We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Vietnamese standpoint”

Long Thanh Photo Studio
Ranked #22 of 107 things to do in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Long Thanh's photographic repertoire is unique as its wide-ranging. His landscapes are often moody, contrasting the natural beauty of Vietnam with the continuing struggle in people's daily lives, while Long Thanh's portraiture captures the essence of the Vietnamese people, especially his high-contrast pictures of old people who have witnessed more than their fair share of tradegy over the generations.
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Vietnamese standpoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

B&W snapshots of Vietnamese daily life. An impressive collection of photos that really catches "the essential soul peeking out", to say it with McCurry. The attraction I liked the most in Nha Trang.
Free entrance, DON'T MISS!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ElioR_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A glimmer of light!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Mister Long's Gallery is worth seeing, his pictures are culturally and artistically interesting and visually and emotionally beautiful. He is a very friendly man. I spent about two hours with him, having a very nice conversation. To be honest, it is the only thing at all that I can recommand other tourists in Nha Trang - and I recommand it warmheartedly for everyone who is interested in arts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 12345Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The exhibition did not seem commercial as some of the pictures were standing on the floor, the titles were written by hand and during our visit there were no other tourists/visitors. However, this was not disturbing at all, it created a non stiff environment and together with the music, the ambiance was wonderful. Moreover, the pictures were very strong and beautiful. The fact they were taken with an old-fashioned black and white camera makes the images even more impressive through their simplicity. There were no further discriptions with the pictures, but Long Thanh was there to answer all of our questions. Most of the pictures speak for themselvers and show the Vietnamese in their daily routines. Most impressive for me was the picture of the grandfather with his grandson, there naked skin touching each other n their contrastfull hug. Altogether, a beautiful place worth a short visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank meer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genius! Amazing pictures but more amazing person”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We met Lonh thanh having a coffee in a french restaurant and had an amazing conversation with him. He offered us to go to his gallery and watch his pictures knowing that we didn't have money to spend. Once we went there we saw that the pictures were breathtaking, capturing pure expresions of vietnamese faces and culture. We ended up spending three hours with him having a bottle of wine and enjoying our time. These three hours were priceless. He is a true artist and very openminded.

Helpful?
2 Thank dasalacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A VALUABLE VIEW OF VIETNAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

A visit to Long Thanh's studio was a highlight of my 2 week Vietnam vacation. His evocative b&w photos show an aspect of this lovely country which can easily be missed by the tourist. He uses his photography skills and experience to expertly and sympathetically capture tradtional scenes and people. His use of only natural lighting is brilliant and adds character to his subjects. I spent a long time in the studio looking at his photos and at no time was under any pressure from his charming wife to purchase a print. I eventually bought 2 prints and am pleased with the quality of the paper, Long Thanh's signature on the back of each one and the expert wrapping of both. If you're visiting Vietnam, visit his website first; and if you're in Nha Trang visit his studio.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Thanh Photo Studio also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Long Thanh Photo Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing