We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget place ok for £15 a night.”
Review of La Suisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Suisse Hotel
Ranked #55 of 204 Hotels in Nha Trang
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A budget place ok for £15 a night.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I can not understand how anyone could consider this as excellent. I rarely rate hotels as average or below.

Positives – very pleasant staff, good price and well located TV with CNN
Negatives – no hot water, tired looking, breakfast ends too early, no shower gel.

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. The cost for a king sized bed in a decently sized rather outdated room with air con including breakfast for up to 2 people was £15 a night. It is advertised as 2 star and that is about where I would put it.

It is well located – near the heart of the tourist area – lots of places to eat with some bars to drink in. BTW if you like clubbing the Sailing Club is modern and lively – full of young backpackers with great music. A local beer was £1.80 a bottle.

The clean room had a safe and desk with a bathroom and a shower. The grouting around the bath was less than impressive. In 2 days I never managed to get any hot water despite leaving the system switched on for an hour and running the water for a long time. Shampoo, toothbrushes slippers etc are all supplied but no shower gel and only one small bar of soap. It also had a fridge but no complimentary water. There was a good sized modern LCD TV with CNN available. Wifi is free.

The staff are friendly, helpful and want to please.

Breakfast was for me, a problem. When on holiday I do not want to have to get up early. They finish breakfast at 9.00am. Second there is a choice of 10 types of main course and 10 drinks. You can have one of each that’s it or you pay more. I had an omelette with bread roll and orange juice. They did add some fruit to the plate when it arrived but this was not mentioned on the menu. They must make breakfast last later (say 10 am) and should allow at least one more drink in this hot climate and provide butter for the bread. The food itself was pretty good.

I consider the Guesthouse as fine but I would look to find better were I to return (I paid the same price for a much better hotel in Central Saigon).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    135
    45
    17
    15
See reviews for
37
180
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I wish there was a La Suisse in every city! After being moved around at our last hotel, we visited La Suisse to get prices and look at a room. We immediately reserved a room for the next 4 nights, and we're so glad we did. Doan, and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. She suggested the best spas to pamper ourselves, and the best meal (Yen's) that we've had on our trip. The room is spacious with a bathtub, comfy bed, affordable mini bar, AC and a lovely breakfast is included at the rooftop restaurant! The price is right. You really can't ask for more. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Nha Trang!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

La Suisse is located about a 5 minute walk from the main beach at Nha Trang and just a few hundred metres from a large selection of restaurants, pubs and shops. We stayed in April and had a balcony room. Those rooms are spacious and clean, although the décor is a bit tired and the air con fans could use a turbo boost. Breakfast was provided in our tariff and is fantastic. Fresh tropical fruit along with a menu selection of around a dozen items (eg omelettes, baguettes, fresh fruit juice, tea etc). Great views from the 7th floor breakfast rooftop balcony. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Can get direct pickup and transfer to the hotel from Cam Ranh Bay Airport for slightly more than a taxi, but well worth it. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are bigger than the others for a slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at La Suisse in April.I liked the staff,who spoke good English.I enjoyed a good breakfast,on the roof restaurant.My room was very clean,and facilities were good.The hotel was well located,not far from beach,aprox 5-10 minutes away,depending on how fast you walk.It was also near,many bars,cafés and restaurants.Staying in La Suisse,just made my stay in Nha Trang,just a bit better.I would stay again in La Suisse,if I came back to Nha Trang again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the best value for the money I've gotten in my trip.

Helpful and efficient staff, especially at the reception, rooms are equipped with all the necessary basics, spacious, centrally located but not in a noisy area.

Had to pay a few more bucks in total for services I could get outdoors cheaper, but other than that - all well. Would go back again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Funster1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The high point of this little hotel are its location; not too far from the beach, yet central, and still QUIET! My standard room (room #502) came with the basic necessities: working WIFI, Cable TV (but limited English and international channels), A/C (but too weak cooling power especially in the hot midday temperatures) and a decent size bathroom. Staff do offer their smile and for this country that is very positive. The included breakfast is not buffet (as is more or less standard in this country) but a-la-carte and very limited. Probably the most negative aspect of a stay here (which definitely will make me very reluctant to staying here again) is the double pricing policy that the hotel may practice. Indeed on arrival you will notice a relatively large notice board at the reception stating that the price of room #502 (and all standard rooms) is a mere $9 (probably not including the 15% Tax and the $2.5 breakfast). Not at all justifying the $20+ price for such rooms. Shop around and there are plenty of much better options, however this hotel has pricier rooms which probably do offer better value. My most honest suggestion to management is to stick to published rates as with prices they practice I noticed the hotel was more than half empty (it could also be the case that published rates are FOR LOCALS ONLY!).

Room Tip: Better to arrive and check the room and other hotels in the area before committing to anything. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madjid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel offered very good value for money in a town that is extremely touristy. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and they assisted us with anything we asked about. Our room was nice & clean with good bathroom facilities. Breakfast was in line with the value for money of the hotel (select a food item & drink from the menu).
The location is very good and suited us for our stay.

We would definitely stay there again if back in Nha Trang.

The hotel was a little hard to find on foot (when we walked from the train station) as the location is on a side street that comes off the actual street address. A friendly local saw us looking a little lost and helped us out.

Room Tip: Reasonably quiet in any room as the street is not too busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
#32 of 204 in Nha Trang
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Peace Hotel
Green Peace Hotel
#43 of 204 in Nha Trang
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Lion 2 Hotel
White Lion 2 Hotel
#97 of 204 in Nha Trang
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
TriStar Hotel
TriStar Hotel
#26 of 204 in Nha Trang
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azura Hotel
Azura Hotel
#62 of 204 in Nha Trang
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indochine Hotel
Indochine Hotel
#77 of 204 in Nha Trang
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suisse Hotel

Property: La Suisse Hotel
Address: 34 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nha Trang
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Suisse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you come to Nha Trang, go along the Tran Quang Khai Street, then you turn left, about a half km, you can see La Suisse Hotel.address:34 Tran Quang Khai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Suisse
La Suisse Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing