We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room and mega deck! don't book anything thru the office” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kim Ngan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kim Ngan Hotel
Ranked #139 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great room and mega deck! don't book anything thru the office”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Considering Nga Trang was in our minds a great example of development-in-paradise gone wrong, the Kim Ngan stood out as being actually pretty good. For 20 US bucks we got a very nice, clean room on level 5, view of the city and mountains beyond was great, and the personal deck off the room was absolutely huge.

We did however book a night bus thru the hotel lobby which turned out to be a shocker... bus was horrible, drivers fought and yelled half the way and also felt the need to smuggle around 30 bunches of banana's aboard (no doubt for a bit of extra cash on the side!) This in itself wouldn't have worried us in the slightest except the cockroaches and bugs the banana's brought with them were new level massive hahah... solution - don't book anything thru the office lobby...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Gingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here one night travelling through Nha Trang. The lady on reception was very nice but the man was awful- surly and bordering on rude, which we have not yet encountered on our travels through this country as normally hotel owners have been very accommodating.

No hot water in the evening or the morning for out showers so we had cold showers. Such a small amount of loo roll provided they may as well have not bothered. No shower curtain so had to have said cold shower sitting in the bath.

There was an enormous cockroach in the municipal toilet downstairs and a cloud of mosquitoes and it was filthy!

Overnight we locked our door and found the lock was broken so we could not get out the next day- it took some persuading to get reception to send someone to let us out- lazy people.

Was glad to leave here, would not recommend it even if you are desperate- stay elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Londonmudlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Quite a nice place. Good rooms, very spacious. Good bathroom, couldve done with a shower curtain though.
Was very comfortable place to stay, handy location, only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and mall etc

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We got dropped off here by our open tour bus. The hotel manager and/or owner was standing out front and gave us the sales pitch.

Pros - AC, big rooms, fridge, cheap.

Cons - no hot water, need exact change to pay for room, pushy staff. They bug you many times to book tours, etc. through them.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Markogato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Positives: Big room with balcony (501), elevator, T.V, fridge, aircon, soft beds, fresh towels every day, good cheap laundry service, wi-fi in rooms and lobby, excellent location close to beach and restaurants.

Negatives: Only 2 computers in lobby, the one on the right is so slow its basically unusable, and the staff's children tend to use the fast one on the left a lot. The toilet in the bathroom began to smell after a couple of days without cleaning, as it did not seem to be kept as clean as it could be.

Overall a great stay, however we don't recommend Nha Trang as this was the place in Vietnam where we felt the least safe out and about, was very seedy. However the hotel was safe and secure and we felt safe there.

Room Tip: There is a lift so all rooms are accessable. The rooms towards the front have a beach facing balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights after the bus company dropped us down the road. Moving to another hotel due to location (partner is doing a dive course and its a 30 minute walk away). Stayed in $10 room but the light in the bathroom didnt work and the bathroom itself needs a bit of work (glass shelf under mirror is on a serious angle) Overall the room was clean, bed comfy and air con worked really well. Staff were friendly but insisted on us with having breakfast there (not included bu pretty nice and cheap) and were upset when we didnt book tours through them. It is a bit of a walk to the beach. Some budget hotels are a bit closer.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, perhaps the more expensive rooms might be in better condition with a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RARHJB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, great price, very helpful staff, close to beach. Rooms were very nice, great view and clean bathroom. Really enjoyed staying here; highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teejay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.1 mi away
La Vie Hotel
La Vie Hotel
#171 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Suisse Hotel
La Suisse Hotel
#49 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duy Hung Hotel
Duy Hung Hotel
#144 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My Long Hostel
My Long Hostel
#111 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Praywish Hotel
Praywish Hotel
#152 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Sea 1-3 Hotel
Blue Sea 1-3 Hotel
#164 of 190 in Nha Trang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Ngan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Ngan Hotel

Property: Kim Ngan Hotel
Address: 52 Hoang Hoa Tham, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kim Ngan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kim Ngan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing