We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang
Ranked #6 of 190 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

This hotel has now created a problem for me as my wife now has high expectations for future holidays. The facilites we're matched by the charming staff. We were always greeted with a smile and a friendly hello irrespective of the time of day. We stayed in a Garden View room, which although close to the road we experienced no disturbance with road noise as some have quoted as a concern. Breakfast was excellent (they need to mass market there mango yogurt) and lunch was alway accompanied with the chefs own mixed fruit drink recipes.The hotel has it's own private beach which we found to be clean, although shady after 1600. All our needs were catered ensuring this to be the most relaxing holiday we have enjoyed. The hotels location is approx 15 -20 minutes walk from centre of Nha Trang, although there are plenty of taxis or cyclo's available (which we didn't use after getting stung in Saigon). Around1730 room service offers to turndown the bed, if you don't want disturbing ensure you display the 'do not disturb sign (which is unique in itself). Bathroom was fantastic with rain shower and sunken jacuzzi, and plenty of bath crystals, conditioners etc...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry_the_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    214
    52
    33
    9
See reviews for
211
627
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed at here for 5 nights at the end of our tour of Vietnam in February 2009. The hotel have their own desk in the airport. They meet you even before you have collected your bags from the carousel then take you and your luggage out to your transport. You are then given cold towels and a bottle of chilled water. The journey from the airport takes about 40 minutes. We were welcomed at the hotel with more cold towels and tea and a free upgrade to a beach view villa (we had booked a sea-view villa because of all the complaints we had read about road noise which was bad from about 4am especially with the hooting horns). You are allocated a host who takes you to your room and goes through a map of the resort and shows you where everything is. The villa was spacious with a large bathroom with outdoor sunken bath and shower. The rooms could do with a bit of upgrading as they were looking a little tired. In the room was a list of extras that you might want/need eg daily paper, selection of pillows, iron. We completed this list and handed it in to reception on our way out on the first night. On our return everything we had asked for was in the room waiting for us. There are 2 pools, 2 restaurants, library, internet room (2 computers with free internet access) and a small clothes/gift shop. If you were lying on the beach or by the pool you were offered fresh fruit in the morning, cold towels around noon then fruit salad or yoghurt in the afternoon. Looking at the rest of Nha Trang this is by far the best hotel. Walking towards the centre there were some very grotty run down hotels. The hotel is about a 7-10 min walk from a good selection of restaurants and bars and a short taxi ride to the centre. Food and drinks were reasonably priced in these places. The food and drinks in the hotel were very expensive by comparison – if they reduced their prices more people would eat and drink there. There is a weekly cocktail evening for guests for an hour with free wine, beer and cocktails. Breakfast was excellent both in terms of selection and quality of food. Fresh fruits and juices, home made yoghurts, freshly cooked eggs, bacon and sausage, honey, selection of teas and coffees, sparkling wine and lots more.
We thought that this resort was nice and relaxing – just what we needed after our hectic tour of Vietnam. We had been warned about pick pockets in the area but never heard of anyone having any trouble whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

This could be a nice place but if it is raining forget it! Their concept is eco-ritz. So, they have sort of inside-outside huts with showers outside and no windows in the open air living room of the bungalow. Again, if it rains that means you have to walk through the rain after a shower and the humidity is impossible to escape. And forget about the public toilets- their quaint roofless bathrooms will offer sodden toilet paper and soaking toilet seats. Someone did not plan this very well. It is SE Asia after all where it rains QUITE a bit! And there is absolutely nothing to do when it rains because they close the rental shop and once you have walked around once you have seen all there is to see. You could spend your day at the expensive spa that is fine but not good, but again the changing rooms are a wet walk from the hut where your treatment will be. The dining area is FAR - you get a bike to ride there, I guess you can imagine that that still isn't a great prospect when it is raining. My biggest problem is that the staff did nothing to mitigate this problem when they should have known that it rains often in Vietnam. Also, every night when we wanted to watch a DVD they had to switch out the player because one pirated DVD didn't work in the player we currently had, but then the next night the next DVD didn't work in that player... come on Evason, at several hundred a night couldn't you splurge and get a non-pirated DVD collection?

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veuxpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We recenlty stayed at the Ana Mandara.

The staff were fantastic. Helpful at every corner. As soon as we arrived, we were treated to welcome drinks and free back and scalp massages during our check in. How better can you start a beach holiday?

The room (garden villa) was quiet (we couldn't hear road noise with the AC on) and well detailed. Everything you can think you need is there, or can be provided for you. The bathroom was lovely.

The food was good. Breakfast is enormous!! We had 2 lunches there, and they were good not great.

The beach is nice, but the polution in the water is a big put off. We swam in the ocean, but were constantly dodging litter. Gross! It's a real shame, because the hotel truly is beautiful!!

I cannot say enough about the staff. Every time you pass a staff member, regardless of their duty, they stop what they are doing, smile, and say hello.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cash_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We wanted to end nearly 3 weeks of travelling around Vietnam and Cambodia with a week of relaxation on the beach and chose the Ana Mandara in Nha Trang. We had already heard that Nha Trang was a bit too noisy and brash for a quiet unwind but also heard that the Evason Six Senses spa resort was located away from the centre. The resort’s website is full of very seductive images so our hopes were high for our stay.

The pick-up from the airport went smoothly – checking in was efficient and friendly. But the arrival space failed to impress.

Our deluxe beach sea view villa had a great view of the beach and was set within mature landscaped gardens. The room itself was comfortable, a little too rustic for our taste and certainly not large. The bathroom had double sinks, plenty of natural light and well stocked with towels and products.

The hotel has a menu for completion on checking in including guest preferences for pillows, daily newspaper, an iron in the room etc Most of our preferences were met but sometimes only with reminding and some not at all. The basics though, like daily cleaning, fresh towels, evening turndown were all OK and the staff friendly.

We had a few communication problems with room service. The tour guides also had limited English. The majority of other guests seemed to be from Germany (and yes, they did put their towels on the loungers before breakfast) and from Russia.

We went on three of the resort’s excursions and would have enjoyed these more if communication with the guides was more free flowing. The island trip by speedboat was good with some snorkelling and lunch on a beachside terrace. The market tour is not for the faint hearted - not only is it an incredibly early start but seeing how live animals including chickens, frogs, crabs etc were handled left us feeling more than little disturbed. We did buy some good quality squid and sea bass that the resort cooked for us for lunch. Everything we bought in the market though was at western prices – the guide certainly did not help to negotiate. Also we experienced mixed reactions: some curiosity but also some animosity towards us, even when being fairly discreet with taking photos and dressing down. The least successful tour was the shopping trip to Nha Trang. We explained to the guide what we were interested in but we felt this was ignored in preference of a very pre-planned itinerary. The cooking class was good fun but again a bit let down by communication problems.

The resort has two restaurants and we had lunch a couple of times in the Beach Club restaurant. We chose from the Vietnamese menu and the food was good quality and well presented. It is of course a little pricey and there are lots of places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. The same comments apply to the Pavilion Restaurant where we had a good four-course Vietnamese tasting menu. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice, efficient service and always very friendly staff.

The beach is cleaned daily and there were ample loungers with fresh towels. It was patrolled but not completely private. The main swimming pool is located at the far end of the resort and in some respects was a bit too remote. It felt like something added on rather than integral element of the design and layout.

The weather was mixed when we stayed in late January, several days of hot dry weather followed by 3 days of cloud and rain.

Our main reservation with the resort was its location; it is sandwiched on the beachfront on either side by some pretty tacky ‘attraction parks’. For several hours each evening we could hear music from a funfair (though this always ended by about 9 pm). The resort is also just off the main road and whilst we could not hear the traffic noise inside room, it was very pervasive around the pool and grounds. It is not really the most ‘idyllic’ location for a tranquil spa resort. For us, we found the style just a little too rustic, the initial first impression and arrival/reception space lacks drama and impact, and though well maintained some problems are becoming evident. With a downturn in tourism and increased competition we wonder whether this piece of paradise will stand the test of time. It already feels like a very good four rather than a five star resort.

Our tips:
- Forget the mini-bar, there are plenty of local shops just outside the hotel for beer, coke, water etc at a fraction of the mini-bar prices. If you go further afield, a bottle of OK local wine in the supermarket was as little as £1.50.
- The room only has instant coffee, so we got room service to bring us a coffee plunger and we bought an excellent pack of fresh ground coffee from the local mart and a carton of milk
- In all the hotels we stayed in Cambodia and Vietnam only one sprayed its grounds daily with a mosquito smoke. The hotel provides a mosquito repellent but we would recommend giving the outdoor, shower and bath area a good spray with insecticide before using it in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

Just returned from 4 days at this resort.
We have lived in Asia for more than 20 years and stayed at many resorts .
The location of Ana Mandara is quite a shock as just on the main road and the traffic noise is pretty bad.
We had a beach front villa but initially were located in 327 which is up the end of the property and is more noisy.
Staff were helpful in changing but only for the last 2 nights.
I would not have been able to sleep in a garden villa!

The villas are nice, clean, good house keeping service.
The pools are good, especially the larger infinity type pool with excellent towel service etc.
The beach is clean, sand is OK but not white powder.
Plenty of lounges on the beach so no bunfights with other guests
to reserve a lounge.

Breakfast buffet is average.
Food at other restaurants was average also.
Overall the food experience in Nha Trang pretty dismal.

Louisiane is popular brew house up the road in walking distance.
They have live music ... a bit cheesy but ok atmosphere.
Food pretty dismal.

The prices at Ana Mandara are pretty steep but staff do not hang around for tips, some actually declined a tip so we didn't feel the need offer any more.
The spa is ok and prices not too high.

The overall experience was pleasantly average but Nha Trang is a not a very attractive place at all unless you are into diving etc.
Biggest down side to this resort is the location near the road.

The best beach front villas are no 301 to 309, with 304 to 306 probably the best of all .

Overall, a pretty expensive stay but not feeling too ripped off.

  • Liked — big clean rooms right on the beach
  • Disliked — close to traffic
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hongkongsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

Ana Mandara Resort and Spa is, for Vietnamese standards, extremely overpriced, more expensive than a Thai equivalent resort and of course Vietnam is not at all as sophisticated as Thailand. At the Park Hyatt hotel in Saigon (the very best in town) a very similar room, an identical meal, are at half the Na trang prices. Incredible isn’t it ? If only these high prices would benefit the very poor Vietnamese population we would accept to pay them with pleasure but no, the revenue goes to the landlords (guess who that is !) and the Thai management can’t do anything about that. The surrounding is depressing (see skyline picture), on a noisy road with hooting trucks, disco beat, you name it. The sea is very dirty - do not swim in it - and the beach, if you happen to see it before it gets cleaned in the morning, is covered in litter. The decor is ugly, no finesse, no style at all. Again, I guess, the Thai’s had no say. (See horror gallery picture) Staff is trying very hard but poorly trained and unsupervised, they smile and are extremely kind . A small tip makes them so happy, and they surely deserve it. Food is good, without question. Beach service and housekeeping are excellent. The Six Senses Spa is pretentious, needlessly complicated, not as clean as it should be and not as good as others in Vietnam. All this is second rate at first rate prices.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#3 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Vinpearl Luxury Nha Trang
Vinpearl Luxury Nha Trang
#4 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
L’Alyana Ninh Van Bay
L’Alyana Ninh Van Bay
#7 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Nha Trang
Novotel Nha Trang
#9 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
#8 of 190 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang

Property: Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang
Address: Beachside Tran Phu Boulevard | Khanh Hoa, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 Business Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evason Ana Mandara is NhaTrang’s only beachfront resort. Its 74 accommodations in semi-detached garden villas, many with breath-taking views across the bay, offer classic Vietnamese touches. Dining choices include local, regional and international cuisine, with a selection of dishes that provide endless culinary experiences. The resort features an interesting blend of classic regional Vietnamese cooking with contemporary fusion. Most ingredients are sourced from local markets and rural Vietnam.The Six Senses Spa presents a Vietnamese experience of specialty treatments together with an extensive menu of traditional therapies that provide a truly relaxing and revitalizing experience to rejuvenate the senses. Skilled therapists create sensory journeys, with a medley of holistic wellness and pampering treatments. These include beauty services, manicure-pedicure and foot reflexology, using only natural products.Evason Ana Mandara is not only the perfect location for relaxation and tranquillity but the family-friendly resort also offers a diverse range of excursions and experiences to ensure that guests have an unforgettable stay. There is on-site tennis, the Kid’s Club, beach volleyball, and a water-activity centre, plus a PADI Dive Centre and a wide variation of dive excursions. In addition to being a perfect setting for weddings, there is a dedicated conferencing facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang Hotel Nha Trang
Evason Ana Mandara Hotel
Hotel Evason Ana Mandara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing