We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exactly what it says on the tin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TriStar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TriStar Hotel
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Nether Heyford
Level Contributor
131 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wife and I stayed here during a two night stop over, hotel was excellent. Staff helpful, rooms and all of hotel extremely clean in all areas. Room WIFI best in Asia so far. AC great and the standalone shower was very hot.

We were on the 7th floor and it was very quiet.

Rooms and towels cleaned daily

Room Tip: Is hotel sits on a quiet road so I am sure all rooms the same. We stayed in 702, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    106
    39
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
136
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great:
Nice room! The view in family room was pretty great, and there is a big balcony! Breakfast was good but too little for me.

Poor:
1) I made a reservation before one month for a deluxe family room for 2 nights. When I check in, a lady in reception desk said the window of our family room was broken, they need to fix it so ask us changing to superior room at first night. When we opened the door of superior room, we found that the room was small and only has a little window which can see nothing. Therefore, we went to reception once again, to ask if we could see the broken window family room, maybe the broken part it's not a big deal for us. However, the man said they had rent the room to other customers! Don't know if the room was really broken or not, but made us feel not be respected!

2} At first day morning, the fire ring started ringing at 5:00am. All the guests were woke up, but found that it was just mis-touching by their staff.

3) We asked if the motorbike could be rent by hours since we only needed for a dinner. Lady A in the morning said yes, the price was 10,000VND/hour. However, when we wanted to rent it out for a dinner, Lady B in the evening said we could only rent for half-day, which was 60,000VND. Though the amount was quite small, I just felt not happy for their bad communication.

Conclusion: Never stay in this hotel again, there are still so many choices in Nha Trang.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe or family room, then you can enjoy big windows and nice sunshine. Deluxe room in 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a really nice stay at this hotel. It is very clean, modern, new. The rooms are large, bathrooms great. Furniture is lovely beds are big and not too hard. And a big TV mounted on the wall! Breakfast is small but very nice food. Staff are fantastic, very friendly and very helpful. It is a quiet location in Nha Trang, not a very long walk from the beach itself, but a bit longer walk to the hustle and bustle tourist part. So if you want a good night's sleep, this is a good place for you!

My only negative comment is we emailed that we'd like to be picked up from the airport by their transfer service to which they confirmed. When we arrived and found no one waiting for us, we called and were told they were unable to come and get us. Normally this wouldn't bother me too much only we had a young baby, arrived late at night, were exhausted after travelling all day, it was their NYE holiday time and the airport itself is quite small (I was expecting it to be bigger). So there wasn't a taxi in sight anywhere and and not even any cars coming or going. It was so deserted and dark I was beginning to worry about being able to make it to town. Finally a security person helped us get a taxi and we made it to the hotel. But the positiveness of everything else outweighed this start to our stay.

Room Tip: If you exit the hotel and walk away from the beach and up the to the roundabout, turn left and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a great, modern hotel that is a good price. While the room was pretty tiny, it was clean and had the feel of a nice new hotel. You can tell it's been made pretty cheaply - little bit of mould on the walls, paint marks everywhere - but I won't complain as the bed was so comfortable and the shower was the best I had in SE Asia! It's a handy five minute walk to the beach and has a nice free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I'm so glad we stayed at Tristar during our stay in Nha Trang. The staff are so helpful and friendly and can speak good English which isn't all that common in Vietnam. We asked about getting to Mui Ne and within 2 minutes, the receptionist had booked a bus for us. The rooms are very modern, clean and well equiped. There is a huge window in the room that looks out onto Nha Trang - so great views. The hotel is a brisk 5 minute walk to the beach, which isn't a problem as even the fanciest 5 starts aren't on the beach in the centre of Nha Trang. There's loads of choice for breakfast too which is included in the bill. It was so nice so have a nice cup of tea and eggs on toast. Cups of English tea are rare!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Tristar Hotel Nga Trang review

Tristar via agoda $35-45 per night.

Room #401

If your looking for a pool, buffet breakfast and location near beach, please look elsewhere .
If your looking for wonderful staff, modern architecture hotel with large rooms , please read on .

I booked airport pick up through Hotel receptionist Miss Trang for 300k($15). Don't pay any more. If there's an issue bring it up to the receptionist . It happened to me, but resolved

The Driver with name sign, was waiting as I exited the airport .
It's approximately. 45 min from airport to hotel .

Hotel check in was fast.
Hotel staff, "Trang and Tam"were very professional , humble an polite .

Rooms were spacious with 1 x queen and 1 x full size bed ; Flat screen tv with american channels, safety box, table with chair and lots of Standard wall plugs. The ceiling to floor windows were amazing and great for exhibitionist : p Bathrooms were equipped w/toilet tres except for shampoo and cond.
Rain shower heads had strong pressure (no soap holder).

Housekeeping were very honest and nice . I left a tip under the pillow and she places it back on the table thinking I have left it behind. It is rare to see such honesty . I made sure she was compensated. This goes with all the amazing staff.

Hotel Location :

Beach is 10 min walk ( u can rent beach chairs for under 10k dong(.50 cent ) .
Nha trang shopping center 10 min walk.
Motorbike rental are only for vietnamese nationals , but there are shops that will rent them to foreigners for 100k.
Seafood is the best across the bridge at "BO KE"restaurant or behind it(next street over).45 min walk.

Getting around :
Always use meter taxi's(30k or less around town).
Nha Trang closes at 10 pm and most Taxi's stop charging by meter. U would need To negotiate . Pay no more than 50-80k for around town .
Taxi's were very dishonest. U will be cheated a $$$ even with the meter running .

Food:

Com Tam Suon Que : mom and pops joint.
Location: 66 ngo Gia TU-DT: 0918263036
the best BBQ pork spare rib rice with homemade kimchee, fried eggs and broken rice .

Cuon Cuon 3/9 tran quang Khai
Fabulous Make it yourself spring rolls: shrimp,pork, beef.
Delicious salads and signature tamarind dishes
Awesome Owner that speaks English. She's super informative with local sites and activities in the area.

Nha trang Yen's (authentic vietnamese ).
Same Main Street as Cuon Cuon
Shrimp and pork Crepes fresh and tasty.
Slow cook spare ribs in clay pot sooo savory.
Fresh coconut drinks was refreshing.

Waterhole for a nice ice cold beer

Helpful website: http://wikitravel.org/en/Nha_Trang

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurants-g293928-Nha_Trang_Khanh_Hoa_Province.html

Check out trip advisor for more info

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoloJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 4 days/nights. Nice modern hotel, with design rooms, nice shower (solar heating so it takes a bit of getting used to it) and great view (we were on the top 10th floor). Very nice hotel staff. The owner arranged for our room to be ready around 9am as we were arriving very early. Very good prices for minibar and laundry. Nice breakfast. Good location, 700m away from train station and 400m away from beach (slightly away from the touristy area, which was a plus for us), everything else accesible by foot or a very short/cheap cab ride. We would definitively recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.8 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#30 of 189 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.3 mi away
VDB Nha Trang Hotel
VDB Nha Trang Hotel
#34 of 189 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#29 of 189 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Green Peace Hotel
Green Peace Hotel
#37 of 189 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#2 of 189 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TriStar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TriStar Hotel

Property: TriStar Hotel
Address: 3D Ly Tu Trong, Loc Tho Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TriStar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nha Trang Tristar Hotel with 2 star standard is located on one of the main roads of the downtown, about 1 km from train station and 35 minutes drive from Cam Ranh airport to the hotel. Furthermore, guests can only take 5 minutes walking to Nha Trang Beach. The 12- floor building hotel has Nha Trang city and beach views which are one of the most beautiful bays in the world. This will bring you the green ocean landscape and friendly, hospitable Nha Trang. Especially, with 39 rooms have windows or balconies overlooking the city and sea, you can enjoy and perfectly experience whenever having vocation or going business as well as kindly welcomed by our professional, enthusiasm staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your TriStar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing