We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and active day out ”

Funky Monkey - Day Tours
Ranked #32 of 116 Tours in Nha Trang
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and active day out ”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Travelling through Vietnam with my mum and two sisters (we're all in our twenties) and we had two full days in Nha Trang. We originally planned to spend the days relaxing by the beach but liked the sound of the boat trip that was offered by our hotel. We were picked up early in the morning and although there were families with young children, couples and older tourists, the tour guides ensured everyone was having fun! Additional activities eg diving were optional and plenty of fun was had without them (snorkling, jumping from the boat into the sea). A tasty lunch was provided and there was entertainment on the boat after lunch which got all guests involved! All in all a great day trip and well worth the price

Helpful?
Thank Thustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    9
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looking for a party boat? Not here”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this trip by our hostel. it was sold as a party boat. When we got on the bus it was a ton of vietnamese tourists with young children + lots of russians...with their children.

The reason I give 4 stars is for the effort that staff tries to make to make it fun when they realize its not what you cane for. They offered beer, lively music, dancing, singing, a floating bar, and even some off-color jokes to try and lighten the atmosphere.

Might just be luck of the draw with who is on your boat, but I've heard this is a common occurence. Best of luck.

Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a great time on this tour! Is really fun and the staff are hilarious! Absolutely worth going!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank julialcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun day out, great staff!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a blast on this trip. For just $10 they pick you up from your hotel, take you to an aquarium first (optional) and then cruise to three islands where you can swim and snorkel if you like. The trip is super organised and the staff (especially Tu and Bao) are really enthusiastic in making sure everyone is having a good time.

The food is good, a little cold but still good and lots of it! Was a feast of all sorts and the veg soup was delicious!

Tiger cans are 20,000D so they are not too overpriced. The entertainment from the staff is brilliant and so funny. Tu asks a person from each country on the boat to get on stage and sing a song haha!

If you want a cheap and cheerful trip and don't have high expectations of it being a 'booze cruise' I would definitely recommend it. It's a great day out!!

Thanks to all the staff for making our day very enjoyable! Especially Tu and Bao. Emily & Mum :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great tour, entertaining and helpful staff!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had heard and read so much about this Funky Monkey boat cruise that we just had to try it. $10 will fetch you hotel transfers, lunch, boat cruise, 4 island stops, snorkelling, live entertainment by the crew, free cocktails at happy hour…all this covered in a 8 hour cruise (from the pick-up to drop off time). Some travel guide books have been advertising this as a booze cruise, but don't be fooled by the pictures and the literal wording of the cruise name - they do serve you liquor, but its chargeable, except for the floating bar during Happy Hour where they offer you unlimited cocktails!

We started at 8:30am. The drive to the harbour from the city centre is barely 10 minutes. Our first stop was the aquarium, which is really not worth it. The aquarium seemed decently managed, but the variety of fish inside is poor, the condition of their tanks were terrible and overall, this was not a good experience. The next 3 stops included snorkelling, lunch by a floating seafood restaurant and swimming / chill time on a beach. In between all of this, the crew ensures guests were entertained and having a good time, by putting on a show involving musical equipment made from kitchen appliance! I think all the guests appreciated it tremendously that the crew had taken the effort to learn popular songs from each country, so as to make the entertainment act as interactive as possible. This was followed up by a Happy Hour floating bar; which really was the highlight. Everyone jumped into the water and gathered around one of the crew members, who sat in the middle of a circular float that doubled as a bar! The drinks were not potent, so don't worry - there was no risk! Mr. Bao, who was the chief guide on the boat, was very nice, friendly, interactive and fun!

Overall, this was a super fun trip…and highly recommended to anyone visiting Nha Trang, Its the best way to explore Nha Trang and its surroundings…as well as meet young people holidaying at the same time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funky Monkey - Day Tours also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Funky Monkey - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing