We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quiet Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whale Island Resort
Ranked #41 of 216 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Primarily went to Whale Is Resort to dive with Rainbow Divers.
We were very impressed with the Resort and the dive operation.
The staff,food and facilities were all excellent. Massages also great.
The meals are set menu, but varied, tasty and fresh and always delivered with a smile.
The rooms are spacious with good fan cooling. Firm but comfortable beds.
We stayed 5 nights, 4 days which we felt was about right for us. Dived every day.
On the last morning we had an early start, the Resort thoughtfully provided a prepacked breakfast.
Drinks, laundry and 3 massages came to $103. Hard to believe people find this unreasonable.
This Resort is low key and low tech ( although good free wifi in bar) and a little remote, which is really it's charm. This is exactly what we wanted and expected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nzdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Nzdiver,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Whale Island with the tripadvisor visitors.
We are honored to read that you ẹnjoy your stay. I have also forwarded your comments to the Rainbow Divers crew who organized your diving activities.

We hope to welcome you for another stay in one of our resort.

Kind regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in April with my wife and friends. The island resort is stunning and the rooms are comfortable. The food was excellent with long lazy lunches and dinners. Fantastic for sunbathing and swimming and also diving with Rainbow Divers. Drinks prices were very reasonable and we will definitely return next time in Vietnam.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank stevenadamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Steven,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay on Whale Island and hope to welcome you again in one of our Resort.

Kind Regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed on the island for 3 nights. Complete relaxation. It was blissful. We had a room on the beach which was well worth the extra few dollars. The food was fabulous. The meals are set, there is no choice but this was the beauty of it. It took away having to make a decision. The massage was to die for and hiring a canoe is good fun. We are back in VN next year and Whale Island will be on our itiniery for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliebbenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay on Whale island resort and would be honored to welcome you again in one of our eco resort.

Kind regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here 4 nights and we could only wish it were more! The island is small and lovely to trek around (it takes about 30-40 minutes if you're fit enough) to do a whole circuit. Other general comments are that it helps to know French and that, quite honestly, garden rooms or sea rooms aren't much different (depending on your neighbours as the resort is very small and you will spend most of your time on the beach or in the small sea bar anyway.

Cons: dive center was closed when we got there (was the fault of the travel agency for not letting us know, it's quite far to get there from Nha Trang, snorkelling tour was a bit dull (and far), at night there are boats passing bay in the bay with noisy engines. It's a minuscule island with quite a lot of vegetation, so there might be some insects. Hot water took a bit to arrive.

Pros: the water and beach in the little bay are both wonderful, great for swimming and snorkelling (caring for sea urchins), the food is really nice (also great for vegetarians), both Vietnamese and French 'fusion' dishes, the staff was all smiles and the atmosphere on the island is generally just divine! Prices are fairly ok too, I can't believe people would pay more to stay in big bunker hotels in Nha Trang instead of this little piece of heaven. The rooms are, for me, big and the beds comfy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogdan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Bogdan,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoy the atmosphere and the smiles of our staff and hope to welcome you an other time in one of our resort.

Kind regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked in for the scuba diving and it was just great.the staff and dive masters were very friendly and helpful. Good equipment and good dive briefings. We felt in good hands.
Just go for it you will love it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Adam,

Thank you for your review.
I have forwarded your compliment to the diving crew of Rainbow Divers.
I am taking the opportunity of this answer to remind all tripadvisor visitors that the dive center will stay opened until the beginning of the rainy season, mid/end of october and that the divers could enjoy the best diving conditions (dry season) from now until the end of july /the middle of august.

Kind regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed at the Whale Island resort for three nights and we loved every minute of it. The island is quite, peaceful and clean. We especially enjoyed the snorkeling in the bay, which has many corals and fishes along the rocks. The resort has also a special program to protect the bay for fishing and to develop the biodiversity even more. We joined the snorkel- and diving trips of Rainbow Divers (who have a diving center on the island) and it was beautiful to explore the underwater life of the area with all its corals and fishes. We were surprised by the plenty of dishes the staff served for lunch and diner: they were tasty, fresh and just delicious. Being a vegetarian is no problem here at all. The wooden bungalow was clean and comfortable, even without aircon. You have to keep in mind that the bungalows are build next to the jungle, so nobody can prevent that sometimes an insect will visit you. The room have mosquito nets, so do not worry.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large beach front bungalow with a sea view and a lovely, private garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Kimmie024,

Thank your for your review on tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciate your stay on Whale Island and your snorkel and diving boat tour in the archipel.

We would be pleased to welcome you again.

KInd regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights here at the end of a 2 week trip round Vietnam. It takes a moment to adjust to the laid back pace, after the noise and bustle of other cities, but once you do - it's brilliant!
The food is good, the bamboo cabins are great (great change from air conditioned hotel rooms) and there are plenty of activities if you want to - snorkeling, canoeing etc- but more than anything this is the place to relax.
We travelled with a 10 year old and could easily have stayed longer.
Pricey (by Vietnamese standards) but worth it for the exclusivity - at peak times there were no more than 20 people in the bay swimming.

Room Tip: Beach front is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiddlers333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lxportier, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ferngaff,

Thank you for your review on Whale Island Resort Tripadvisor page.

We are pleased to read that you and your 10 year old children enjoyed your stay on our Resort.

I agree that the gentle breeze blowing across the bay and the fans of our bungalows are a better option than the air conditioning of some hotels rooms in town: i unfortunately note that some travelers got a cold before arriving on the Island.

We would be glad to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Alexandre Portier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
29.4 mi away
La Paloma Hotel
La Paloma Hotel
#63 of 216 in Nha Trang
155 reviews
31.9 mi away
The Summer Hotel
The Summer Hotel
#29 of 216 in Nha Trang
422 reviews
32 mi away
Hanoi Golden Hotel
Hanoi Golden Hotel
#74 of 216 in Nha Trang
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
12.5 mi away
Some Days of Silence Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Paradise Resort Doc Let
Paradise Resort Doc Let
#67 of 216 in Nha Trang
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Island Resort

Address: 2 Me Linh | Van Ninh District, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#12 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whale Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical paradise on a small island in stunning Van Phong Bay, Whale Island, also known as Ile de la Baleine or Hon Ong, is a low-key, initimate resort two hours north of Nha Trang. Offering a desert island experience, Whale Island nestles amongst swaying coconut palms and a pristine sand beach.Thirty one traditional-style bamboo thatched bungalows offer beds with mosquito nets, pillar fans, plus en-suite bathrooms with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Whale Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Island Hotel Nha Trang
Whale Island Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing