxury hotels in the Nha Trang area including the Vinpearl and Sunrise plus others. It turned out to be untrue. The only place they will let us stay is their Sun and Sea Hotel which is far far from a luxury hotel. It is a budget hotel and you can do far better for the price. They put us (2 adults and 2 children) is a small room with dirty carpet and told us we had to sleep in one queen plus a single roll in cot. We had to sleep three in one bed and the forth person at the end. The room was all bed and chairs. They already had our $4,500 US and the manager said if we didn't like it he would be happy to cancel our reservation.

Breakfast is supposed to be included but they would only give us for three. We had to get angry in the morning to get the fourth. It wasn't very good but that is minor. The manager (different person) met with us and said they would put us in the Havana for the night and they would pay for it. Its a nice new hotel. They would meet with us and try to resolve it. Well, we checked in to the Havana rooms they reserved for us. We had to give them our credit card because the Sun & Sea had not paid yet. An hour later at 8 pm the first Sun and Sea manager (the arrrogant one) called the hotel and our room to say they will not pay for it and that we had better hire a taxi and get back there. I rarely had been so upset. I cannot believe such a disgusting lack of integrity. I strongly discourage anyone from dealing with this hotel or Hon Tam or Merperle. I have never been so poorly treated and never so angered to write a hotel review before.

Room Tip: Run away. Any hotel would treat you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    16
    10
    16
See reviews for
30
49
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We usually stay at the Sunrise Hotel in Nha Trang, and a couple of times on VinPearl Island. Last year we wanted to try the Hon Tam Island Resort. We went there and were unfortunately hustled by their salespeople who made a lot of promises that turned out not to be really true. We bought a prepaid package with their Vacation Club because of the promises. Essentially they said if we bought a membership we could also use it to stay pretty much anywhere in the world for a small fee, but free at their resorts. They said it would get us into VinPearl and a number of other places near here. That turned out to be totally false. We're stuck with the Hon Tam and Sea & Sun. The Hon Tam could be nice but they have tried to save money and not maintained it. At best it is about a 3 star location. The rooms need work to be nice. The restaurant is terribly expensive. The fishing club is a not at all what I would call even something that you would want to do for more than 10 minutes. The beach is nice, though.

Getting on to the Sea & Sun. We were supposed to have a room for 2 adults and 2 children. They confirmed and said it had an extra bed for this. It turned out to be a tiny single bed so one of us is sleeping on the floor .... dirty carpet. The hotel says they have no more beds. The staff passes the problem off on the Resort Club. The Resort Club (same ownership) said they would look into it and get back. Her name was Truc. She didn't. The hallways are very hot as they aren't air conditioned. The rooms are pretty hot when you enter. The key card must be in or the AC shuts off. That's fine for North America but not for this climate. Leave your room for 10 minutes and it's very hot again and takes a long time to cool down. If you have asthma or suffer from heat, it would be a bad place to stay. The room could be nice but just like the resort, they need to spend a lot of money to renovate/refresh it.

To be fair, the fellow who brought our bags up was very nice. However, when the the desk manager learned of the problem and knew it was prepaid through the resort, his only reply was that he could cancel the reservation. When I asked him how that helps when they already had our money he didn't have anything to say. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place. You can easily do better in Nha Trang. We are not a fussy family but this is a let down. It certainly would disappoint most North American tourists.

Room Tip: The best room will be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nha Trang hotels

pratts bottom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here in April ,whilst travelling around Vietnam ,clean room ,breakfast ok ,good coffee ,but fab location to shops ,back packers bars ,etc little night market near by was good too ,the trips in Nha trang are also good too ,lots to chose from

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyPrattsBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked the " ocean view" room and was hugely disappointed upon check in. We had a stand on a particular spot at a particular angle to catch a glimpse of the ocean view.

The hotel was under renovation during our stay, so there is a temporary reception area with not much information. The hotel staff did not speak good English, it was almost impossible to communicate with them and they were extremely dismissive unless you give them a tip.

The room was atrocious, tacky yellow carpet was browned and sticky, the bathroom was separated from the sleeping area with a thin piece of glass, the shower was not enclosed.

Breakfast was poor quality and there were no food left after 9am

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said.....OK, large room and comfortable bed with safe in wardrobe. Good bathroom - spoiled by consistently lukewarm water (and that's being generous) plus a complete absence of soap (why??). The aircon worked - almost. Don't pay the extortionate charges for laundry here either - walk a few minutes to Hung Vuong St and take your pick (23,000 Dong per kilo for same day service). The view from our room was the building site next door - we weren't disturbed by the noise from here as we were out from early morning 'till late afternoon. However, from 9pm until the early hours, the loud techno music from the sailing club across the road was a real nusiance. Not helped by very poor window glazing and the fact that we could also hear the tv from the room next door. Thank God for earplugs!! Buffet breakfast was interesting.....try to time your arrival so as not to coincide with the hordes of newly-moneyed Russians that stay here too - apparently no-one bothered to tell them that rumours of an impending famine were unfounded, or remind them that gluttony is really not attractive. Our stay here was part of a tour - so we had no say in the choice of hotel. Give this one a wide berth and find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long An Province, Vietnam
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Visted this hotel back in Jun 2012 but never got around to doing a review, untill now.
A family roup of us drove up from HCMC, staying at this hotel.
The room we had was shady, clean, well appointed and comfortable.
The views were of the sea and nha trang, we could see Vinapeal in the not too distance.
Room had a nice terrace.
The breakfast was excellant, just about everything you could want.
The hotel can arrange visits to Hon Tam Island resort which is a loverly spot and we enjoyed
our visit very much, lunch was included. It was not an expensive trip.
Very much considering another visit soon. Can recommend this hotel, okay there were a few
Russians about, why other reviews commented on this I dont know, they were not a problem.
No problems communicating with staff all was fine worth another visit.
Could find nothing 'negative' about the place so ignore those comment by other reviewers.

Room Tip: They are all good, but a 'side room' in the shade with a balcony and view of the on which V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Booked this hotel online based on score alone (and before reading reviews) silly me!

As many others have stated, this hotel is currently (as of Mar 2013) right next to a huge building site which starts work around 7am and finishes at around 10pm with the associated hammering and the grinding and the buzzing and the crashing and the smashing and the shouting (you get the picture?) Add to that the Sailing Club, which is just across the road and plays loud music till late most nights (3am and extra loud on a Saturday), this was not the relaxing weekend break that my girlfriend and I were looking for!

The hotel itself is looking a bit dated, with stained carpets and a somewhat tatty feel - although I suspect the owners are probably putting off any renovations until the building work next door is completed. The room (a superior suite) is a nice size with a balcony which overlooks the beach and the street, complete with two rocking chairs and a table. There is a big comfortable bed, flat screen TV, seating area, fridge etc. Everything you'd expect from a 'Best Western' I guess. The bathroom is ok with a large bathtub big enough for two, although the glass walls and sliding un-lockable door didn't really do it for me. Some of us do like a little bit of privacy!

The breakfast was pretty poor, with some very odd shaped meat items pretending to be sausages, a few bits of fruit and other random (but tasteless) breakfast items. Considering the obvious disruption from next door and the state of the hotel, this is yet another nail in the coffin. If we're not going to get a good nights sleep at least gives us a good breakfast in the morning hey?

Staff were ok but not particularly helpful or friendly. A request for 'ear-plugs' received no help at all, even though it was explained by my Vietnamese girlfriend. Again, if they know noise is going to be an issue, at least provide a solution?

Other amenities include a pool on the roof which is ok, although again marred by the building work, the restaurant which we didn't frequent given the quality of the breakfast, a karaoke room which we avoided and the spa which again didn't really float our boat either. Oh and there is a KFC located on the ground floor, not sure wether that is a good thing or a bad thing?

Over all very disappointing experience, completely overpriced given the current conditions. Perhaps in another 12 months when the building work is finished and they've modernised a bit, including double glazing to keep the noise from the Sailing Club out it might be a decent hotel but right now DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: if you're going to stay here ask for one as far away from the building work as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.2 mi away
Asia Paradise Hotel
Asia Paradise Hotel
#53 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#27 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#104 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alana Nha Trang Beach Hotel
Alana Nha Trang Beach Hotel
#19 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azura Hotel
Azura Hotel
#60 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Hotel Nhatrang
Green Hotel Nhatrang
#52 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MerPerle SeaSun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MerPerle SeaSun Hotel

Property: MerPerle SeaSun Hotel
Address: No. 2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MerPerle SeaSun Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MerPerle SeaSun Hotel is an ideal destination, located at the heart of one of the most beautiful seaside city, Nha Trang. Just five minute walk down to enjoy stunning scenery of the beach. This ten story hotel offers you panoramic views of both city and ocean. Our 80 well-equipped, spacious rooms will make your stay a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your MerPerle SeaSun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing