We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs better management”
Review of TriStar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TriStar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 204 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Needs better management”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Newish hotel that's about 10 minutes to the beach. We took the smaller standard room but an extra $5 would get you a bigger room with a safe. As a new hotel, I didn't find any maintenance issues. But, housekeeping never replaced the complimentary coffee/tea (even though we told reception) and they did not offer free water bottles each day.
Breakfast was quick and provided quite a few items for us to select. Laundry was cheap and the wifi was the best so far in all my travels in Asia.
Overall, I wish my manager from our Hanoi or Hue hotel could visit here and train them to be better. At the moment it just meets my needs but could be so much more personal and attractive to the tourist. Oh, there is a funeral home next door that played annoying loud music for the first 2 days from early morning to late at night. First time I have ever come across this and may upset those who want to sleep in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OzTravellerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    116
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
147
29
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked this hotel because of all the reviews it got on tripadvisor. I booked a standard double room which was fairly expensive in comparison to other hotels I stayed in Vietnam. The room was new and in really good condition, the bathroom was beautiful and it had air-con (much needed), a TV and fridge, with snacks and drinks that could be purchased. The room was very small, there was room to walk around the bed but thats about it. I was on my own so it was fine but two people in this room might struggle. When I first arrived in my room it did have a bit of a musty smell but I either got used to this or it disappeared!

The hotel offered a good breakfast selection. It was the usual breakfast offered to tourists and was a good start to the day.

The staff were generally helpful but I did need to ask a few times for them to help with tours etc. I ended up booking tours through a shop in town who were a lot more helpful. We did struggle with communication on occasion but this is not something I would ever complain about as their English is a million time better than my Vietnamese! They did really help on one occasion when I was in desperate need of sun cream at 7:30am when no shops were open and I was being picked up to go cycling!

The location of this hotel was perfect for me. It was just out of the main tourist area and about two minutes to the beach which was beautiful. It is about a 10/ 15 minute walk into town which has some nice restaurants and cafes.

Nha Trang is quite touristy and is developing into a big holiday location in Vietnam. It is very popular but probably not somewhere I would return, but this is just personal choice. I am not the sort of person who will spend hours on the beach, there are a lot of adventure tours available in Nha Trang, which was a big positive for me.

Room Tip: A standard double room is quite small so its probably worth paying more for a bigger room if more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Quality rooms of great size and quality. We were in a superior room. Had a great window out the front, two beds and nice hot shower. Breakfast was very good but would have been better with a small fruit plate to go with your order. It is not buffet but from a list. That was fine but needed that little bit more. Overall, this is a very good hotel close to the Nha Trang Center. We tend to go to the Sailing Club and Lousianne often and it is a bit of a walk to there and the backpacker area. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room up top to get away from street noise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very good place to stay, very clean and convenient modern room. Walking distance from the beach and restaurants. The receptionist was very helpful and cheerful plus great breakfast. Staff were helpful in organising our travel and trips.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max-jo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

some other traveler recommended the hotel and we were not disappointed. it's clean and the rooms are modern. staff are friendly and helpful. its in the city centre just 5 minutes to the shopping center and to the beach. highly recommended!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mccorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room was nice and modern, what more, it was very quiet! Laundry service was great, good price and fast. The hotel is about 4 blocks from the beach, a little further than we thought, but we liked the fact that it was not in the touristy area! We enjoyed our 5 nights there.

Breakfast was simple, it is good that Vietnamese food was offered. However, I would go for the European options, as you can find better Pho at the street kitchen.

We would recommend this place to anyone who wants clean, modern and good price/quality hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We would recommend this hotel to anybody! Extremely impressed with the rooms and the staff!
Room was quite small - but when you are only there to sleep why would you need a big room! Very clean, great bathroom (hot showers with a big shower head) it was perfect all round! Can not fault one bit! We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jhensler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.8 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#32 of 204 in Nha Trang
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Peace Hotel
Green Peace Hotel
#43 of 204 in Nha Trang
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#28 of 204 in Nha Trang
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#56 of 204 in Nha Trang
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
Green World Hotel Nha Trang
#11 of 204 in Nha Trang
664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azura Hotel
Azura Hotel
#62 of 204 in Nha Trang
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TriStar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TriStar Hotel

Property: TriStar Hotel
Address: 3D Ly Tu Trong, Loc Tho Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 204 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TriStar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nha Trang Tristar Hotel with 2 star standard is located on one of the main roads of the downtown, about 1 km from train station and 35 minutes drive from Cam Ranh airport to the hotel. Furthermore, guests can only take 5 minutes walking to Nha Trang Beach. The 12- floor building hotel has Nha Trang city and beach views which are one of the most beautiful bays in the world. This will bring you the green ocean landscape and friendly, hospitable Nha Trang. Especially, with 39 rooms have windows or balconies overlooking the city and sea, you can enjoy and perfectly experience whenever having vocation or going business as well as kindly welcomed by our professional, enthusiasm staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TriStar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing