We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Hotel Meg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meg
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Yerevan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The first thing that most travelers to Armenia will notice is the exceptional level of hospitality and helpfulness of most Armenians you meet. This is truly a country which elevates "hospitality" into a new stratosphere.

This is all captured and multiplied by this wonderful hotel. I stayed here with a business colleague for two nights this December on a three-week long trip through the South Caucasus. After two weeks in Turkey, Azerbaijan and Georgia (also wonderful places) this hotel felt like "home." They had the most comfortable bed I had slept in for weeks and the staff that runs the hotel is simply amazing. We arranged for a pick up from the train station (train from Tbilisi to Yerevan) and the driver was prompt, courteous and kind. Even though we arrived way before our check-in time at 0700 in the morning, the hotel still put together a delicious breakfast served in our rooms that morning.

The rooms are very spacious. You will get the sense of more of a small flat or studio apartment than a hotel. Everything is immaculately clean and the decor is modern and pleasant.

The best part of this hotel is the people who work there, however. They arrange absolutely everything for you and are always on hand for local advice on shopping, restaurants, and transportation. All are completely fluent in English and Russian (including the adorable little girl who sometimes accompanies her auntie and mother behind the front desk) so you will not have communications problems at all. (Actually, most Armenians can speak one or the other and often both---which is extremely helpful).

The prices are very, very fair as well. We paid about $80 USD per night and that includes breakfast (hard boiled eggs, cheeses, meats, bread, pastries, jams and tea or coffee) served in your room. Nice mini bar stocked with all you could want if that's your thing and all the free water and tea you can handle. Very reliable and fast internet connection as well.

The hotel is very central and in short walking distance to Yerevan's historic sites and the business district (5-10 mins). It is a little hidden with the entrance up a back alley so you should arrange for an airport pickup (again, very reasonably priced) or transfer or just give them a ring so that they can talk to your taxi driver.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Although I traveled on business, it seems to also be very family friendly as well.

Whenever travel takes me to Yerevan again, I will stay here for sure.

Loved this place and pretty sure you will too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

summary - clean, well-run, business-like hotel.
pos - v clean, well run, efficient
pos - helpful staff
pos - excellent location near the Cascades
pos - reasonable value for money. Hotels prices in Yerevan are set by people who think it is London.
neutral - is a floor of an older office building, rather than the more usual free-standing building
neutral - serves breakfast, but not lunch or dinner.
neg - cold, hard tile floors. cold on your feet, deadly if you drop a device
neg - the hotel floor is not completely above ground level (there is a slope outside), so some rooms are a bit dark.
Stay Again: Yes

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

In one word, It is really "your home away from your home!"
Staff are very kind and polite. Everything was on time, driver was waiting for us in the airport hall, and helped us kindly at the time of leaving. Room was spacious, clean, warm and with good light.
It is very near to the downtown.(3 min from cascade, 5 min from France sq and philharmonic orchestra hall, 15-20 min from republic square). There are many good restaurants nearby.
The only negative points are the harsh noise (that is probably due to metro), water system noise (during using water the water pump made noise for minutes) and invariant breakfast.
We had very good time there, and I strongly advise this place to everybody who wants to feel relaxed during their residence in Yerevan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alireza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I decided to book for the Meg after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed at all. Even though the hotel is a bit difficult to find at the beginning it's a hidden gem in the center of Yerevan, the room is big and cozy at the same time. There's a big bathroom, kitchen and living room. Breakfast is delivered to your room every morning which makes it very intimate. Downtown is at a walking distance from the hotel and so are a lot of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mdp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

a boutique style all suite hotel in the city center which is a jewel if you can find it. this hotel may be the best kept secret in town. the family run hotel staff are very friendly, the rooms are large and spacious with great taste and service. expect the best at hotel meg for very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Hotel Meg is in the basement of a Soviet style office building with little visible signage in a backstreet.
But once you've found it, enter an immaculately kept small hotel with lovely people,spacious rooms,good facilities and nice breakfast.
And you are literally five minutes from the centre of a surprisingly cool city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64StewartP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Hotel Owner, Aris, knows how to treat his guests. It is like to be home! Staff is very friendly (and english, russian, armenian speaking). Rooms are spacious, new, decorated with taste, very clean and very quiet, right in the middle of the city centre. Our room was like an appartment, with a living room, TV+DVD player, a small kitchenette, nice bathroom and 1 separate bedroom. A nice breakfast is served straight in your room. Best value for money in town!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TimidoViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yerevan hotels
1.2 mi away
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
Deluxe Hotel Yerevan
#11 of 71 in Yerevan
212 reviews
1 mi away
Tufenkian Historic Yerevan Hotel
0.9 mi away
Republica Hotel Yerevan
Republica Hotel Yerevan
#1 of 71 in Yerevan
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
My Hotel Yerevan
My Hotel Yerevan
#13 of 71 in Yerevan
136 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cross Resort Hotel
Cross Resort Hotel
#19 of 71 in Yerevan
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Armenia Marriott Hotel Yerevan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meg

Address: Sarmen 1 | City Center, Yerevan 0009, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Yerevan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yerevan
#6 Business Hotel in Yerevan
Price Range: £23 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the capital, Hotel Meg is within minutes’ walk from the famous Matenadaran, the Cascade and the Opera.This small hotel of only seven spacious one and two-room suites has been designed based on the simple concept of doing everything possible to make our guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meg Hotel Yerevan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing